turbo, supercharge or transplant?

yloon said:
kev_cychan,

i check with mechnic, they say just to do piping, buy a turbo and vr4 intercooler will do. turbo depend on how expensive u wan.

normal boost like 1-1.3 bar should be alrite rite?

please advise b4 i start my project.... for me i still like to have a try on turbo or super charger. 20 bt still last option..:p

haha ya, right.. this what i said, at first ur mechanic will say turbo, intercooler and piping enough d.. u can try it out.. then u will know what i'm saying is true..

you need further upgrade like i do TRD metal gasket 07mm (2 slice), BOV, fuel regulator, thermal wrap downpipe&manifold, intake manifold, racing clutch, everything.. if not your engine will easily breakdown..

by the way i'm just running 0.6 bar boost at first, also canot tahan..

until now only my car run very very smooth without overheating..
you can come n view my car n engine as well, i'm welcome you to view it..

rollakid said:
key_cychan,
whoa.. turbocharge 4agze cost that much? or is it just for FF corolla? You run high boost izit?

well, i read from toymod's technical article, and it didn't sound that much to turbocharge a gze.

basically, the aussie guy just use:

head:
stock ae86 big port 4ag head
stock ae86 intake manifold, with the TVIS taken out

block:
4agze late version, 8.9:1 comp ratio, all internal stock

ecu:
170ps late version gze ecu, stock

turbine:
rb20det turbine, bought with the money earn from selling the supercharger (i think)

exhaust piping:
mandrel bend tune length custom made

intercoooler:
vr4, from chop shop.

result:
run 12psi (0.81~bar), 217hp at the flywheel, power start to spool at 2k rpm, full boost at 2600rpm, go strong all the way until 7500rpm and then boost drop.

isn't that enough? or you go for some insane hp?

yeah, you're right.. that should enough but enough for certain period (what i mean is when you boost for few more time, then kong kong kong) you need further modification to maintain the consumption and engine period.. and you r right too, i'm go for more hp.. now with td04, i can easily take over an evo1..

but you need to spend more 20k to take this hp.. maybe my engine is special, easily to break down.. but i believe all 4agze will do with me..

you're welcome to view n test also :)

my current setup is for high boost application...1.4m metal gasket, racing bearings, fully balanced the engine....etc...all i'm missing is a piggyback or standalone of some sort...

i've ran a totally stock GZE 145hp block n gasket with AE92 intake and SR20 turbine + 1G i/cooler... @ 1.3 bar of boost.. stock ECU - 2 HKS 550cc AIC controlled by MF2 (ERL2) controller and Apexi SAFC (5 buttons)... no problem... d only problem is d cheapo DIY-bawah-pokok-workshop turbo extractor

so i straigh away buy TD04 HL lor... :D and of cos 1 intercooler lor...
TRD metal gasket 07mm (2 slice), BOV, fuel regulator, thermal wrap downpipe&manifold, intake manifold, racing clutch, all will cost RM20k ar?

kev_cychan said:
yeah, you're right.. that should enough but enough for certain period (what i mean is when you boost for few more time, then kong kong kong) you need further modification to maintain the consumption and engine period.. and you r right too, i'm go for more hp.. now with td04, i can easily take over an evo1..

but you need to spend more 20k to take this hp.. maybe my engine is special, easily to break down.. but i believe all 4agze will do with me..

you're welcome to view n test also :)

where u from bro ... lets have a mini tt for tis tread ... hahaha ... cool ?

yeah.... i want to come out TT also... when? i got no agze ler...:p now hunting for AE101 1st...

blackhowling, wat u mean by bawah pokok? the workshop under the tree :D

yloon said:
so i straigh away buy TD04 HL lor... :D and of cos 1 intercooler lor...
TRD metal gasket 07mm (2 slice), BOV, fuel regulator, thermal wrap downpipe&manifold, intake manifold, racing clutch, all will cost RM20k ar?

not only this bro, many etc.. TRD metal gasket 1 slice not cheap ok?

i went to ebay.com, 1 TRD gasket for 4AGE 16V 0.5mm cost us US76.50... wah lah.. dont play play. got any GZE stock gasket or not? maybe use more slices
:p

yloon said:
i went to ebay.com, 1 TRD gasket for 4AGE 16V 0.5mm cost us US76.50... wah lah.. dont play play. got any GZE stock gasket or not? maybe use more slices
:p

it's cheap d, i bought for 400 plus if i not mistaken, but i'm using 07.mm x 2, so nearly RM900

samuelccy said:
ok ok ... lets fix a date n time ... if sunway means can mk it either RSB or whr ? .. any suggestion

RSB?? by the way i got no idea where.. coz at night i seldom go out.. rather sleep.. kakakak

yaya, when? i want to join also...:D, better somewhere can see the car and sit and drink....:D
any idea?