Hello Guest! Log in or Sign up for a full experience & ad-free!

bigger turbo vs EMS to get higher hp?

hybrid evo

sifus, if i can only afford 1 item, either EMS or bigger turbo, which one should i get?

budget =rm3000

engine evo2(stainless steel i/c, wastegate, fuel regulator, metal gasket 1.5mm, vr4rs block, gtr r34 fuel pump). other parts all evo2 la

option a= standalone ecu (haltech or mircrotech)

option b=bigger turbo (ar70, ar80)

option c=e-manage and t04e (can get right with rm3000?)

so which one is the best? can i just use bigger turbo without EMS?

please help me. thank u

get a microtech, ltx8. bigger turbine doesnt mean faster response, but perfect tuning, wit the original turbine, do give out better overall performance. or do u just want high end power? what is the purpose wit the mods u wanted neway?

standalone first. perfect your tuning to extract best performance.

hybrid evo.

if u choose for bigger turbo, off course u are playing with high boost (no use of having big turbo if only 0.8bar).usually if high boost, u need to concern about fuel supply.i think the E2 injectors not enough for high boost.then the E2 ecu also cannot manage the air,fuel & ignition timing properly.

if u choose to upgrade ecu to programmable EMS (i think microtech suits ur budget), it can extract some more power from current engine & performance parts that u already have. the EMS can fine tune the engine for better performance. with what u have now, plus the EMS...i guess u can tune the engine better to achieve 300bhp. with that power, u already have a rapid daily car.

ask what you want 1st. because be it a dragster,daily fast car or enjoying top speed at highway...it might need certain/specific way of mods & upgrades.

erm as for me i alwiz think

when u got the stuff to achieve something higher , y want to upgrade already

ur standard ecu , still can be rechipped for fueling and tuning to compensate a lil more

ur standard turbine can still be used to boost up , nw 0.7bar ? boost up till 1.6bar

u got a vr4rs block y dont u pump it up becos it can last u till 400hp

510cc injectors still can supply fuel for u since its td05 still

gtr34 fuel pump still strong to pump up more fuel

as for me , a standalone wont be making much diffrence if ur car setup isnt so BIG , thts the reason i dint choose it "yet" , I would suggest that u maximize wht u have before deciding its time to upgrade

if ever i have 3k , i would keep a lil more and get a Gt30R which will pump bout 450whp , manifold custom cos flange changed so tht would be around 6XX , injector change , then retune the momma

well actually all i want is about 330-350hp under the bonet. but it needs to be very responsive in terms of the turbo boost.

just wanna know can get 330hp with stock turbine, 8 injectors (510cc), and microtech ltx8?

ps: microtec ltx8 got injector controller ah?

jinkl said:
erm as for me i alwiz think

when u got the stuff to achieve something higher , y want to upgrade already

ur standard ecu , still can be rechipped for fueling and tuning to compensate a lil more

ur standard turbine can still be used to boost up , nw 0.7bar ? boost up till 1.6bar

u got a vr4rs block y dont u pump it up becos it can last u till 400hp

510cc injectors still can supply fuel for u since its td05 still

gtr34 fuel pump still strong to pump up more fuel

as for me , a standalone wont be making much diffrence if ur car setup isnt so BIG , thts the reason i dint choose it "yet" , I would suggest that u maximize wht u have before deciding its time to upgrade

if ever i have 3k , i would keep a lil more and get a Gt30R which will pump bout 450whp , manifold custom cos flange changed so tht would be around 6XX , injector change , then retune the momma

now i am boosting at 1.2 bar.think safe enough? metal gasket 1.5mm got already and using vr4rs pistons and block. but maybe what u say is right la jinkl. u got the car to prove also.huhu. my car setup also not really gila. only minor la. even stainless steel i/c piping also sticking to 2inch only.hehe.aiya, a bit pening already. too many options. dunno which is da best.hehe

ops y so much la bro

im only using 4 510cc injector , td05 stock turbine , rechipped
boost 1.6bar , n i get 301 on wheel , so under the hood is around 350-360hp already mar

yeaps ltx8 got injector control
bt u want 9 9 response, floor fly spool fast, GT28R turbine also known as disco potato 320hp rated , GT30R around 450HP , just need to choose correct a/r

1.2bar , metal gasket 1.5mm , vr4rs piston , looks like same recipe as mine only hehehehe :)
bt u must check with a tuner or dyno to see ur a/f ratio , stock ecu maybe 1bar + up rate the fuel regulator can ler , 1.2bar really unsure, better to check than crying later when piston melt wei hehe , recommend u to change to sard or atleast arospeed regulator for now

hybrid..

330-350bhp is possible with what u have rite now.
no need to go up to 8x 510cc...(but always can & no problem if got EMS to manage the fuel).

the ori turbo is responsive enuff for low to mid range power.

since jinkl already applied budget but proven mods...why dont u just do the ecu chip? it costs less than an EMS.

do u have any boost controller?

anyway, if u are on strict budget rite now, just follow the jinkl formulas. u can use the balance of rm for other stuff.

getting EMS is good investment also..for sure your project don't stop at 330-350bhp stage rite? maybe in future u will drop in high cams,bigger turbo,bigger cc or extra injectors...having EMS will help in tuning for future mods.

if u ask me, i'd go for EMS.

haha, ya lor, same recipe. actually my engine last time pecah coz not enough fuel, pistons melted and then valve langgar piston. scary man. evo pistons are made of shit.huhu. kidding. dont be offended ah evo2 users. then i went to fido of cobra motorsports. he recommended me vr4rs block and 1.5mm metal gasket. at first 1jz pistons la he recommended but no money la that time coz wanna go for reboring and engine balancing somemore and also very2 hard wanna find 1jz pistons only.last time i was very stupid. push 1.4 bar, eclipse fuel pump only, no fuel regulator, and never put metal gasket somemore.haha. after meletup, then cried until cannot sleep.:P

vr4 rs block is very2 kuat. and i mean it. last time, teroverboost until 1.5 also no hal. i thought i was satisfied with the power already now but then saw other people's car pushing over 300hp, made me jealous.huhu

jinkl= what is disco potato? means fast spool rate is it?
soggie= mine is 1.8 wira chassis, i think enough to stand the power. oh ya, i still dont have lsd.:P
pathfinder= u got a point there bro. :)

hybrid evo..

my ex car also Vr4Rs block with E3 head.

can hold up to 1.8bar.

dont know the bhp bcoz never dyno.

pathfinder said:
hybrid evo..

my ex car also Vr4Rs block with E3 head.

can hold up to 1.8bar.

dont know the bhp bcoz never dyno.

wah, 1.8 bar? ur car must be flying. i am only boosting 1.2bar.what turbo and EMS u were using? can give the full spec of ur ex engine ah ?

fine tune it bro, u'll be surprised wit the results. fine tuning an engine in std boost is good enuff, just imagine what the results wud be like if u increase the boost. it wud also be good in the long run. no doubt jinkl has a proven mod witout any standalone, but is he planning to stop there? i dont think so, and in the end he will have to fine tune his setup wit an ems. ems is supposed to compliment ur engine's setup / mods, but if what u want is a responsive daily drive, den goin for a bigger turbine isnt dat important.

you need a standalone to optimize a bigger turbo but a standalone doesnt need a bigger turbine. therefore, having a standalone first will be great as it will help as a preparation on your future modifications.

haha. maybe i should post another topic:

draxx chip vs haltech/microtech (based on money vs performance)

but i think bigger turbo is out of the question.

hybrid evo..

yeah..now u can see much more clearly about your mods target rite?

because u need responsive , evo3 ori turbo is good enough.

u should seriously consider microtech. it's pretty good EMS ,cheaper than haltech. it's good investment i can say, any kaki turbo never stop to mods.never satisfied. the tuning flexibility in EMS is good thing, u can always fine tune it everytime u upgrade / mods...

Microtech is good to go ,
like other ppl they got 2nd car for daily drive,
im not gonna make it more powerfull already ,
i tink my chassis has reached the limits and fuel price is going up
thts y i dint go for EMS , if u r serious modder, then go ahead bro , if not its not gonna do much

fine tuning isnt only for power bro, its main purpose is to optimize the engine potential by fine tuning it. by optimizing d engine, u r actually making it run efficiently, thus saving fuel.
proof : i mod my fren's waja wit SAFC2, SITC and full hotbits zorst system at speedworks. before the mod, his waja uses a full tank of fuel in just a week. after those items installed in, full tank usage can be extended as long as 2 weeks. normal usage and driving style as before the mods, everyday driving to and from office, redline whenever possible. haha.. he got his money back in several months just by fuel saving alone guys :) was well worth it!! just imagine what u can do wit a better ems?

in terms of fine tuning i would agree because the capability is very high,
standalone i mean

bt if safc + sitc erm it has lesser tuning points than the chip has