TD04 owner, pls fall in

i not sure but u dun think repair TD04 would be wise in terms of costing as i think repair it will anytime come close or even higher cost thn getting another unit

thank u normality

mine is TD04-13T...i think rare. it's factory fitted for turbo. how much?

do u know the family range/variants of TD04?

what are the prices?

i think the turbo info can be found over the sticky thread. as for pricing wise, try to search thru the forum, get the roughly market price

TD04L : service (new internals, complete service kit) + mod + balance, RM 650. call me at 0163571811

bro the td04l from a wrx is a bigger turbine than the td04l from a gsr... the wrx one produces more power with minimal lag [tested and proven in uk, with the wrx u can easily reach 220bhp in a 4efte of course with some other mods]... im getting mine done will show you once completed... cheers

DeOngster said:
bro the td04l from a wrx is a bigger turbine than the td04l from a gsr... the wrx one produces more power with minimal lag [tested and proven in uk, with the wrx u can easily reach 220bhp in a 4efte of course with some other mods]... im getting mine done will show you once completed... cheers

bro, do u have the exact td04l model no frm WRX?

normality78 said:
i not sure but u dun think repair TD04 would be wise in terms of costing as i think repair it will anytime come close or even higher cost thn getting another unit

Correction: Repairing the TD04 will add up to the price of a SECOND HAND TURBO in which you wouldn't be able to tell if it will break down again 2 months after using it. =Þ
Might as well service your existing one... at least its refurbished... and good as new.

WRX uses IHI turbines ma no meh? =Þ
If you get the STi version's turbo... its ball bearing (correct me if i'm wrong). SHould do heaps on cutting down turbo lag.

alvin24 said:
WRX uses IHI turbines ma no meh? =Þ
If you get the STi version's turbo... its ball bearing (correct me if i'm wrong). SHould do heaps on cutting down turbo lag.

if i was not wrong, early model of wrx use TD04L

normality78 said:
bro, do u have the exact td04l model no frm WRX?

ill have to check for you bro... the td04l number...

well if im not wrong only sti and special models comes with IHI turbines...

alvin, thanx for the suggestion. what i do is service / modify the turbine so dat it will perform like new again.

I'm using a TD04L(hybrid 18G) on a 2.5 10 valves Volvo.

Boost about 0.8 bar, 240ish. Power range is between 2000 to 5000 RPM. Seems to hit a ceiling at 5000, should be because I'm still using the autobox.

sounds interesting... =) the volvo nice

my td04l was taken from a version 7 wrx... if its a wrx it should be a td04l 16G twin fin... correct me if im wrong... its definately bigger than a td04, tdo4l (gsr), heck i even compared it to a td05h and my td04l from the scooby is overall bigger... exhaust housing... turbine all bigger... weird.. lol

let me install first let you guys know the outcome

ModMaestro said:

I'm using a TD04L(hybrid 18G) on a 2.5 10 valves Volvo.

Boost about 0.8 bar, 240ish. Power range is between 2000 to 5000 RPM. Seems to hit a ceiling at 5000, should be because I'm still using the autobox.

its not because of the auto tranny, its because ur turbine / engine / combination has reach its limit. FYI, a TD04L (even a hybrid) is relatively small for a 2.5liter engine, so in high revv, the turbine cant push anymore horses (efficiency issue, charged air getting hot as revv increase). imo, ur powerband's range is good enuff, but changing to a TD05H (or bigger) wud give u better push in higher revv range.

my mech there got 2 x TD04 and 1 x TD05 single fin.

one of the TD04 did have a plate there mentioned frm volvo. but its only 14G if i was not wrong.

as for the other TD04, Its twin blade. i compare it with the singel fin TD05, i think its only the housing slightly bigger only. the fin looks the same size to me.

xtremeleo,

yeah my mech says I can squeeze more power if I go up the trim although I don't actually go pass 5k that often. but anyway to increase my torque?

ModMaestro said:
xtremeleo,

yeah my mech says I can squeeze more power if I go up the trim although I don't actually go pass 5k that often. but anyway to increase my torque?

if u rnt gonna or seldomly revv to / above 5k, den there s no need to upgrade the turbine bro. maybe u can mod ur current turbine to harness a lil bit more power but as urs alredi a hybrid, maybe all dat iam suggesting had been done. increasing the torque is one thing, but at what rpm u willing the turbine to kick in. no doubt dat using bigger ie TD05H or bigger will increase the torque significantly on the 2.5 liter block but the kick may be felt later compared to ur current turbine.