savvy vs myvi

NiCkY7 said:
wah hahahahahahaha... chaimpion la u... :D

push body? i choose to push girl body... :D u are damn wrong if u judge from that, go watch some Top Gear, learn how they test the car crash, hope u can come back with some evidence... no just push push theory...

leader in F1? then? u know how F1 car works? based on higher engine hp then sure win? u damn wrong again... :D

btw, y cant kutuk potong? they still potong... last time use mitsu, still kena potong by others, now use renault, will still potong by others... :D

i will hope u post some evidence to show the car tested with 300HP... and i wonder which engine can fit in... LOL.... :D

if myvi can handle up to 200hp++, we are already happy with it, the car is not a fast car, got 200hp already more than enough to smoke u... :D

again, post the cornering evidence... my accord can drift at corner u know!!!??? and those tau fu fa that i didnt finish, i put them at the cup holder, it still didnt pour out when i drift... can savvy do this?:D

btw, u got ur license? or when u finish ur P license? :D

all just joking, dun take it too seriously... lol... i dun wan see the 1st savvy crash report at newspaper due to "testing for prove"... :D

Haha ur reply dem funny man... but i believe all of us would be interested in seeing where he got his facts from.. just for discussion sake... heheh LOLX

my bet would be on myvi. savvy renault build engine. if anything goes wrong must buy renault stuff. imported stuff is always more expensive.

my 2 cents are free.

Referring to comments about the Renault Clio V6. That car happens to be mid engined and rear wheel drive. I'd like to see somebody mod ANY front engined, front wheel drive car like that. So you can't simply plonk that great big 3 litre V6 in the engine bay. You'd have to cut the firewall and remove the dashboard. You might want to try the Clio Cup 182s 2.0 litre engine though I doubt that too. And of course, it'll all be expensive.

Myvi 99% copy Boon.....nothing great about it...
less headache? of coz lor...coz copy mah...

Savvy 50% from Renault...proton is taking initiative to design car...

speedking said:
Myvi 99% copy Boon.....nothing great about it...
less headache? of coz lor...coz copy mah...

Savvy 50% from Renault...proton is taking initiative to design car...

would you also say that the citroen c1 and peugeot 107 is 99% copy of toyota aygo? (which aff of them shares the same platform as the Myvi but with european styling)

or perdana V6 (1st edition) is 99% copy of perdana eterna? which IMO is a great car.

in citroen C1's case, which is a successor to the saxo (which in turn a successor to the AX aka proton tiara), its kinda funny to see the french automaker to use toyota's technology for their bread and butter car, which has the same platform as the Myvi. while proton, replacing the citroen AX based tiara, choose to use a french (but this time renault) engine in the Tiara Replacement Model aka Savvy. its kinda like a rounabout thats eventually links both proton and perodua in the end :)

alexz said:
would you also say that the citroen c1 and peugeot 107 is 99% copy of toyota aygo? (which aff of them shares the same platform as the Myvi but with european styling)

or perdana V6 (1st edition) is 99% copy of perdana eterna? which IMO is a great car.

in citroen C1's case, which is a successor to the saxo (which in turn a successor to the AX aka proton tiara), its kinda funny to see the french automaker to use toyota's technology for their bread and butter car, which has the same platform as the Myvi. while proton, replacing the citroen AX based tiara, choose to use a french (but this time renault) engine in the Tiara Replacement Model aka Savvy. its kinda like a rounabout thats eventually links both proton and perodua in the end :)

hmm...agree with u bro...
i think Myvi is still preferable...coz of other goodies..airbag and ABS...
Savvy have nothing...just an own design shell...
if compare price to price, Myvi worth the money...

it appears the consensus is that forumers here would generally opt for MyVi over Savvy.

I suspect the representation is more urbanites (since most of you guys are able to access to net) would choose 'family' platform (MyVi) over 'sports handling;tough like built' (Savvy).

Comments from me;
The 2 cars are for different targets; but i suspect proton got it slightly wrong in the small car category. (The sales numbers will/could prove me wrong but we'll see)

They seeem not to have learned from the tiara fiasco.(sure the tiara body 'was' hardier than kancil but...)

If i put myself as a 1st time car buyer (limited budget).Yes , you do look at handling, drivability, compactness, multi tasking car... and the order of preference would look like this:
1) value-for-money
2) fuel effienciency (a priority as i dont earn enuff to fuel $$ to oil & gas industry)
3) up to date design exterior (newness as comparable to other compact cars out there)
4) interior design / spaciousness
5 ) Handling (not a main priority as I dont think i be modding to be a race like car.)

What Proton is putting as their criteria (in thinking what the target wants):
1) tough built; associate to euro cars = perceive to be 'better built'
2) Hnadles well; better than cars of its class
3) Avant garde design
4) **

**Do feel free to add or differ to the list here.**

I could be bias and looking it at from the urbanites perpective, maybe chaps from out of town have a different requirements.

My first lotus? as tagline? I think lotus owners (present) are angst !

proton give 3 years warranty for the power windows. heck! better to have manual windows than having these power windows.

I mirror koolspyda's views. It is a small car. They are barking up the wrong tree. All that LOTUS!!! crap really is unnecessary. My first LOTUS my ass. All the hoo hah about the toughness and handling. Look, it is all good that you have a strong body and it is well built etc. But those are things that should be taken care of anyway by all good car makers. In fact I hope BOTH Proton and Perodua make an effort to make safety a top priority. Safety features should be standard across the range. And of course build quality should always be there. These are things you SHOULD have. All manufacturers have a responsibility to their consumers to make quality products that are safe.

agree with u silverfish. car manufacturer local or abroad should make safety as standard not an optional item. govt should impose the safety rule for all cars.
I'm surprised when I was in a kancil. I couldn't imagine how could they build such car. it is definitely a toy car just like the 407 ad.

I wanna buy a new car, but couldn't afford the one I dream. so we decide to get myvi premium coz it has abs and airbag. at least I would feel secure in the car compare to the iswara that I'm driving now.

You would because the Iswara is a design so old, I believe Hang Tuah had one. Safety back then just wasn't an issue. I'm sure it has crumple zones, but that would include the part where you are in as well.

well toking bout safety i belief pero2 does take the effort to build a car which comes with abs n airbag .... where ploton tok more bout how good is their handling.... come on pls wat can a 1,2 liter car can offfer in handling....

But they don't comes as standard and that is what bugs me. What? Just because I don't earn as much my life is less important? ABS and airbags should be as standard as your CD player and air conditioning and alarm system.

si|verfish said:
But they don't comes as standard and that is what bugs me. What? Just because I don't earn as much my life is less important? ABS and airbags should be as standard as your CD player and air conditioning and alarm system.

well is very hard for me as a consumer to answer this... but in another point of view at least they offer airbag n abs as optional where savvy are not? i using the 04 model of kembara which comes with this 2 life saver gadget... but so far i dun see much ppl getting this model of kembara... mayb of the price i think...

anyway if i not wrong... gvt did wan to implement tat all manufacturer must make airabg n abs come as standard ...but dun know this 2 local dun take the effort... or shud i said one of them coming out with crap model wat built for tough lotus this n tat.... so silverfish....is very hard to get to know y the abs n airbag are not standard.... for our local car... sorry if i offense u dun flame me ok... cheer

another thing i was wondering y plotong can opt engine from renault y they dun opt the abs n airbag tooo????

What Proton is putting as their criteria (in thinking what the target wants):
1) tough built; associate to euro cars = perceive to be 'better built'
2) Hnadles well; better than cars of its class
3) Avant garde design
4) space age design??
5) value for money??

evo4g63 said:
another thing i was wondering y plotong can opt engine from renault y they dun opt the abs n airbag tooo????

Talking about ABS, i have once seen a Proton mechanic guy in my area(Kota Kemuning) driving my mum's Naza Ria(comes with ABS and air bags as stock). After one or two rounds he stopped and commented saying that the brake system is faulty because when he wants to do emergency brake, the car still moves....recommended my mum to change brake pads and stuff.......

Is it my understanding is wrong but i thought that ABS system is supposed to react in such a way.....

About airbags, i guess Proton will have optional airbag fittings classified under R3 performance products--"Racing Spec Airbags----decorated with big a$$ R3 logo" for discerning drivers to purchase and install later. I think this is also a way for Proton to make more money.

Read my earlier post on how the Renault engine is either a screw-up and afterthought on Proton's part OR it is a bloody scheme involving cost cutting.

si|verfish said:
Read my earlier post on how the Renault engine is either a screw-up and afterthought on Proton's part OR it is a bloody scheme involving cost cutting.

but in the F1 circuit, renault engine beats ferrari... :D