step to reduce fuel consumption

agree with u, fluffy and marcuszz.

for in town driving, use small car. for long distance, use big cc car. thus u need to have two cars lah

guest18 aka my good fren ngek ngek, you stop bringing your gf then i think the petrol will decrease.

Anyway, anyone got reliable method to reduce car fuel....except than controling right foot..

errr... those gadgets like fuel saver, twin power intake for example, do u all think they works ?

sadly dude.no.they dont.they're just gimmics la...
if u want to save fuel..drive properly..dont slam the gas pedal all the time..etc etc.
if u want more power..welcome to zth.com

hhm......scratching my head now, dunno why my gen2 is so underpower yet so damn drinking so much petrol :(

just drive bicycle la,no need money tu put fuel,just need money to get food for energy and u kayuh2 sampai ujung dunia,ekekeekkee

ever heard of the term "feather the throttle"?...it means dont slam ur pedal one time, press bit by bit...man man...

and keeping rpm below 3k on top gear?..i dont think so...

logically, low rpm on high gear makes the car struggle more to pull, coz it becomes heavier, thus using more petrol instead...

actually before spending so much on "miracle" gadgets that can save petrol, just do a basic thing, check ur tyre pressure. I maintain about 35psi for my 16" rims tyres. I noticed that even a slight drop in my tyre pressure increases my mileage, like below 350km on a full tank as compared to a 400km. On average my putra (9 years oldliao) clocks 12km per litre of petrol ie RM10 of petrol gives me 74km.

hhmm... thanks guys, may i just ask 1 more thing, using semi synthetic engine oil and fully synthetic engine oil, does this affect the fuel consumption ?

want to lower ur petrol consumption.. u might wanna consider riding motocycle o.. keke.. :)

I think you can improve FC by referring to your Owner Manual, manufacturer will knew their own car far better than anyone, they will include some tips in the manual as well.

For example, I got a lot of tips from my manual, all I can do is just follow as much as the steps stated in the manual...then will probably improving the car FC. Cheers

SkYwAlKeR said:
take out some heavy 'gadgets' from ur right foot... it will
help alot... hehe...

try drive barefooted, meaning without sandals or shoes. sure the heavy right foot will become lighter. isnt it?:regular_smile:

try also...keep the rpm at zero mark especially during long stop ie traffic light or ultra slow jam.

its a secret used by Toyota Prius to get super low FC. i think same goes to Honda Insight with IMA.

lol some owner's manual even provide the fuel consumption of the engine vs the rpm range, saw one before, but forgot what car, not my car tho. found that most car consume less fuel around 1.5k rpm mark to 2krpm.

Write your reply...