turbo response

Dolly.... my turbo is an ori MHI one ... same as yours!! O_o

AlucarD said:
white smoke in the morning! Did it rain last nite as it might just be water vapors la.. have a whiff.. if smells like petrol then its just water + petrol and it should evaporate quick. Smells like oil and the smoke lingers, then have it checked. Not necessary turbo kong.. many other reasons as well.

but still occurs until now...tho

i cant still see the thick smoke billowing through my side mirror just now...
or maybe caused by a broken/spoiled head gasket....??

ur turbo is not like mine leh, yours has special mojo in it

sickatwelve, even after warmed up you still see smoke?

Doll.. u mean like your packet of mojo mee?? Kewl...

Sick@12, get it checked la... could be valve seals, turbo oil seals, head gaskets, PCV, oil return line ..... smoke signal during driving is not good news. Get it fixed before it gets worse...

woah....already a little outta topic man....anyway, so u guys are trying to tell me that vr4 intercooler is good enuf huh?so do i get the RS one or the normal one? my fren says his is a vr4 220. so is that the rs version? or what?

220 is normal VR4 intercooler only... the 240 one only is the VR4 RS... if u scared u get cheated... then don't buy first... go survey and see the various different sizes of VR4 intercooler... (actually there's just 2 diff sizes! haha)... then u'll know whether its RS or not the minute u see it.

sick@12,
White smoke also got many types... if its pure white, its water/coolant that is burnt... if its bluish, its burnt engine oil... if the white smoke is only during idling, its most probably valve seals.

alvin24 said:
220 is normal VR4 intercooler only... the 240 one only is the VR4 RS... if u scared u get cheated... then don't buy first... go survey and see the various different sizes of VR4 intercooler... (actually there's just 2 diff sizes! haha)... then u'll know whether its RS or not the minute u see it.

sick@12,
White smoke also got many types... if its pure white, its water/coolant that is burnt... if its bluish, its burnt engine oil... if the white smoke is only during idling, its most probably valve seals.

and u are using 220 or 240 then?if u were me.....which one would u go for??:)

zero kool..dun worry abt lag..if got oso very minimal..just pop in a vr4 i/c..on the types of vr4 i/c, different ppl say diff things..some mechs swear there are 3 diff sizes..others swear theres only 1 size...i personally believe there are 2 types..theres the 220 i/c and then theres the rs or 240 i/c...just like wat alvin mentioned..one way u can check is by counting the number of bars..the attached pic is wat im using..its got 14 bars..i believe 240 i/c got 16..seen a pic somewhere before..u could also check how thick it is..standard way of comparison..use a ciggie box..heheh..

btw, i can see in ur signature that u r using s/s i/c piping...u shud be using a fmic already, no??

wildboar said:
zero kool..dun worry abt lag..if got oso very minimal..just pop in a vr4 i/c..on the types of vr4 i/c, different ppl say diff things..some mechs swear there are 3 diff sizes..others swear theres only 1 size...i personally believe there are 2 types..theres the 220 i/c and then theres the rs or 240 i/c...just like wat alvin mentioned..one way u can check is by counting the number of bars..the attached pic is wat im using..its got 14 bars..i believe 240 i/c got 16..seen a pic somewhere before..u could also check how thick it is..standard way of comparison..use a ciggie box..heheh..

btw, i can see in ur signature that u r using s/s i/c piping...u shud be using a fmic already, no??

haha....bro, that signature pic is not my car la....found one from one of the websites...can't remember which one...:P. well, i guess i'll be hunting for vr4 i/c dee...seems like everyone says the same thing i guess it works la.hehehehe....by the way, stainless steel i/c pipping better or white steel and the price for both? and oso whats the price of the 220 and 240?anyone knows? or u knw anyone who is selling(must be good condi la)..:)

cheers and thanks man

menace,
WOW! The E3 intercooler actually fits the SE bumper... and looks quite not bad too!!

WildBoar,
If not mistaken... VR4 or VR4 RS intercooler... both got same amount of bars (same height)... but just that its longer only... correct me if i'm wrong.

zero_kool,
I personally thing normal VR4 i/c can liau... no need spend extra to get the RS version... but thats just me lar. If wanna spend extra to get the RS one, better I buy an EVO intercooler..!! Most normal VR4 i/c going for 500 bucks for an acceptable conditioned one... dented units slightly cheaper, 400-450 like that.

zero_kool said:
haha....bro, that signature pic is not my car la....found one from one of the websites...can't remember which one...:P. well, i guess i'll be hunting for vr4 i/c dee...seems like everyone says the same thing i guess it works la.hehehehe....by the way, stainless steel i/c pipping better or white steel and the price for both? and oso whats the price of the 220 and 240?anyone knows? or u knw anyone who is selling(must be good condi la)..:)

cheers and thanks man

dude, i think i've seen that pic in someone's signature before..and i believe its in this forum too...if not wrong, his nick is gsr 'sumthing'..

ss or white steel each have their own pros & cons..ss will definately look vr nice in the engine bay..just like in ur sig..but sum ppl say they tend to get hot faster cos it doesnt disperse heat that fast..but then again, a shiny surface will not absorb as much heat as a dull surface would..at the end of the day, i believe most ppl will not take into consideration the effects on performance but rather take into consideration the cosmetics & cost..white steel would cost between RM400-RM700..ss wud cost btw RM500-RM1k++..this is fr wat ive heard n quoted..the vr4 i/c wud costs around RM500+/-..but whichever material u choose, make sure the design does not have any sudden sharp angled bends..make the bends as smooth and angle as minimal as possible..

hey guyz...

thx neway for ya'll concerned..
my car stalled up already @ the bengkel....the smoke that i mentioned b4...it is caused by the engine wear....so now at least i know that it is nearly come to an end....sighhhh

im considering a 6A13 now n maybe i'll dump one. haha.....lepas tu kasi pecah lagi satu engine....hahaha

*** bout the vr4 RS i/c 0_kool,i think the best way to identify...obviously u'll see some kind of splitting line submerge (from the front view) through the surface for RS while the normal one its only a flat surface....n trust me both r the same...not so much diff...if we looking on the performance view. So 0_kool dont waste ur money on the i/c too much while u can channel it to upgrade ur i/c piping...hahaha i meant staiiinnleessss steeelllll, wahhh laa ***

wildboar said:
dude, i think i've seen that pic in someone's signature before..and i believe its in this forum too...if not wrong, his nick is gsr 'sumthing'..

ss or white steel each have their own pros & cons..ss will definately look vr nice in the engine bay..just like in ur sig..but sum ppl say they tend to get hot faster cos it doesnt disperse heat that fast..but then again, a shiny surface will not absorb as much heat as a dull surface would..at the end of the day, i believe most ppl will not take into consideration the effects on performance but rather take into consideration the cosmetics & cost..white steel would cost between RM400-RM700..ss wud cost btw RM500-RM1k++..this is fr wat ive heard n quoted..the vr4 i/c wud costs around RM500+/-..but whichever material u choose, make sure the design does not have any sudden sharp angled bends..make the bends as smooth and angle as minimal as possible..
wild_boar,

the cost u mentioned izzit including the air flow hose to the turbine.....or not ?
if yes....its very cheap lol

alvin24 said:
WildBoar,
If not mistaken... VR4 or VR4 RS intercooler... both got same amount of bars (same height)... but just that its longer only... correct me if i'm wrong.

alvin taiko..me oso not sure lo..but i do remember seeing a pic of a vr4 i/c with 16 bars..but then again, mebe it has been modified..u know us m'sians...anything & everythin can be modified wan..hehe..

sickAtwelveTT said:
wild_boar,

the cost u mentioned izzit including the air flow host to the turbine.....or not ?
if yes....its very cheap lol

yup..the price is complete piping..fr air filter to turbine, turbine to i/c inlet, i/c outlet to t/b..some are cheap but workmanship sucks..others more expensive but the welding is done vr vr nicely..

zero kool, dun forget to pass them ur bov as well so they can make the tapak or flange..

iNTERCOOLEr

sure La differenT macHine hV diFF charaCter.....
n duN taLk aBOUt draGGinG macHine froM KL tO sePANGLAaaa...

maJOriTY oF Us wiLL gO foR pikaP
(xtremeLY 400-500 meters)
sO eVen witHout i/C aLSO wiLDo...hehehe

so... for suRe biGGer i/C mucH mOre beTTer thaN notiN..
thuS oUr weaTHer iS daMn hoT coMpare to japanesE weaTHEr..

perHAPs guD thermoStat n alumiNiuM radiAtoR wiT biGGer FaN wiLL maKe uR maCHiNe smiLe alWez..

wHiCH meaN morE cooLer
wiT oPtiMiZe settinG... moRe horSe poWER wiLL prOduCE....

ALGOjO...
cHEERSSsssss
jes mY 2 cenTs

sorry to say..just my opinion.why do not use 1jz ic.. Better respon n no lag for std stock gsr. Piping also shot inlet n outlet from ic to turbine..bros .. in klang valley .How can i get custom shop to made intercooler..?

How does the 1jz intercooler compare to VR4 ones in terms of cooling capacity?

Zeroed said:
How does the 1jz intercooler compare to VR4 ones in terms of cooling capacity?
i have read somewhere that the 1jz intercooler cooling efficiency is better than vr4 intercooler. sorry i don't have facts to support this. but don't ditch your vr4 intercooler, it still can support 1.5bar unless u use big turbine