Suspension Queries

for those who had doubted TiTAN's material and welded parts' strength,

here's a 'ugly' example of a damper barrel of a car, whose owner (really very new set too!) lent his car to his friend for a test drive.. ( i hope they're still friends..)

the car was badly damaged, (engine was a Supra 1JZ, which explained the extra-gung-ho cornering technique!!) due to bad tyres (rims & tyres on the way, not yet changed :P ) so them tyres were still Eagle Ga.. :mellow:

anyways, the inexperienced driver lost it into a stationary lorry and.. this is the end result!

so, here's the damaged goods... the welded top mount still nice and strong ! :)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v166/ninja_iga/bentBarrel.jpg

now repaired (repairs paid for by the unfortunate fellow who crashed his friend's car)
and blazing the streets in BLACK! PiMP SiAL~!!

thanx for da info stanley.. i got it

ya hor.. i forgot bout de graph... hehe.. terblur-blur abit :P

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Oct 7 2004, 23:12
for those who had doubted TiTAN's material and welded parts' strenght,

here's a 'ugly' example of a damper barrel of a car, whose owner (really very new set too!) lent his car to his friend for a test drive.. ( i hope they're still friends..)

the car was badly damaged, (engine was a Supra 1JZ, which explained the extra-gung-ho cornering technique!!) due to bad tyres (rims & tyres on the way, not yet changed :P ) so them tyres were still Eagle Ga.. :mellow:

anyways, the inexperienced driver lost it into a stationary lorry and.. this is the end result!

so, here's the damaged goods... the welded top mount still nice and strong ! :)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v166/ninja_iga/bentBarrel.jpg
Where is the pic?

Hi ninja,

New here. Sifted through the forum but seems like nobody asked about the weight penalty of 'Titan'ing. How much more weight do I put on or lose if I 'Titan' my Wira A/B 1.6 (M) as compared to stock? Please be specific. Thanks.

Regards.

Originally posted by leongts@Jan 4 2005, 18:09
Hi ninja,

New here. Sifted through the forum but seems like nobody asked about the weight penalty of 'Titan'ing. How much more weight do I put on or lose if I 'Titan' my Wira A/B 1.6 (M) as compared to stock? Please be specific. Thanks.

Regards.
i'd be honest with you,
we didnt actually weight it, yet :P

wait a few days, i'll get back to you...

but then i dont have a stock set to weight................

Originally posted by acbc@Oct 6 2004, 10:07
A member, Acoustic upgraded from leaf spring to coilovers for his KE70. As mentioned by Stanley, it depends...
ke70 does not come with leave springs laaaaaaa
it originally came like the ae86 .. absorber and springs are seperate items ... like the saga also i think for the rear ... then he change to true coilovers like most modern cars where springs/absorber is one unit together B)

assuming after titaned..how many times or days am i allowed to get back to u for re-tuning for FREE??

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Jan 13 2005, 10:27
1-2 times
is it ? i recall someone mention 90 days in the forum .. dunno la if im mistaken for something else .. :lol:

Stanley, I have a question here. I'm not really good with suspension so please bear with me.

I've recently bought a set of rear adjustable cusco for my mr2. The front is still stock so I've been looking forward to getting a pair of titan for my front. I know it's not a good idea to mix and match but ... I've other commitments so i dont want to spend so much on my car. I might get the rear as well but not anytime soon.

Anyway, the cusco dampers can be adjusted to 5 different levels, and the entire coilover can be shortened (effectively lowering the car?) without touching/compressing the springs (is it what they call pre-load?). My question is, "Can Titan do the same"?

Below's an image to better stress my point. By twisting and tightening the 'screws' on the green arrow, suspension travel is reduced and ride quality suffers. Can I twist the entire 'black thing' near the purple arrow so that the entire suspension is shortened like what I can do with my cusco? :

ah?

the threaded sleeve (purple arrow) is NOT movable.

the green arrow is movable.

that's what we call damper body height adjustable without touching the springs.

that's more for mass-produced sets, where the manufacturer can't possibly custom every single set for every different individual (it'll cost an atomic bomb!) :lol:

what TiTAN can do is:
we pre-determine the height you may need and use, and we'll manufacturer a set of coilovers to match that range.

So: no need to adjust here and there, but of course, got the normal height adjustablity la.

We generally don't pre-compress/tension the springs.

Hi stanley. Thanks for your reply hehe. OK, so the part about the threaded sleeve being 'movable', what is it called if it's not "damper body height adjustable" ?

And then, when you said "height adjustable without touching the spring" and later on "We generally don't pre-compress/tension the springs", I'm all lost. I mean, how or where can I adjust the ride height if not at the springs? At the top of the suspension or at the 'green arrow'?

Also, can you repair damaged pillowball mounts? I think one of mine got damaged/stucked at the ball there hehehe.

And oh btw I saw your car last week or 2 weeks ago I at the LDP. Looks like you were rushing to somewhere, dont know you noticed me or not hehehe :P

aEROZ

it only can be damper body adjustable.
found on HWL's top models, and several other brands.

haha
as i just said: the damper body actually can adjust for height purposes and this is done so you don't upset the spring's setting, such as pre-compression.

but for brands that dont have it like TiTANs and most others, there's no other choice but to adjust at the spring seat collar. (hi-lo)

some actually use different length of springs (if choice is actually available)

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Jan 26 2005, 11:48
aEROZ

it only can be damper body adjustable.
found on HWL's top models, and several other brands.

haha
as i just said: the damper body actually can adjust for height purposes and this is done so you don't upset the spring's setting, such as pre-compression.

but for brands that dont have it like TiTANs and most others, there's no other choice but to adjust at the spring seat collar. (hi-lo)

some actually use different length of springs (if choice is actually available)
Ah , I see. Thanks for the reply Stanley. I'll most prolly be dropping by your shop after CNY. :)

aEROZ

sure no prob

hey do you know we TiTANed a MR2 Turbo? ehehe
owner was on TeinHAs prior to this, and man is he all smiles now!

haha
name's Aaron.. black MR2

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Jan 26 2005, 17:53
aEROZ

sure no prob

hey do you know we TiTANed a MR2 Turbo? ehehe
owner was on TeinHAs prior to this, and man is he all smiles now!

haha
name's Aaron.. black MR2
Yup I saw the pics earlier. Not sure if I met him before during one of our MR2 TTs.

stanley need info, i dun think i need adjustables, i prefer comfort. anyway do i have to sacrifice with more bodyroll to have better comfort? and i still need to lower my car ah if i get fixed spring titan coz now coming out from my house compound with my stock kelisa abs/spring also nearly scrap the ground liow.