savvy vs myvi

airbags are todays technology of improving safety but it not foolproof.
One must not fall into the lull feeling of security (driving without seat-belts and all). Maybe it is too much cost to proton to fit an airbag as standard or as an option but proton is too thick headed and what to go it alone.

The sad fact is proton thinks they are listening to consumers view of lack faith on proton (of items disscussed in all walks) , AND are addressing it wrongly.

I would dread the excuse when Savvy fails. "We did this for the malaysian consumers and they still dont support because of bias of Local versus imports"

hey fellas.. rilex la, we need to think positive here.. maybe all of you were right but at least proton try to compete with others manufactures which their always lunch a new model... maybe the proton QC still the same but i think maybe got management prob in proton it self which proton cannot 'rugi' each time their lunch their new model, but for produa still for me is better then proton which less comment on their car....

ok, i'm not savvy or myvi vote, but i'm also use national car that has been last for 9 yaers... but dont all of you feel sad for proton which their cannot compete even with perodua they lost, how to compete at international level....

yes, true we need to backup our national cars but bcoz of this too proton take it easy which they say 'Sure malaysian buy proton bcoz it's cheaper n easy to get loan'... i think proton cannot improve if thier leader still think like this... what happend to thier slogant 'Dare to be different' if i'm not mistaken...

and one more, toyota is number 2 world ranking in selling thier cars.. for number one i think GMC if i'm not mistaken...

this just my opinion, if i've said it wrong just say it, i also wanna hear it.. k.. heheh

koolspyda said:
airbags are todays technology of improving safety but it not foolproof.
One must not fall into the lull feeling of security (driving without seat-belts and all). Maybe it is too much cost to proton to fit an airbag as standard or as an option but proton is too thick headed and what to go it alone.

The sad fact is proton thinks they are listening to consumers view of lack faith on proton (of items disscussed in all walks) , AND are addressing it wrongly.

I would dread the excuse when Savvy fails. "We did this for the malaysian consumers and they still dont support because of bias of Local versus imports"

airbag can be also a problem, sometimes if u hv minor accident , the airbag blast out n hit ur face....very painful.

Don't miss the point guys. I'm not focussing on airbags or ABS for that matter by itself. I'm talking about safety as a whole. And in general, Malaysian cars suck at safety. Both passive AND active safety.

Please test drive both car first,

i strongly vote for SAVVY. the strong chasis frame like a wira that installed sets of fender bar, rear 4 point bar. cornering stiff and engine respond is much better then myvi.

why a small car weight is more then 900kg+? open up the door pannel and look at the chasis frame. that why savvy have better safety and handling then myvi.

thats will be right as they claim on paper n iklan there .. but wait till the owner use n conent.. cause its use renault njin .. hope the tiara story wont return if return hmmm thats bad

drifterzzz is right, for those racer who know chasis tuning and engineering will understand the advantages of savvy vs myvi.
savvy will smoke myvi, the interial seat is better then myvi. myvi seat is uncle seat that look like kancil.

savvy VS myvi
-track = savvy
-safety= savvy
-size = myvi
-look = ? depend ur test

yup thats right .. but we just wait n c .. causeall proton has has atrade mark mer ...
broken sana broken sini .. ...

si|verfish said:
Don't miss the point guys. I'm not focussing on airbags or ABS for that matter by itself. I'm talking about safety as a whole. And in general, Malaysian cars suck at safety. Both passive AND active safety.

a strong passenger cell is still more important than an airbag, and ABS in my opinion.

Even with airbags..passive safety..etc.. if the passenger cell is crushed on impact, airbags arent going to help much.

if i'm not mistaken, the higher spec savvy will have bags..also, the current 3 star NCAP crash test is decent for a car it's size.

at least the savvy is better sorted out than the gen2 on launch.

on the 1st week of MYVI launch, perodua recive 21k bookings.

Proton so far is still below the 1000 mark after 5days.

ppl perceived better for mYVI than savvy...

gary said:
a strong passenger cell is still more important than an airbag, and ABS in my opinion.

Even with airbags..passive safety..etc.. if the passenger cell is crushed on impact, airbags arent going to help much.

if i'm not mistaken, the higher spec savvy will have bags..also, the current 3 star NCAP crash test is decent for a car it's size.

at least the savvy is better sorted out than the gen2 on launch.

Ahem. Active safety is what keeps you out of trouble and passive safety is what keeps you safe when trouble happens. A strong passenger cell IS passive safety. And if you'd notice I wasn't directing those safety comments on the Savvy or Myvi. I was speaking about M'sian cars in general.

And that 3 star EuroNCAP rating is only an estimation by Proton. The Savvy has yet to be tested by EuroNCAP. So don't be so quick to believe all the marketing crap. And newer cars of this type are all getting 4 stars. Only the older ones get 3. In fact a certain Renault Modus got 5 stars. If Proton wants to be a world beater they have to be good, period. Not just good for a certain standard.

The Citroen C1 got 4 stars. The Toyota Aygo, which is basically the same car as the C1, is another car jointly developed by Toyota with other manufacturers. Now, I'm not sure how safe the Boon/Passo/Myvi platform is because EuroNCAP haven't tested it, but I'm rather optimistic it will be good judging from the previous piece of fact.

the savvy ads tipu orang ka.... before i saw it said 30000nm/kg or something like that...

now its only 17000 on the website... thats nearly half of difference weii..

haha... i dunno ler..... frankly the thought of not having airbags... and a smaller engine then the myvi... and maintainence will put me off from buying the savvy...

HEHE... i hope they feature this cars on top gear... i wanna see how both of them kena tembak ;)

johndoe said:
on the 1st week of MYVI launch, perodua recive 21k bookings.
Proton so far is still below the 1000 mark after 5days.
ppl perceived better for mYVI than savvy...

Like i said,MyVi and Savvy ARE for two different markets.

Enthusiast VS Mr everyday joe.

Mr Everydays joe wants :
1) My first car must be value for money (looks, FC)
2) My car must be spacious
3) MY car must be lookin chic against others in the same class
(so what if it does look like a ferrari, at least it up to date)
4) My car must be value for money
5) Handling? well as long it does roll over a big drain. it will be a bonus but i dont think a 1.3 car would fly anyway.

Mr Enthusiast demands ;
1) tough built; associate to euro cars = perceive to be 'better built'
2) Handles well; better than cars of its class (probably in my mind 50% closer to lotus)
3) Avant garde design

Why do you think 'boring' Yotas are surging ahead in sales?
Boring because the make reliable cars. boring because the are willing to offer safety as a high criteria. boring because they offer 'VVTi' instead of 'VTEC' (figuratively speaking) across their platform where they think majority of buyers prefer Fuel efficiency over outright power.

THe bigger market in small car category are the guys who are accountants, sales people, fresh employees in job market, young families.

THe enthusiast are there but in smaller numbers. Just look at the participation of chaps in the local autocrosses, motorsports. A handful.

BUT

THere could be silver lining for proton. The enthusiast drivers out there gets their compact car 'dream', and out right mod the hell with go fast and blings ~

For survival of long term proton, they need a hit. something to show proton CAN make good cars. SAvvy isnt the one to show confidence. (in sales)

It more like a miscalculated chess pawn

Maybe proton 'did' get it right in building a tough SAvvy. It's the marketing strategy thats seems wrong. ++see above quote on sales between the two++

even the airbag burst out in a minor colusion is still okie ur face is painful but u r protected... at least there are something tat protect our human body instead of straight away see the besi or glasses come to u ... yes mayb savvy is really meet wat euro ncap... nescaffe nestum... or wat so ever... but guys do you see the test infront of ur eyes??? me not seein the test tooo... is not wrong tat we emphasize on airbag n abs to b comes as standard... even how tough is the car is it will still smash to pieces ford ranger oso built for tough but y there are still ford cars that total lost in accident??? .. sorry if my comment is unacceptable but at least i driving which is having both airbag n abs... n i feel safer

n if i m proton i will not b so stupid just to built a 1,2 liter car for motorsport purpose while my product line for other segment of market is dropping due to competition from abroad car maker such as hyundai or even pero2....

7jz said:
say bullshit to myvi

i ask you all who are the leader in F1 now.it's renault right,so think wisely la before kutuk protong.

and let me ask u what car won WRC last year? it's citroen, same manufacturer for AX aka tiara, does that make the tiara a world rally car? i think u r among the majority who says that proton models after waja is an in-house design :rolleyes:

koolspyda said:

Dude, if they wanted to target the enthusiasts as you say, why not just go ahead and make a hot version straight away, like a GTI or R3 version? Why bother with the basic run of the mill version.

The Renault Clio is a normal, small, practical hatch that your granny can use to go to the market. The Renault Clio 182 on the other hand is for the enthusiasts. So, the basic Savvy should fulfil "Mr Everyday Joe's" needs, as you say, instead of "Mr Enthusiast" as you say.

Furthermore, I'm not sure "Mr Enthusiast" is going to like the 1.2 Renault engine pretty much. Hot hatches with GOOD handling should have potent powerplants. And judging by Proton's comment that they couldn't get a 1.3 Campro in the engine bay, I doubt they could do anything about that either.

In other words, the Savvy is pointless. "My first LOTUS" my anus.

There is no 100% safe car la, of course there is merit for car with air bag and abs but still depend on owners know how to fully manipulate its function. Take abs as example, driver must rely on the abs to do the braking in case of emergency stopping, but some driver still swerve off the road and bang some where. Some time it's very much depend.

Tested driving savvy, the test driver whacked the car like hell. Went into bumpy road, hard cornering, swerved here and there, went over bumpy and jumpy road in high speed corner and the car still in control, no tyre screeching noise. Suspension does its job in the bumpy road though. What i feel when driving is not like driving a k-car especially cornering, can feel the body is much less flexing as compared to most proton car, and solid i think. Power wise, there is plenty of torque for normal driving la. But the idea of reverse gear at the 1st gear location (like volvo) is so unfamiliar and switch on the wiper when signalling...hmmm engine sound also quite loud. Going to test drive myvi very soon, see how things go.