tyre width and fuel consumption

sam1741

hi all...
if i change to wider tyre.. same inch...
willl my FC increase a lot?
when travelling long journey (almost constant speed)
and also during daily driving
anyone have experience?
hope someone can guide me

hope somebody can answer this question

still deciding whether to downgrade from 16" to 15" or not..
15" is lighter and narrower.. but are the differences in term of pickup and fuel consumption very significant??

pick up on 15 will be better...FC i tak tau worr...but 16 or 17 look nice...hehehehe....

Imagine a wider tyre with wider width compare with narrower width of tyre, the surface contact on the road is more for the wider tyre. so, in term of resistant, when u turn left turn right, there would be more resistant. hence, u need more power output from your engine in order to turn it compare with smaller width of tyre.bottom line, i think wider width tyre will cause more FC.

theoretically yes.. but i want real world results.. anybody can comment?

tq

i guess you'll notice the slight increase in fuel consumption.

these are physics theories, so they don't appear for show :p
you can always do some calculations for smaller width and lower width..

more resistant means you'll need more work done to move an object.

i do think that wider tires will increase your FC, but just a little bit. simple logic that wider tires produces more resistance, therefore will require more force to move. this force is in the form of heavier pedal acceleration. but it doesn't mean all of u guys should go out and downgrade your tyres coz there are benefits of using larger tyres, such as aesthetic reasons and grippier ride.

dun worry too much about FC when using wider tyres, the difference is minimal. maybe u get 20km or so less thats all. the ultimate difference in FC is how hard you rev the engine thats all. do not worry too much about petty reasons such as wider tyres, off aircon, neutral gear when going downhill and etc.

i think the key point is whether is there any weight increase. Increase in weight in the tyre & rims would definitely increase FC. If weight is the same, then the question of friction of tyre on the road, higher friction higher FC.

thanks guys.. if the different is very minimal i think i'll just stick to 16" then

imagine porsche 911 GT...the tyre contact width is almost a perfect square...OMG....

oic...
hahaha.. these day i seems try to do everything to save fuel
even off the aircond during the hot day... :)