Turbocharger Without BOV?

Re: Turbocharger without BOV Pt 2

To my general understanding and a little common sense. Flutter = Turbo backspool = bad for turbo...Too tight a BOV spring tension will cause this...Simple physics...if you want your turbo backspooling/compressor surging...Why not just remove your SSQV and give it to someone who loves their turbo?

Our cars are not rally cars... Neither are they tuned like that...Why do you think Rally companies spend multi million dollar in R & D? Do you have that kind of money to invest to match your car to a Rally Spec WRX? If not...don't argue with people that have experienced turbo failure due to backspooling/compressor surging of the turbo just for your whims and fancies of having the "flutter sound"...

You want it so much? Easy...REMOVE your SSQV BOV...and plug it up, and drive around boosting.
Don't forget to post when your turbo blows k?

LittleWhiteWagon, no use explaining to him, he knows what is "1", if u tell him 1+1=2 , he is already blur, he will ask again n again

hehehe i think doncityz is SoYouThinkYouCanDrive's brother lolx

your future subaru (not equal to) WRC race car
your car + Bov = no compressor surge
your car + PBV = no compressor surge
your car + no BOV or no PBV = compressor surge
compressor surge = more lag
WRC + anti lag + compressor surge = no more lag
you + compressor surge = self orgasm + lag
WRC compressor surge = change turbo frequently every race
FIA rules n regulations = no BOV allowed
compressor surge = more wear n stress on bearings n thrust plates
more wear = frequent service
your car + compressor surge = your choice
your choice = your money
more service = more money
use BOV/PBV = cheaper + longer lasting turbo
SAAB , MITSU , VOLVO , AUDI = not stoopid , they install PBV, they spent millions in research

no, nobody here are sifu's , we learned the hardway, n tht is wht u call experience , you are just stepping into this new world , give them a break , when they tell u something, discuss with facts , dont be like a child , i knw u r not one bt u r acting n discussing like one, dont simply show fingers, we can also do so, bebolasgalas has a turbo shop, he has no reasons to lie to u , he doesnt even get ur money , he is advising u , accept it , tong has turbo shop for soo many years , he touches turbo everyday in his life, he has more data n loggings than u will ever do in ur life.

dam i love this!!!!!!
support JinKL sifu all the way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

donCityZ : take this from the big dog of Subaru tuning products, APS

APS High Volume Twin Vent Blow Off Valve

With a large turbocharger, releasing pressure from the turbine compressor wheel when the throttle is snapped shut is critical not only for turbocharger response, but for turbocharger longevity. A huge volume of air must be passed through the blow off valve as soon as the throttle is closed.
nah, take it from turbobygarrett.com

http://www.turbobygarrett.com/turbobygarrett/products/blowoff_valves.html
Blow-Off Valves will improve throttle (time to boost) response as well as help relieve the damaging effects of compressor "surge loading"
nah from turbobygarrett site again
# What is compressor surge?
The surge region, located on the left-hand side of the compressor map (known as the surge line), is an area of flow instability typically caused by compressor inducer stall. The turbo should be sized so that the engine does not operate in the surge range. When turbochargers operate in surge for long periods of time, bearing failures may occur. When referencing a compressor map, the surge line is the line bordering the islands on their far left side.
Compressor surge is when the air pressure after the compressor is actually higher than what the compressor itself can physically maintain. This condition causes the airflow in the compressor wheel to back up, build pressure, and sometimes stall. In cases of extreme surge, the thrust bearings of the turbo can be destroyed, and will sometimes even lead to mechanical failure of the compressor wheel itself.
Common conditions that result in compressor surge on turbocharger gasoline engines are:

* A compressor bypass valve is not integrated into the intake plumbing between the compressor outlet and throttle body
* The outlet plumbing for the bypass valve is too small or restrictive
* The turbo is too big for the application
errr no further explanation needed, read the statements n the websites , 10q , read tht garrett info dude

just ignore him.... just let this thread adrift la.. no need to answer him.... his tuning prowess is GOD!!!

.....what the f*&k? I'm replying to this thread? wasting my 0.5minutes la bai!!!

i think this thread is meant to make ppl suffer....hahahhahaha....whats the big deal with the flutter sound anyway...N/A sounds better !!!!!

its no use talking to a dumb n def n blind, he will fail to read or absorb anything

the anwser why WRC cars can have flutter is anwsered at every paragraph i have posted in the previous thread bt all u got to shoot it "why WRC can , r u that stoopid to not read ?" , r u blind or stopid to ask again n again, its more like discussing with a kid 1+1=2 bt the kid is still stubbord "why 1+1 is not 3 leh" , bt the WRC cars r BANNED from using a BOV , u understand english or pure dumb to understand that statement ? or should i highlight it in red FIA banned BOV USE IN WRC , using a BOV or PBV will give better response between gear change and will eliminate compressor surge , compressor surge will reduce the lifespan of the turbo , WRC cars can have compressor surge due to stiff PBV or they simply just dont have one installed , they change their turbos EVERY RACE!!! u understand english ah EVERY RACE ? u service ur turbo after few thousand miles , u run a daily car NOT A RALLY RACE CAR , GET REAL DUDE , if u dnt want a BOV, then fit a PBV, if u want compressor surge just service the turbo more frequently cos the wear is much greater

bebolasgalas n tong should close their turbo shops , cause their research , readings and theories are all wrong , please do visit doncitz skyfliah fire tornado shop :)

or should i give u logics instead ?

your future subaru (not equal to) WRC race car
your car + Bov = no compressor surge
your car + PBV = no compressor surge
your car + no BOV or no PBV = compressor surge
compressor surge = more lag
WRC + anti lag + compressor surge = no more lag
you + compressor surge = self orgasm + lag
WRC compressor surge = change turbo frequently every race
FIA rules n regulations = no BOV allowed
compressor surge = more wear n stress on bearings n thrust plates
more wear = frequent service
your car + compressor surge = your choice
your choice = your money
more service = more money
use BOV/PBV = cheaper + longer lasting turbo
SAAB , MITSU , VOLVO , AUDI = not stoopid , they install PBV, they spent millions in research

no, nobody here are sifu's , we learned the hardway, n tht is wht u call experience , you are just stepping into this new world , give them a break , when they tell u something, discuss with facts , dont be like a child , i knw u r not one bt u r acting n discussing like one, dont simply show fingers, we can also do so, bebolasgalas has a turbo shop, he has no reasons to lie to u , he doesnt even get ur money , he is advising u , accept it , tong has turbo shop for soo many years , he touches turbo everyday in his life, he has more data n loggings than u will ever do in ur life.

Wuyoh. Really good at writing essay.. I gip u Grade A-. :biggrin:
I think u get hot bcos I slam Tong turbo isit? Ur fren ar? :thefinger: How about Turbo Sang? I think Sang is more experience than Tong, no?

I really enjoy your continuous name callings... :biggrin:, but back to the topic,
First of all, I think you really have to understand my points la... you keep giving the wrong answer,
thats why i kept on asking.

My point STILL STAND
1/ BOV is not needed for Turbo cars. - even some member here also said they have a turbo car without BOV.

2/ The flutter sound is not mean farkup turbo. - jinkl keep on saying that on rally cars BOV are banned. So they sure can install a bypass valve instead. But if they install the bypass valve, why the flutter still there? Do you get what I mean? WRC tuners are farkup? this wat u mean? Purposely do not want to let out the build up air compression so much? Huh? If you still dont understand me on this, then dont answer/reply lah. Its pathetic.

If you say BOV is banned from WRC, pls give me the link.. valid link.. not to some forum. I refer to my WRC Training and FIA Rally regulation book, but, hmm.. i cant find about BOV banning.. maybe i dono english, like u said... :biggrin:

Others here, pls read btw the lines... excuse the occasional name calling by jin and the finger by me yah.. hehe :thefinger:

---------- Post added at 09:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:35 AM ----------

i think this thread is meant to make ppl suffer....hahahhahaha....whats the big deal with the flutter sound anyway...N/A sounds better !!!!!

I like it. If NA, MIVEC,VTEC sound only plss.. hehe :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:49 AM ----------

just ignore him.... just let this thread adrift la.. no need to answer him.... his tuning prowess is GOD!!!

.....what the f*&k? I'm replying to this thread? wasting my 0.5minutes la bai!!!

I never said I am expert in anything. Its just that some people cannot accept different views on something. Now its all out in the open - BOV is not needed. Before this, many posters die die wanna say BOV must have for turbo. See how that works?:biggrin:

taiko Donz,

plz clear ur inbox lar, i was trying to pm u some details for BOV and bypass valve info :)

tigger, im not taiko mah

pls dont stray from subject.

MY SUBJECT:
1/ BOV is not needed for Turbo cars.
2/ The flutter sound is not mean farkup turbo.

if anybody reply, pls reply

1. Agree
2. Disagree - reasons..

OR

1. Disagree - reasons
2. Disagree - reasons

like this is better for me. i notice some of u here just reply blindly and talk about shit i dont want to know.:banghead::banghead:

Thats BOV sound is SARD R2D2 Twin Drive.

whoa..what a long winded thread and lotsa fire all over..

from my humble knowledge not from internet but purely from practical experience.

A flutter doesn't mean a turbo is damaged / konked / K.O / broken / etc. It only means the compressed air is being recirculated back out the air filter pod, hence you will hear a flutter or turkey sound (kroo krrooo krooo).
FACT : it isn't healthy for your compressor wheel, everytime this happens, your compressor wheel will flex and cause thrust play between the wheel and thrust bearings. Due to the fact that the comp wheel is still spooling and creating pressure, the back pressure from no BOV is being sent backwards and it will stall the comp wheel periodically. Don't do this for street cars.

WRC cars are ok to run without BOV, mainly due to the fact that even on idle, their throttles are part open 10-15%, hence there is no back pressure and they run low boost, anywhere between 1.5-1.7bar... so even on a run, the moment gears are being engaged, anti lag kicks in, throttle is still part open, no back pressure again !
FACT : WRC cars do change / service the turbo after every event. WRC cars on idle can build boost between 0 to 0.5 bar !! amazing.. because of the way it's tuned with the throttle part opened.

whoa..what a long winded thread and lotsa fire all over..

from my humble knowledge not from internet but purely from practical experience.

A flutter doesn't mean a turbo is damaged / konked / K.O / broken / etc. It only means the compressed air is being recirculated back out the air filter pod, hence you will hear a flutter or turkey sound (kroo krrooo krooo).
FACT : it isn't healthy for your compressor wheel, everytime this happens, your compressor wheel will flex and cause thrust play between the wheel and thrust bearings. Due to the fact that the comp wheel is still spooling and creating pressure, the back pressure from no BOV is being sent backwards and it will stall the comp wheel periodically. Don't do this for street cars.

WRC cars are ok to run without BOV, mainly due to the fact that even on idle, their throttles are part open 10-15%, hence there is no back pressure and they run low boost, anywhere between 1.5-1.7bar... so even on a run, the moment gears are being engaged, anti lag kicks in, throttle is still part open, no back pressure again !

FACT : WRC cars do change / service the turbo after every event. WRC cars on idle can build boost between 0 to 0.5 bar !! amazing.. because of the way it's tuned with the throttle part opened.

enough fact for you, don taikor?

his mind is still in WRC world... comparing street car n rally car...:rofl:

tigger, im not taiko mah

pls dont stray from subject.

MY SUBJECT:
1/ BOV is not needed for Turbo cars.
2/ The flutter sound is not mean farkup turbo.

if anybody reply, pls reply

1. Agree
2. Disagree - reasons..

OR

1. Disagree - reasons
2. Disagree - reasons

like this is better for me. i notice some of u here just reply blindly and talk about shit i dont want to know.:banghead::banghead:

1.Agree...u r rite...:biggrin:
2.Agree...u r rite again...:smokin:

Actually SDF explanation is what I already know. And BOV is not needed, we accomplished that earlier, as long as have bypass valve.. so everybody agrees on that, right? (but nobody care to say "Agree".. LOL!!)

What I want to know is: how come WRC cars HAVE that flutter sound? Since flutter sound is caused by compression surge, do you mean that WRC car tuners purposely letting the compression surge to happen??? WRC cars have a bypass valve dont they? So why still have the flutter sound, if it is not good? WRC car tuners are farkup, isit? Or? I am guessing no one here can answer me this question, instead just keep on explaning about BOV, compression surge is bad, yadda yadda.. it keeps going on and always stray from the main question. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

Enufflah with this... next time dono just tell dono la.. wtf.. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:43 PM ----------

1.Agree...u r rite...:biggrin:
2.Agree...u r rite again...:smokin:

This is sarcastic post or real post wan? :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 03:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:44 PM ----------

Thats BOV sound is SARD R2D2 Twin Drive.

This is interesting. You mean there is a BOV that can make the fluttering sound?

Actually SDF explanation is what I already know. And BOV is not needed, we accomplished that earlier, as long as have bypass valve.. so everybody agrees on that, right? (but nobody care to say "Agree".. LOL!!)

What I want to know is: how come WRC cars HAVE that flutter sound? Since flutter sound is caused by compression surge, do you mean that WRC car tuners purposely letting the compression surge to happen??? WRC cars have a bypass valve dont they? So why still have the flutter sound, if it is not good? WRC car tuners are farkup, isit? Or? I am guessing no one here can answer me this question, instead just keep on explaning about BOV, compression surge is bad, yadda yadda.. it keeps going on and always stray from the main question. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

Enufflah with this... next time dono just tell dono la.. wtf.. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:43 PM ----------

This is sarcastic post or real post wan? :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 03:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:44 PM ----------

This is interesting. You mean there is a BOV that can make the fluttering sound?

yeah wat ever man...i just dont giv a damn..:biggrin:already said b4..BOV / bpv just accessories some time it become necessary..some time dont..depend on application...

regarding the flutter sound ..sometime when compressor surge is too high and Bov cant release all the surge then flutter sound is still hapen..

i worried about ur general statement that turbo car no need BOV...how come when it not necessary engineer use it....(please justify it)..BOV and bypass valve.. same function ..
in WRC world..is different y want to compare with daily driven car setup...

i think purpose of this forum r sharing..and not fighting...i dont want to argue wit u...but i thing ur statement can lead to misconception...that all..

i kind of get what ppl are trying to say here....hehehe but whats with the long drifted thread anyway??

Agree,

1. Agree BOV is not needed, but can burn your pockets,
2. Agree BOV is not needed, if u are driving WRC cars
3. Agree BOV is not needed, if u hire WRC tuners
5. Agree BOV is not needed, when N/A car is driven...HELL YEAH!!:driver:

Diasgree,

1. Disagree compressor surge is bad, compressor surge is good...maybe for DONCITYZ no offense
2. Disagree BOV is needed, maybe needs explanation
3. Disagree flutter sound means surge, needs explanation too
5. I really will miss threads like this...

i kind of get what ppl are trying to say here....hehehe but whats with the long drifted thread anyway??

Agree,

1. Agree BOV is not needed, but can burn your pockets,
2. Agree BOV is not needed, if u are driving WRC cars
3. Agree BOV is not needed, if u hire WRC tuners
5. Agree BOV is not needed, when N/A car is driven...HELL YEAH!!:driver:

Diasgree,

1. Disagree compressor surge is bad, compressor surge is good...maybe for DONCITYZ no offense
2. Disagree BOV is needed, maybe needs explanation
3. Disagree flutter sound means surge, needs explanation too
5. I really will miss threads like this...

I have 2 main points, how come u reply till 8?

Aiyah.. ok lah lidis, easy... how to make my impreza that have BOV now, to sound like WRC cars?
Any BOV can give flutter sound?

not needed, but the surge has nuthing wit conventional tuning, err.. understand tak? i can explain how it happens, but i think its just gonna waste more time arguing about sumthin u wont accept.

in terms of modern regulations, bov / pbv or whatever venting valve shud be recirculated, and it is there for (i) performance (ii) reliabitly. they rnt fitted as sumthing to be lansi about, and older machines rnt fitted any not because they want sum surge.

fyi, and sum of u guys out there, surge doesnt mean the shaft is spinning the other way around, just to clear dat out

jinkl : can u expain to me, in full detail y thread is reactivated? i want full report on my table first thing next morn, lol or u can just pm me lah senang sikit, huhu