Suspension Queries

Originally posted by greenjacket@Jul 14 2004, 08:36 AM
not mean to dig out yor trade secret lah, stan.... :P
but there'r some general rules applied right?? i mean which applied to most or all the shocks...different brand n manufacturer. juz wanna know how it work in general
"but it's has something to do with weight displacements and stuff like that"

i already stated ;)

im driving a titaned wira, is it possible to shorten the amount of suspension travel/movement Not by changing to a stiffer spring?
For example if i'm currently having a total of 3" suspension travel, and i want it reduce to 2". Is it possible?

Speedking: why would you want to do that? The more travel, the better. If what you want is to reduce body roll without harder springs, then you need a stiffer anti-roll bar.

cozi want to lower my car a little bit more and i dun want my tyre hit the mud guard if i fetch ppl... :)
another thing i concern is if I lowered too much, i scare the suspension will bottom out..

If you want to do that, you must increase the spring rate.

Let's say Xkg of load = Ymm of travel

If you lower your car by 10mm, your travel directly reduces by 10mm.

Therefore, you must tune your suspension so that Xkg=(Y-10)mm.

Solution: Harder spring.

Originally posted by speedking@Jul 21 2004, 11:34 AM
cozi want to lower my car a little bit more and i dun want my tyre hit the mud guard if i fetch ppl... :)
another thing i concern is if I lowered too much, i scare the suspension will bottom out..
bro

to lower the car AND not hitting the mudguard by shorting your stroke is iLLOGiCAL..

to lower cars and avoid bottoming out, use a harder spring.

and besides, after lowering, and using harder springs, i doubt ppl will want to seat at the back liaws :P

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Jul 21 2004, 12:59 PM
to lower the car AND not hitting the mudguard by shorting your stroke is iLLOGiCAL..

y not? if i shorten the stroke, the suspension wont travel so much...so the tyre wont kena the mudguard. the suspension will stop moving right b4 the tyre hit the mudguard :rolleyes:

not lowering too much,i wan just 1 finger between tyre to mudguard. currently 2.5 finger la ;)

aiks

hmm.. well, if you want it to stop before it hits your fender/mudguard then it's call bottoming out

shortening it also makes the cars VERY hoppy. the car will literally follow the road's undulations. VERY uncomfortable. Even track cars have a min" of 2inch travel AT the very least.

let alone road cars.

my car had very short stroke 2" and that i can't live with, and also the lack of traction. but with 3" (just a figure, not real) it worked so much better!

if you want to lower the car, let us do the job. You don't hafta worry too much ;)

Originally posted by speedking+Jul 21 2004, 02:07 PM-->
QUOTE (speedking @ Jul 21 2004, 02:07 PM)
--QuoteBegin-ninja_iga
@Jul 21 2004, 12:59 PM

y not? if i shorten the stroke, the suspension wont travel so much...so the tyre wont kena the mudguard. the suspension will stop moving right b4 the tyre hit the mudguard :rolleyes:

not lowering too much,i wan just 1 finger between tyre to mudguard. currently 2.5 finger la ;) [/b][/quote]
the more you reduce suspension travel, the closer you get to having 'no suspension' at all. that way, your car will never ever have the tyres hitting the fender.

:blink:

yea..

and if that doesn't happen, your undercarriage will start making sweet high pitched noise and sparks with the road.. hehehe

What machineries do you employ to test out the all necessary measurements to your product?

bro Midship

we don't have a dyno, can't afford one yet. (reminder :P )
We measure stroke lengths by measuring when the car is rested, and when the car is lifted.

With this data, we then can proceed to manufacturing process, where how long the barrel should be, and how long the damper/control rod should be too.

stanly sifu...

i wanna know how do u know my abs kong?

coz my bro change absober and find out the abs not function at all, when he push the abs down the abs didnt push up back. that means his driving car with the spring only rite?

if i change to adjustable how will i know when to servis the abs?

menace bro,

i have to assume that your bro pressed the absorber/damper on it's own, not installed on the car?

then the damper is either oil-filled only, or if it's 'gas' absorber, the gas has leaked..

IF it's on the car, and he pressed the car down, and the car stayed low, it means it's the springs la! :o

A faulty damper usually can be tested by a few things:

press the car down with the damper installed, check for oscillations.
it should only go down and come back up once.

oily and grimy (from all the road muck sticking to it)

noise..

for adjustables, it's similar. except it's more pronouced. ;)
cheers!

What is TiTAN custom build performance shock absorber?
TiTAN's are proudly 100% Malaysian designed and built custom build performance shock absorber. Designed as the ultimate custom build shock absorber set for Malaysian roads and drivers! TiTAN's been around for 5 years.
TiTAN is an inverted monotube design, ala WRC/Rally cars style for maximum strength AND durablity for Malaysian roads.

What is a monotube?
a monotube is a single tube where all the damper oil, hi-charge gas and piston is inserted into. Imagine a tube with a sealed end on one end. and a removable cap on the other. (diagram included later)

What is an inverted monotube?
it's the upside down version of the monotube, but in this configuration, the barrel (where all the oil and piston is located) is the exposed moving component moving up and down. Any damage to this surface will not be sufficient to cause ANY leakage of the damper oil as the shock rod is protected inside of the body.
WRC cars ONLY use this setup as it offers HUGE reliablity compared to conventional monotubes.
One of the best reasons ppl use inverted monotube for the MacPherson struts setup is because of the better(alot!) strength laterally. Normal struts have thicker rods (for fronts) for strength. Rears are small cause there's no lateral load there.
inverted monotubes are stronger anyday because it's way way bigger in diameter.

Is it servicable?
YES ! TiTAN sets can be serviced at anytime, as it's designed to do so. Because we use superior designed seals and over-specced seals and bushes, we're so confident, we give 2 years(!) warranty for normal usage against defects in workmanship and materials, excluding finishes. (ie:paint)
When we service, we change the oil, (synthetic shock absorber oil) seals, bushes and maybe valves all to new ones.

What makes TiTAN's so special?
We designed our product such, it has a modular materials design to save costs. But we over-specced the materials kau-kau. Why? Malaysian roads are notoriously horrid, with the occasional pot-hole and bumps on the road to work. And for the price you're paying for a set of shocks, you'd expect the shocks set to last ! (at least for 18-24 months right?)

And after all that, you'd want to service the shocks/dampers and have it perform again like almost new. We're one of the few suspension local companies that can service shocks properly (TiTAN's only) and it only cost you RM300 per service of all 4. This includes the installation, parts, new and fresh damper oil and the neccesary work.

What do you mean custom-build?
Custom built for you! We humans are very complex human beings. We all want different things to satisfy our specifics needs and wants. What Mr. A wants differ from what Mr. B wants. So to accommodate almost any individual, we try to as closely as possible, to tune your TiTAN to suit you!
This means, spring rates, damping rates can be changed to suit the individual!
We have a variety of springs to choose from, and valving tunablity is very high because of the large damper piston we use.

What cars do you build for? Do you build my car?
We can build sets for just about any car that uses the oil-damper setup.
This means cars that are using air-type suspension like the new Mercedes S320 may not be suitable. The Citroens with pneumatic hydraulic system is not suitable as well.
This would mean about 90% of the cars, trucks or even ATVs can be TiTAN-ed!
if you're interested, and not sure if your car can be TiTANed, call us!

CALL -> Stanley 012-211-3039

TiTAN's are great for cars that have difficulty getting parts for their suspension, as we can build and service(!) such as the Mercedes 124 (model just before the big and small headlamps model)

What's the pricing?
Prices are located on this link:
TiTAN's pricelist

We charge according to amount of work and materials needed, not by the brand of the car installed. Hence Mercedes' sets are cheaper than a Proton Satria GTi.
(Mercedes' are separate springs and damper)

Why the price??
Our manufacturing costs are high, simply because of the economies of scale. We're not a mass production facility. We're running a very labour intensive (more precision, better quality control) production line (if you call it that) AND our materials are delibrately over-specced, and only good quality materials are used in TiTAN's construction. Our seals and bushes are equally superior, and all that adds up to it's final retail price.

What's the warranty like?

Limited Warranty
For TiTaN Custom Build Shock Absorbers

I. What this Warranty Covers
Defects in materials and workmanship in the following “products” manufactured, sold or certified by MPd Auto Centre Sdn Bhd, with which this limited warranty is included in/on the package: (1) spring(s) and damper(s) set (2) seals and oil seals (3) bushes and bearings.
II. What the Period of Coverage is
Subject to the following exceptions, 2(two) years from the date of Purchase by the first end user:
Motorsports usage exception. Use in motorsports is not covered as the conditions of during use is unknown and subject to very high stresses, abuses and high use. We do however; guarantee that our product(s) will be free from defect in materials and workmanship until used in competition/race/rally conditions.
• Paint finishing exception. Warranty does not cover mars, scratches, chips and such after use. We do however; strive hard to ensure that our product(s) are protected from the elements.

Stan,
donno anyone ask this kind of q's b4 or not..
hope u can help out here..

my car handling totally out. :( :( :(
bumpy....err.. can say is vibrate a lots..
changed tie-rod, tie-rod end.. blabla... :unsure:
changed 4 new tyres, slightly improved, but the vibrationand bumpy-ness
still there.. rear suspention also dead.. :(

so tot of change to titan... just wanna know,
if i bring stuff like suspension busshing, lower arms &
anti-roll bar (stabilizer bar) and buy titan from u,
ur shop will help to fix for me the lower arm and the anti roll bar
(of course with labor charge la)..? and tune my car handling..? :(
:( :( :( :(

if we can do it, we'll be happy to help you sort your problem.
but we must first evaluate le :)

that's very reasonable of you to offer to pay for the labour for the extra work :) thanks.

HI Stanley,
My car is Toyota Vitz. If not mistaken it is same as Vios. About the rear absorber, which is seperate type, your suspension set can also Hi-Low? Do you have a double adjust suspension set?