turbo response

zero_kool

to anyone who has gsr under their hood, i heard from a fren who told me that he changed his intercooler to a vr4 intercooler and the pipping is stainless. everything else is stock like turbo td04, injectors stock..and bla ba bla......i was told that the response was like so good,the turbo kicks in at RPM 2500. mine currently kicks in at RPM 3500 and thats at everything stock....including the i/c...when i heard it i was like shocked to the max....cld that possibly happen?

try ur frens car first la... maybe what he meant turbo kicks in is differnet than the way u say it...

kicks in = 0bar?? or full boost??

stroker_kit said:
try ur frens car first la... maybe what he meant turbo kicks in is differnet than the way u say it...

kicks in = 0bar?? or full boost??

kicks in as in u knw.......u feel the g-force...get what i mean?

yes,changing only vr4 intercooler already got different.last time when i dump in the vr4 intercooler and test on gear 1,2,3.....suprisely the car is much more lighter.ppl said dump in vr4 intercooler into stock GSR will make the car lag.....i says is BULLSHIT

i think vr4 intercooler for GSR is ngam ngam ok.....if put in evo intercooler maybe it will slighly lag....<--------dunno coz nvr try b4

not so big la........
i change my intercooler to evo its oklah

gear 1,2,3,4,5 tarik that time syok no lag

but when cruising 4th gear then u slam the throtle there u fell the lag.

maybe the position and cooling capacity of the intercooler makes a big difference. drove a gsr with vr4 fmic..very difficult la to drive off boost. hahaha

bvalve said:
yes,changing only vr4 intercooler already got different.last time when i dump in the vr4 intercooler and test on gear 1,2,3.....suprisely the car is much more lighter.ppl said dump in vr4 intercooler into stock GSR will make the car lag.....i says is BULLSHIT

err....cool!..but u see, vr4 i/c has different sizes....which are 210,220,230. of coz the higher the number is bigger la......so like u said...vr4 i/c on stock gsr is ngam ngam...but which one is ngam ngam?? 210? 220? or 230? and u sure we dun need to change turbo to td05 or changing injectors to suit the vr4 i/c?...if u tell me no...then u are my savior man! i hvnt changed yet but i alwiz get negative answers...:(

vr4 220 ic on my stock standard gsr. no lag. Can feel the stick-your-head-at-the-chair g forces still.

0-kool when he said it "kicks" in at 2500rpm, what gear was he on? More specifically, what was the boost pressure at that gear at 2500rpm? And what was yours? Just by eyeballing your boost meter + rpm meter is NOT accurate and leads to many false claims :D

dolly said:
vr4 220 ic on my stock standard gsr. no lag. Can feel the stick-your-head-at-the-chair g forces still.

0-kool when he said it "kicks" in at 2500rpm, what gear was he on? More specifically, what was the boost pressure at that gear at 2500rpm? And what was yours? Just by eyeballing your boost meter + rpm meter is NOT accurate and leads to many false claims :D

ok....that i am not too sure......about the pressure or what gear he was in. anyway, i knw if u put vr4 intercoolers or other bigger ones u still get the stick-your-head-at-the-chair feel....BUT later only ma...turbo lag la..thats what i dun wan....when u know that ur turbo is suppose to kick in at 2.5k rpm or 3.5k rpm but it only kicks in at 5k rpm where got nice like that?? but even better if it is 2.5k man...so fast getting boost...really something cool....

er..
i tested bfore lar...
if is gsr rs rite... the turbo opens much faster n more sudden...
mine gsr stock wif vr4 intercooler... no lag but as sumone said 4th gear tekan then yea... damn slow go up...

KoNa said:
er..
i tested bfore lar...
if is gsr rs rite... the turbo opens much faster n more sudden...
mine gsr stock wif vr4 intercooler... no lag but as sumone said 4th gear tekan then yea... damn slow go up...

that means ma got lag lor......and only happen at 4th gear??or what?

RS or no RS same wan la.. =Þ Now every tom, dick and harry also claim their GSR is RS.. we'll never know which is true...

Anywayz... GSR with VR4 intercooler is quite suitable lar... thats why you go SS Racing there, got one Apex'i intercooler for GSR, the size is memang VR4 size also. GSR stock intercooler doesn't cool the air enough before it enters the combustion chamber... its sufficient for driving, but if u want FAST... VR4's the way to go!! VR4 ic would be just nice... any bigger and u'll start to feel the turbo response getting worse.

There's only 2 different VR4 ic sizes if not mistaken... the standard and the RS... the RS is longer... height is the same if i'm not mistaken.

edit:
Anywayz... sometimes its hard to say laaa... to be honest... different engines got different personalities... even if its the same model... so a VR4 intercooler on another GSR might make the engine act differently from you putting a VR4 intercooler... but the overall picture is the same lar... u'll feel that the car gets better cooling... and the turbo is more willing to kick... now much more kick and how much more lag... will depend individually on different engines.

vr4 i/c wont cause alot of lag la, when you punch it at 4th gear after cruising of course it wont stick your head backwards unless you got big turbo and big boost and have super high torque.

just get the vr4 ic and put it in! stock gsr intercooler is rubbish. if you get stuck in jam at 1pm when the temp is 40C and you punch it after that you are asking for trouble (detonation/knock, melting piston etc etc). The minimal lag (if it even exists) you get is much much better than having a melted piston. Until someone actually do some data logging with rpm vs boost, its all just a theory story.

Turbo's are not that great on rolling starts... gets worse if you have a large turbine. U'll need more load to push the turbo and at cruising there are very little load. But a large turbine helps a lot to shorten the distance when it kicks in.

U need NOS dolly ....

damn white smoke....grr

good day all...

wanna ask u guyz sumthing, this morning i noticed theres plenty of white smoke came out from the exhaust.....especially on idling.

normally ppl will say that the turbo is already kong.....really huh ???

My point of view,
BOUT THE WHITE SMOKE,izzit got nething to do with insufficient volume of engine oil ? Maybe the oil is nearly dry out n it will pump a thick white smoke through the pipe....correct me if im wrong !!!

ppl, plz give opinion

tq

white smoke in the morning! Did it rain last nite as it might just be water vapors la.. have a whiff.. if smells like petrol then its just water + petrol and it should evaporate quick. Smells like oil and the smoke lingers, then have it checked. Not necessary turbo kong.. many other reasons as well.