thinking of buying white bulb, any sifu expert in this?

Somthing to share with everyone. this article was found in "The Star" under "Wheel" section page 18 starmag. dated today Sunday 21st August 2005.

A GROWING of premium cars are being fitted with Xenon High-intensity discharge (HID) lighting systems that are three times brighter than conventional halogen bulbs. But some oncoming motorist and pedestrians facing this powerful glare are seeing red.

Complaints are mounting that the bluish-white HID headlights blind motorist on the receiving end and that they are a safety risk.

But are these lamps always responsible for the blinding effect?

HID headlights are describe by the manufacturer as having an enormous advantage over conventional light in that they are at least two to three times brighter and last ten times longer while using less energy at the same time.

A mojor safety feature of the HID lamps is that they light up that side of the road where pedestrian, cyclist or motocyclist are mostly situated, according to the manufacturers.

The problems appears to stem mainly from internet shops selling cheap "Xenon" lighting kits. Prices range from anything between RM230 to RM1000

But beware! most of these sets don't conform to regulations because they can blind oncoming traffic up to 100 times above the permissible level, as if normal lights were constantly switch on bright.

"Selling them for vehicles not build for them is criminal. It's fraud," says the lighting expert of the German automobile association ADAC, Helmut Schmaler. "Xenon lighting needs expert adjustment for it to be effective".

In Europe, regulation require a cleaning and automatic distance control mechanism for HID lighting to minimise blinding of oncoming traffic. That means that the cost of installing Xenon HID lighting in older cars can cost anything above 1,500 euros (RM7,000)

The US National Highway Traffic safety Administration (NHTSA) is also looking into complaints and expected to announce new standards for HID lighting this year.
American motorist as being especially ired by the glare resulting from high-mounted HID headlights on sports utility vehicles (SUVs)

HID lights are also said to "Flash" oncoming traffic when travelling over bumpy or uneven roads.
Schmaler says this "flash" effect is quite possible with American vehicles because they have softer suspension systems.

But blinding is far more common, he adds, with vehicles fitted with normal halogen lamps which have a very narrow light exit.

the ADAC researchers have also found a difference between a "psychologically felt" blinding effect and real blinding.
The Xenon HID lighiting, if correctly adjusted and installed, was found to have more blinding effect than other lighting systems.

Motorist are advised, therefore to "keep their eyes glued to your side of the road" and not to stare into oncoming light. The interior mirroe should also be adjusted for night driving to avoid blinding from rear traffic. -dpa

bro, u posted it already in other thread ma... dun cross post la, especially huge post... haha..
no offence...

Here's the pic of my rear fog lamp..enjoy

TitanRev said:

u gotta take side view photo la....too bright cant see....tat is satria huh?

d lamp is red?

EVO3gsr said:
u gotta take side view photo la....too bright cant see....tat is satria huh?

d lamp is red?

That's not a Satria. Thats a 206, the rear fog lamp is red colourwan.

TitanRev, looks like fire cannon for me, muahaha. So your car is ready to teach a lesson to those fella that

1. try to blind you with their HID
2. on their hi-beam light while driving in the city.

Guys, that fog light is NOT an add on unit. Its a standard equipment that came together with the car. Chervolet Aveo also has mah. Its a CBU 206...Yah, when those fellas with high beam or glaring light. I will just switch it on then he will know the pain..

most euro or western CBU cars comes with standard fog lamps. all alfa romeo cars have standard fog lamps front and rear, so do fiat cars, BMW, Audi, Mercedez Benz.
even most proton cars have optional fog lamp as standard.

the real purpose of fog lamps is that you can be seen by other motorists from front front and rear, whether its thick fog or heavy rain (like malaysian weather). fog lamps are not design to flash other ppl (unless operated in good weather condition). which is the reason it does not penetrate far in darkness. juz to assist ur vision and let other road users know that u r there.

one good habit to practise is to switch on ur position lamp (u on this first before the headlamp) once u feel its getting dark. its not becoz u r rabun, its courtesy to other road users. most young ppl have good eyes, most older ppl incl me and my parents have slight vision prob.

EVO3gsr said:
100/90w bulb not expensive...rm18 like tat for one..one pair rm38 like tat.....get HELLA...most ppl rekomen....

yes, 100/90 bulbs are not expensive....but when it comes to changing the headlamps, it is expensive. the intense heat from the 100/90 bulbs will eventually burn the reflectors of the headlamp, which causes it to turn yellowish and dull (not reflective).

TitanRev said:

hey, how you do that?

i have always wanted to install a rear fog light...for safety purposes during heavy rain and foggy condition (driving up to genting)

nuggyn said:
yes, 100/90 bulbs are not expensive....but when it comes to changing the headlamps, it is expensive. the intense heat from the 100/90 bulbs will eventually burn the reflectors of the headlamp, which causes it to turn yellowish and dull (not reflective).
yeah... anyway we can prevent the reflectors from getting yellowish??... plan to instal 100W/90W crystal bulbs but since u say it will tuen yellow, doubt pulak... i want long term usage one wo...

help help...

Guys have u heard of osram bulbs 100/90 from germany? Dam bright and can last long even when the lamp cover is dimm it gives u maximum satisfaction. Price is around RM40 ++ per pair.

CrankShaft said:
Guys have u heard of osram bulbs 100/90 from germany? Dam bright and can last long even when the lamp cover is dimm it gives u maximum satisfaction. Price is around RM40 ++ per pair.

tat is from BOSCH company if im not mistaken

nugg and sonic,

the rear fog lamp is factory fitted...

CrankShaft said:
rm40+ per pair for 100/90W bulbs??... normal yellow halogen or those crystal type??... :eek: