Turbocharger Without BOV?

doncityz
everything has its lifespan 1 mah...if ferrari parts kong then u say ferrari lousy?

y u wan 2 start a thread? bcoz u wan 2 get more info rite...if u think ur way is rite then mah go ahead lo...no 1 stopping u

Yes. everything have lifespan. dont be a schoolboy la bro. If a thing dies prematurely, how can u say it is because lifespan? blame everything on lifespan? :banghead:

LOL!!:biggrin:

Did I get on someone's nerve?
Kekeke... sorry...

Anyway back to the topic, actually it is BPV (by pass valve), not PBV (Pass by valve? a valve that pass by my house isit? :thefinger:).

Ok la... since u all so powderfoo and believe all the BOV sellers mindset, then go ahead use those BOV and sneeze away... kepish kepish...

But do tell me one thing: Why most WRC cars have turbo flutter? Is it they purposely make a compression surge? for suka2 wan ah? NO. it is because their tuner is good at tuning the WRC rally car without the need to use BOV. This is fact. Or if im wrong, then prove it.

And pls lah.. i can tell most of u here since owning a turbo car, u talk like everything u know is the facts and truth. Be open minded a little can or not? :wavey:

again :) its diffrent between a daily car n a race or rally car , maybe if your workshop has a rallycar then u would understand more, rules n regulation , FIA rules no bov's allowed , followed by NLTS system tht mostly cars use , some teams use true hardware anti lag system , some use EMS anti lag system by manipulating with electronic , ignition timing n etc , in where they do not see vacuum while they race cause their systems are constantly producing boost

bt the fact is , every race , the turbo's are inspected and changed if needed, no matter if they need to sleep on the mud n change them or while lying on the floor, u do need to go to the scene to get the better picture , and YES , 1 hour is more than enuff to switch turbo's , its HOT and YES it is changed frequently for turbo fitted rally cars , with new turbo technology anti-surge compressor housings were also designed to reduce surges. Even in zth we have a few ppl connected to the malaysia rally world , bt maybe the topic jst interesting enuff for them to pop in , mell_amir & silver night supplies turbo's and car parts to rally teams , cipan_supercas also tuned several rally cars in the malaysia scene, ask them , follow them , experience it, see it to understand more :) In the WRC their budget are not the rm2k-3k turbos, they spent alot more just for their turbo setups , n thts the HUGE diffrent between running daily and a running a race :) , with compressor surge u reduce lifespan of the turbo , doesnt mean it will break it immediately, REDUCE is the keyword here

and PBV is not a wrong term :banghead: , its PLUMB BACK VALVE :P :thefinger: (since u want some humour in posts , rolls on the floor laughing, yeah plumb it back on u lol PBV style while i passby your house), also can call it diverter valve , compressor bypass valve n etc

nah a short description of wht a WRC car has and u dont have on a simple OEM system
Blowoff valves are used to prevent compressor surge, a phenomenon that readily occurs when lifting off the throttle of an unvented, turbocharged engine. When the throttle plate on a turbocharged engine closes, the high pressure air in the intake system is trapped by the throttle and a pressure wave is forced back into the compressor. The compressor wheel slows rapidly and may even stall, and the driver will notice a fluttering air sound. The rapid slowing or stalling stresses the turbo and imparts severe turbo lag if the driver accelerates immediately after the surge event.
in their case, they do have antilag system to overcome the lag and BOV's are banned by FIA rules, wanna know why banned please google them to know the whole story, malas want to paste them.

and FYI rally cars dont boost high :) , if u managed to explode your turbo , its most probably a high boost application , in daily low boost cars with compressor surge , its all about reducing lifespan :) , Mitsubishi , SAAB , AUDI, VOLVO , SUBARU wouldnt have spent millions or maybe billions in research n manufacturing them n fitting them in the cars for nothing :)

another common issue for the flutter sound in the turbocharging world, a stiff bov tht would not leak under high boost will usually flutter at low boost, the common types of PBV's arent pull type's , so with stiff springs, they will refuse to open up at low boost cauging the flutter,

---------- Post added at 05:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:40 AM ----------

it's actually a very interesting topic, with some valid, and some not so valid points of view?
but i do know Its good to pick up girls with a BOV. They are always like "ooooo its a turbo" :biggrin:

Please guys, any feed back is still greatly appreciated.

there's this article on autospeed website. according to them,

"Manufacturers fit recirculating BOVs to achieve three outcomes:

To reduce the noise caused by compressor surge on throttle closure

To speed-up turbo response following gearchanges

To reduce airflow metering problems caused by reverse flow back through the airflow meter on throttle closure"

fer common sense's sake.. As for the fella that snapped the shaft in his turbo, i think this may have been contributed to many things, constant thrashing of a turbo charger puts a lot of strain on the turbine shaft between compressor side and the exhaust side wat? so how do you know that you are loading the compressor under airflow/pressure conditions where the comp wheel simply can't operate?

IMO turbo manufacturers go to great lengths to map out the conditions under which a compressor will experience surge. the shaft has to face extreme temperatures from both ends of the scale. The compressor side has to cope with the rush of air constantly being drawn in, and the exhaust side is red hot. Two extreme temperatures at each end of such a small peice of metal shaft can cause cracking and shattering, and pushing 2.+bar does not help either.

so if the forces of air are SO great to shear off a turbo's hard-ass steel shaft, then why cant they bend a thin brass throttle plate each time you lift off the throttle?

now is there anyone with horrid experiences ruining their TB yet? :itsme:

about compressor surge and breaking the turbo , yes experience a few running 2bar+ on daily drive cars , compressor at tht boost levels with a poor designed turbo will definately play a big role on wear n tear of the turbo , the turbo could lead into wear of thrust plates and followed by freeplay and then there you go hitting the blades to the housings , if the turbos are frequently checked for freeplays , they can be serviced n etc

apart from this compressor surge issue
a few more reasons for shafts to snap ,
ceramic turbine wheel which do not stand high pressure which will chip off , causing imbalance and then followed by destroying the turbo, if nt mistaken thts wht the rb25's and 1jz twin turbo's are facing, correct me if im wrong

imbalance match of shaft and compressor wheel n etc , can also cause em

and sometimes its also design , the Holset series , frequently reported in the DSM world , tends to snap , the turbine wheel chips off first

---------- Post added at 06:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:59 AM ----------

one thingy abt that point.

how come compressed air damage fin la? say if less than 2 bar of compressed air can damage turbo fins, then how does the throttle butterfly plate survives the compressed air la?

all my years of having damaged turbos, it's never did anything to the fin. i ran bov-disabled system fer few months, running 0.8~1.0 bar at some point (gotta blame the imitation BOV but that's another story.)..

heck, some turbo cars NEVER had BOV's as stock. :smokin:

it's ALWAYS the oil seal in my case. ALWAYS.. :banghead:

wuish, of cos not damage the fin la wei, no one said fin la bro, chill chill
its wear on the thrust plates mainly, *turbo sifu's can tell more* , which will lead to next and next :)

wah Bov MATTER ONly als want to fight ka??... aiyo..OMG

come on la guy..some one love use it..some one don't...engineer put bov for a reason..
didnt simply put it for no reason...for petrol car normally we used bov to release the boost either to atmosphere or plum it back...the boost after the close throttle wont break any shaft..or throttle butterfly, when surge happen.. we dont want to give high thrust load to the turbo...it will give a JB turbo especially,a shorter life span... that all..-'flutter is bad'

BOV is accessory isnt mean necessary...so some application dont need any BOV...example: diesel engine...coz they dont have butterfly throttle...some turbo compressor can deal with this surging so...no need to used BOV..example ihi RX series...
some people did want to used it coz want more throttle response...dont want lag...for me..up to u lah...
no need to compare with other application coz it may not suit us...how come we want to compare racing car with daily driven car...the lifespan of the car already different also want to compare....WRC ??..err... wtf
1 more thing.. normally when thrust load is too high..turbo assembly will have clearance (worn thrust bearing) when it exceed it limit..compressor wheel will touch the housing.. then .. turbo will boom boom pow..Happy NOW??

how about bALL BEARING TURBO...yeah they r much stronger...wah JB turbo not stronger ka..??
it depend ..result may vary...:)

for jb turbo back to basis ... totally depend on how turbo engineer design the spec shaftwheel and compressor combination for the turbo...normally small shaft with big compressor wont survive..

---------- Post added at 07:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:43 AM ----------

again :) its diffrent between a daily car n a race or rally car , maybe if your workshop has a rallycar then u would understand more, rules n regulation , FIA rules no bov's allowed , followed by NLTS system tht mostly cars use , some teams use true hardware anti lag system , some use EMS anti lag system by manipulating with electronic , ignition timing n etc , in where they do not see vacuum while they race cause their systems are constantly producing boost

bt the fact is , every race , the turbo's are inspected and changed if needed, no matter if they need to sleep on the mud n change them or while lying on the floor, u do need to go to the scene to get the better picture , and YES , 1 hour is more than enuff to switch turbo's , its HOT and YES it is changed frequently for turbo fitted rally cars , with new turbo technology anti-surge compressor housings were also designed to reduce surges. Even in zth we have a few ppl connected to the malaysia rally world , bt maybe the topic jst interesting enuff for them to pop in , mell_amir & silver night supplies turbo's and car parts to rally teams , cipan_supercas also tuned several rally cars in the malaysia scene, ask them , follow them , experience it, see it to understand more :) In the WRC their budget are not the rm2k-3k turbos, they spent alot more just for their turbo setups , n thts the HUGE diffrent between running daily and a running a race :) , with compressor surge u reduce lifespan of the turbo , doesnt mean it will break it immediately, REDUCE is the keyword here

and PBV is not a wrong term :banghead: , its PLUMB BACK VALVE :P :thefinger: (since u want some humour in posts , rolls on the floor laughing, yeah plumb it back on u lol PBV style while i passby your house), also can call it diverter valve , compressor bypass valve n etc

nah a short description of wht a WRC car has and u dont have on a simple OEM system
in their case, they do have antilag system to overcome the lag and BOV's are banned by FIA rules, wanna know why banned please google them to know the whole story, malas want to paste them.

and FYI rally cars dont boost high :) , if u managed to explode your turbo , its most probably a high boost application , in daily low boost cars with compressor surge , its all about reducing lifespan :) , Mitsubishi , SAAB , AUDI, VOLVO , SUBARU wouldnt have spent millions or maybe billions in research n manufacturing them n fitting them in the cars for nothing :)

another common issue for the flutter sound in the turbocharging world, a stiff bov tht would not leak under high boost will usually flutter at low boost, the common types of PBV's arent pull type's , so with stiff springs, they will refuse to open up at low boost cauging the flutter,

---------- Post added at 05:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:40 AM ----------

about compressor surge and breaking the turbo , yes experience a few running 2bar+ on daily drive cars , compressor at tht boost levels with a poor designed turbo will definately play a big role on wear n tear of the turbo , the turbo could lead into wear of thrust plates and followed by freeplay and then there you go hitting the blades to the housings , if the turbos are frequently checked for freeplays , they can be serviced n etc

apart from this compressor surge issue
a few more reasons for shafts to snap ,
ceramic turbine wheel which do not stand high pressure which will chip off , causing imbalance and then followed by destroying the turbo, if nt mistaken thts wht the rb25's and 1jz twin turbo's are facing, correct me if im wrong

imbalance match of shaft and compressor wheel n etc , can also cause em

and sometimes its also design , the Holset series , frequently reported in the DSM world , tends to snap , the turbine wheel chips off first

---------- Post added at 06:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:59 AM ----------

wuish, of cos not damage the fin la wei, no one said fin la bro, chill chill
its wear on the thrust plates mainly, *turbo sifu's can tell more* , which will lead to next and next :)

rilex bro..some will accept it..some wont...wat a wonderful world..:proud:

Hehe.

Good explanation, but wiki as your source of info is funny. :biggrin:

Oh well, up to you guys, go ahead and think that a car must have a BOV.
If no BOV then the car is fark up.
:thefinger:

Hehe.

Good explanation, but wiki as your source of info is funny. :biggrin:

Oh well, up to you guys, go ahead and think that a car must have a BOV.
If no BOV then the car is fark up.
:thefinger:

u want to be sarcastic , i could too do it, i was anwsering the questions n posting in a good manner , bt if u want go throwing fingers, then
yeaps, wiki as source , cos if it gets too technical , n00bs like u will cry
and its QUOTED , which means external source , err u still behaving like a kid lolx , if bebolas opens up his corkybell book im sure u go blank.
godbless u , for a kid who is fetish enuff for compressor surge sounds :thefinger: , other than posting anything constructive to this thread , u arent doing much lolx , come on the quote "going to get a BOT" says it all , the people who responded to ur post arent n00bs , not to mention renxun runs a drag monster , bebolasgalas sees , touch , breathe and make love to turbo in his turbo shop , syeni69 runs a monster too , and from someone who has no experience nor even serviced a turbo is letting all of us know about BOV's and letting us know Surge is better than his orgasm , lolx godbless u mate

im saying again n again , if it isnt a BOV , then it has a PBV , if u dnt have both of it , it will surge
and yes , not everyone needs a BOV, but yes all of them atleast need a PBV to have a longer lifespan on the turbo unless u r running on diesel engines. if u still dont understand english, go on la, its no use trying to discuss with a stubborn kid who fails to know nor give constructive posts

im out of here, a nice example , its like trying to discuss with a 5 yr old kid how to have sex , no matter how many things u say , they will still say "i love lolipop, wht is sex ?" lolx wakakakakaka, and till the end the kid will be jumping n saying "nooo u dnt need sex in life, u dnt need, u only need lolipop" wakakakakakakkaka :rofl:

learn up , experience it , shoot ur theories if u have , if u say "WRC cars got flutter, tuner very good"

please do anwser this few question, please do atleast

is ur BOT budget same as the WRC teams ?
do u have antilag system as the WRC cars ?
are you running a daily driven car or a WRC race car ?
u want the surge sound cos u like it ?
u dont want to have a PBV nor a BOV ?
do u even know wht is a compressor surge ?
which topic r u trying to discuss , "BOV not needed" or is it "how to get flutter sound"

as experience goes, draggers n racers give two flying shits how the BOV/PBV sounds , its all about reliability at the higher boost levels. Plumb backs are a hassle in the sense of making the reroute pipes , But please guy, u all may purchase stock BPV's from donCityZ he has a own god holly batman cow strong oem BPV that will withstand 20psi of boost :rofl:

peace n out , enuff having fun posting here, from here on only crap will come in, if facts starts pouring in , i would be glad , if not errr please use the exit, 10q

err, ive been wanting to ask u dis from the 1st page, but i tot it was a waste of my time only, but since uve grew bred of dis rubbish topic.. ISNT IT TIME FOR WHOEVER MOD TO LOCK AND DELETE THIS STOPID THREAD? i cant stand it anymore baii, u have so much free time ke jinkl? lol

p/s : ive been writing and cancelling / deleting posts on dis matter, but i know iam smart enough not to respond to a thing as silly as dis one. i'll give an excuse to myself dis time, bored lah

releasing tension la bai
only once in a bluemoon we get ppl like doncityz for us to release tension kekekekekkekeek

*SIGH* it is so obvious our local tuners need to learn more about increasing horses. There are 2 ways to increase horses for turbo/super chargers. 1. make engine more efficient. 2. increase boost.

then u should tune ur car by ur own self, no need to depend on a tuner to get ur keciewwwww motor being tuned. btw, what kind of management/piggyback r u running to hold back all these nonsense? what kind of setup/parameter r we talking here? do explain it briefly to me.

i would be interested to watch u doing the tuning. seems dat u r likely mr. noe it all , even a constructive reply r nothing to u. lolipop..i want lolipop.. :P

tq

hahaha, he is around what.. i see his avatar pun tergelak baii, haha..

but, anyway.. i respect the way u handled the thread, layan him like a real sifu. if it was me, then i'd tell him to fark off sumwhere else. i hate bodo-sombong baii, confidence and stupidity dont go well together

Ahh finally a real answer.

"and yes , not everyone needs a BOV, but yes all of them atleast need a PBV to have a longer lifespan on the turbo"

:banghead::banghead::banghead:

I dono la why some others here tok kok like all turbo car must have BOV bla bla bla... so BOV is not needed la... just say in the early time is easier... why beat around the bushes. wtf.

And nobody has yet to answer me why WRC cars have a turbo flutter, and they are running fine with it. Coz i think someone here said, turbo flutter always means bad news to the engine/turbine. So how? who gonna answer me this? i read also someone else say that car with turbo flutter is all farkup.. and the guys will shout at coffee shop "LOL!.. that car turbo is farkup.. LOL!!".. if lidat, u better go to drink kopi at WRC races and LOL at them cars... coz all of them have turbo flutter.

So how? :wavey:

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:27 PM ----------

hahaha, he is around what.. i see his avatar pun tergelak baii, haha..

but, anyway.. i respect the way u handled the thread, layan him like a real sifu. if it was me, then i'd tell him to fark off sumwhere else. i hate bodo-sombong baii, confidence and stupidity dont go well together

avatar tu mmg letak utk orang gelak punyer.. glad to make u happy. lol!..

what sombong bodo? u obviously not read thoroughly of the thread contents. and it seems many posters here are just stuck up wannabe Turbo-sifus. i have yet to read real comments about this other than HKS dude and jinkl...

My point still is correct. BOV is not needed. And Turbo flutter is not a sign of farkup tuning.

Ahh finally a real answer.

"and yes , not everyone needs a BOV, but yes all of them atleast need a PBV to have a longer lifespan on the turbo"

:banghead::banghead::banghead:

I dono la why some others here tok kok like all turbo car must have BOV bla bla bla... so BOV is not needed la... just say in the early time is easier... why beat around the bushes. wtf.

And nobody has yet to answer me why WRC cars have a turbo flutter, and they are running fine with it. Coz i think someone here said, turbo flutter always means bad news to the engine/turbine. So how? who gonna answer me this? i read also someone else say that car with turbo flutter is all farkup.. and the guys will shout at coffee shop "LOL!.. that car turbo is farkup.. LOL!!".. if lidat, u better go to drink kopi at WRC races and LOL at them cars... coz all of them have turbo flutter.

So how? :wavey:

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:27 PM ----------

avatar tu mmg letak utk orang gelak punyer.. glad to make u happy. lol!..

what sombong bodo? u obviously not read thoroughly of the thread contents. and it seems many posters here are just stuck up wannabe Turbo-sifus. i have yet to read real comments about this other than HKS dude and jinkl...

My point still is correct. BOV is not needed. And Turbo flutter is not a sign of farkup tuning.

you understand english ? , please go back to see my previous posts, its already been mentioned that if it doesnt have a BOV, it will have a PBV , but u ended up making retarded posts saying PBV is pass by valve ur house valve nonsense crap , nxt time read properly, and post constructively, till now u have posted nothing but nonsense

u understand or not, ur budget for ur BOT project is like RM1 compared to RM100k for the WRC cars , they change turbo's every fucking race, u understand english or do i need to supply u a dictionary ? they use antilag to overcome the lag faced by the surge regardless they have a PBV or not , while u will just have to live with the sound and have orgasms. U understand or fucking stooopid ?

its not beat by the bush, turn to the previous pages and read with ur spectacles la dude , its been said again n again , PBV or BOV has to exist on the petrol turbocharged vehicle , without it the surges will reduce the lifespan of the turbo, do i need to translate it to hokien , mandarin , tamil or bahasa to u ? or do i need to bring u back to my previous posts so u could use spectacles this time.

and wtf has the bov got to do with EMS tuning ? do u even know , dam we are wasting time with this n00b

ok guys, topic closed
reason being ,
1. i cant stop cursing for this nonsense thread
2. threadstarter has no clue wht is he talking
3. other than pissing the posters up , he has posted nothing constructive yet
4. wasted our time trying to explain to a kid
5. arghhh, wht a release of tension lolx , wakakakaka

Turbocharger without BOV Pt 2

jinkl, dono why u close the thread. seems u also being too sensitive when your knowledge is being challenged.

you understand english ? , please go back to see my previous posts, its already been mentioned that if it doesnt have a BOV, it will have a PBV , but u ended up making retarded posts saying PBV is pass by valve ur house valve nonsense crap , nxt time read properly, and post constructively, till now u have posted nothing but nonsense

u understand or not, ur budget for ur BOT project is like RM1 compared to RM100k for the WRC cars , they change turbo's every fucking race, u understand english or do i need to supply u a dictionary ? they use antilag to overcome the lag faced by the surge regardless they have a PBV or not , while u will just have to live with the sound and have orgasms. U understand or fucking stooopid ?

its not beat by the bush, turn to the previous pages and read with ur spectacles la dude , its been said again n again , PBV or BOV has to exist on the petrol turbocharged vehicle , without it the surges will reduce the lifespan of the turbo, do i need to translate it to hokien , mandarin , tamil or bahasa to u ? or do i need to bring u back to my previous posts so u could use spectacles this time.

and wtf has the bov got to do with EMS tuning ? do u even know , dam we are wasting time with this n00b

ok guys, topic closed
reason being ,
1. i cant stop cursing for this nonsense thread
2. threadstarter has no clue wht is he talking
3. other than pissing the posters up , he has posted nothing constructive yet
4. wasted our time trying to explain to a kid
5. arghhh, wht a release of tension lolx , wakakakaka

Seems you also not read properly. :banghead:
Go read at my first post first la jin. Or must I quote if for you???

I did not mention ANYWHERE in that thread that Im doing a BOT? Where u get this idea? From some ahem, forum, perhaps. Kekeke...

Anyway, just FYI, im getting a 2nd hand wrx sti. i have test driven it, and the owner have put a BOV init.. HKS SSQV. what else. the car is really good condition but I want it to have fluttering sound as a WRC car would.

My stance still firm. I think u cannot understand the point im trying to convey here - it is not a matter of how much is my budget.. it is a matter of why does the tuner of a WRC car tune the car to have a fluttering sound??? Its not because of budget... you think the tuner of WRC just simply tune the car for maximum bhp/torque without considering the reliability of their tuning? You must be kidding. Do you know that if a WRC team have limits in their spending for repairs?

My question is still valid - WHY THE WRC TEAM TUNERS TUNE THEIR TURBO CAR TO HAVE FLUTTER SOUND IN IT? The answer is only one - flutter not necessarily mean farkup turbo setup. But of course most of you here are so stuck up with what you believe in, and will not open your mind and be outside of the box and wont admit to this fact.

Sure, u can lock/delete this thread too, but the fact remains, most of turbo "sifus" here only know what they are told.. as in malaysia, if have turbo, must have BOV. and if flutter, that turbo is farkup.

Malaysia really boleh. :biggrin:

Re: Turbocharger without BOV Pt 2

to TS, do u own a turbo car? have u done any sort of tuning? im really confius how tuning ems or piggyback got to do with BOV and PBV??

what is the point you babling about here? if u dont want to use BOV or PBV so just go ahead..
instead u open a thread and tell 'ajaran sesat ... discussion thread is to discuss and people give their opinion base on facts. gud luck to u.

jinkl, dono why u close the thread. seems u also being too sensitive when your knowledge is being challenged.

I did not mention ANYWHERE in that thread that Im doing a BOT? Where u get this idea? From some ahem, forum, perhaps. Kekeke...

Anyway, just FYI, im getting a 2nd hand wrx sti. i have test driven it, and the owner have put a BOV init.. HKS SSQV. what else. the car is really good condition but I want it to have fluttering sound as a WRC car would.

My stance still firm. I think u cannot understand the point im trying to convey here - it is not a matter of how much is my budget.. it is a matter of why does the tuner of a WRC car tune the car to have a fluttering sound??? Its not because of budget... you think the tuner of WRC just simply tune the car for maximum bhp/torque without considering the reliability of their tuning? You must be kidding. Do you know that if a WRC team have limits in their spending for repairs?

My question is still valid - WHY THE WRC TEAM TUNERS TUNE THEIR TURBO CAR TO HAVE FLUTTER SOUND IN IT? The answer is only one - flutter not necessarily mean farkup turbo setup. But of course most of you here are so stuck up with what you believe in, and will not open your mind and be outside of the box and wont admit to this fact.

Sure, u can lock/delete this thread too, but the fact remains, most of turbo "sifus" here only know what they are told.. as in malaysia, if have turbo, must have BOV. and if flutter, that turbo is farkup.

Haha let me have a shot at this aite? I've got nothing better to do so...

Im gonna rip part of an article off wikipedia for this topics sake :biggrin:

Today's WRC cars also use anti-lag systems which feed air directly to the exhaust system. The reason is that these systems are more refined, more effective with advanced computer control, and also quieter. Today this kind of system has reached such a refinement that it’s even possible to use the system in a road car. A recent example is the Prodrive P2 prototype. The system works by bypassing charge air directly to the exhaust manifold which acts as a combustor when fuel rich exhaust from the engine meets up with the fresh air from the bypass. This will provide a continuous combustion limited to the exhaust manifold which significantly reduces the heat and pressure loads on the engine and turbocharger. With the latest anti-lag systems the bypass valve can not only be opened or closed but it can actually control the flow of air to the exhaust manifold very accurately. The turbocharger is fitted with a turbo speed sensor and the engine management system has a map based on throttle position and car speed which is used to find a suitable turbocharger speed and boost pressure for every condition. When the engine alone can’t provide enough exhaust energy to reach the turbo speed/boost demanded by the management system, the bypass valve opens and exhaust manifold combustion begins. This not only reduces turbo lag, but it also allows boost to be produced at very low engine speeds where boost was previously limited by compressor surge or exhaust energy. With relatively high boost at low speeds, this makes the low end torque superior even to large naturally aspirated engines. The system is quite loud and is banned on some rallies because of the noise it produces.

So thats why WRC car turbos have fluttering sounds coming from the turbo, did you really think it was their choice of BOV? If you dont like the HKS SSQV change it to some other brand lah.

---------- Post added at 01:21 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:20 AM ----------

Haha let me have a shot at this aite? I've got nothing better to do so...

Im gonna rip part of an article off wikipedia for this topics sake :biggrin:

Today's WRC cars also use anti-lag systems which feed air directly to the exhaust system. The reason is that these systems are more refined, more effective with advanced computer control, and also quieter. Today this kind of system has reached such a refinement that it’s even possible to use the system in a road car. A recent example is the Prodrive P2 prototype. The system works by bypassing charge air directly to the exhaust manifold which acts as a combustor when fuel rich exhaust from the engine meets up with the fresh air from the bypass. This will provide a continuous combustion limited to the exhaust manifold which significantly reduces the heat and pressure loads on the engine and turbocharger. With the latest anti-lag systems the bypass valve can not only be opened or closed but it can actually control the flow of air to the exhaust manifold very accurately. The turbocharger is fitted with a turbo speed sensor and the engine management system has a map based on throttle position and car speed which is used to find a suitable turbocharger speed and boost pressure for every condition. When the engine alone can’t provide enough exhaust energy to reach the turbo speed/boost demanded by the management system, the bypass valve opens and exhaust manifold combustion begins. This not only reduces turbo lag, but it also allows boost to be produced at very low engine speeds where boost was previously limited by compressor surge or exhaust energy. With relatively high boost at low speeds, this makes the low end torque superior even to large naturally aspirated engines. The system is quite loud and is banned on some rallies because of the noise it produces.

So thats why WRC car turbos have fluttering sounds coming from the turbo, did you really think it was their choice of BOV? If you dont like the HKS SSQV change it to some other brand lah.

its no use talking to a dumb n def n blind, he will fail to read or absorb anything

the anwser why WRC cars can have flutter is anwsered at every paragraph i have posted in the previous thread bt all u got to shoot it "why WRC can , r u that stoopid to not read ?" , r u blind or stopid to ask again n again, its more like discussing with a kid 1+1=2 bt the kid is still stubbord "why 1+1 is not 3 leh" , bt the WRC cars r BANNED from using a BOV , u understand english or pure dumb to understand that statement ? or should i highlight it in red FIA banned BOV USE IN WRC , using a BOV or PBV will give better response between gear change and will eliminate compressor surge , compressor surge will reduce the lifespan of the turbo , WRC cars can have compressor surge due to stiff PBV or they simply just dont have one installed , they change their turbos EVERY RACE!!! u understand english ah EVERY RACE ? u service ur turbo after few thousand miles , u run a daily car NOT A RALLY RACE CAR , GET REAL DUDE , if u dnt want a BOV, then fit a PBV, if u want compressor surge just service the turbo more frequently cos the wear is much greater

bebolasgalas n tong should close their turbo shops , cause their research , readings and theories are all wrong , please do visit doncitz skyfliah fire tornado shop :)

or should i give u logics instead ?

your future subaru (not equal to) WRC race car
your car + Bov = no compressor surge
your car + PBV = no compressor surge
your car + no BOV or no PBV = compressor surge
compressor surge = more lag
WRC + anti lag + compressor surge = no more lag
you + compressor surge = self orgasm + lag
WRC compressor surge = change turbo frequently every race
FIA rules n regulations = no BOV allowed
compressor surge = more wear n stress on bearings n thrust plates
more wear = frequent service
your car + compressor surge = your choice
your choice = your money
more service = more money
use BOV/PBV = cheaper + longer lasting turbo
SAAB , MITSU , VOLVO , AUDI = not stoopid , they install PBV, they spent millions in research

no, nobody here are sifu's , we learned the hardway, n tht is wht u call experience , you are just stepping into this new world , give them a break , when they tell u something, discuss with facts , dont be like a child , i knw u r not one bt u r acting n discussing like one, dont simply show fingers, we can also do so, bebolasgalas has a turbo shop, he has no reasons to lie to u , he doesnt even get ur money , he is advising u , accept it , tong has turbo shop for soo many years , he touches turbo everyday in his life, he has more data n loggings than u will ever do in ur life.

Haha I didnt ask, and I didnt get to read the previous arguement so yeah...

Dont worry I know where the "flutter" is coming from and I like it :biggrin: