Radiator water decreassing .

hmmmm theres once that my water pump oso kong edi,but it spray alot of water out if the water is hot,can see fountain of youth lol
maybe u check and see if theres any water coming out of the water pump,water jacket,and thermostat area,
cos once my water pump kong the other 2 oso follow kong

G_ti said:
My GTI's radiator water always decreassing . I have checked with few mechanics and they can't find any leakage . Futher more different mechanics telling different stories . Latest 1 , asked me to change the water pump .

Anyone , had experienced this b4 or have any idea . I don't want to throw away my money by just doing unreleven experiments .

Pls advise , i much more believe you guys rather then mechanics . Where do i start ??:emoticon_U: :emoticon_U:

What about radiator water wasnt leaked outside the engine but inside the engine? Thats explain why u cant see any mark of water outside the radiator unit.. Have u change u engine oil lately? does the engine oil bubbling coz had mixed with water?
Ur radiator water seem discreasing very significant. Evaporation? impossible! Check ur engine oil imediately!:mouth_closed:

nitrus : NO is the most simple answer, cooling system is a closed system and therefore coolant loss is a sign of problems. my car and my dad's unser havent had any coolant lost.

IF there is coolant loos and there isnt any leakage in the pipes, then there r mostly 2 posibilities:

(1) ur radiator cap is farked, its not holding the pressure like its supposed to. there r theories behind its function, iam just too lazy to type it out, google for it guys

(2) ur head gasket is leaking coolant out of its system, and may end up in ur lubricating system ie oil pan. check ur oil cap and look for sumthing dat looks like.. foamy (?) susbstance underneath it, white-ish in colour. whattheheck, its appearance doesnt look like oil ler, senang.

keep us updated

xtremeleo : thanks sifo for the reply .. Well, it only lost like 1 - 1.5cm of coolant after like 24,000km .. Is that not normal too? It's quite a long time.. I'm gonna service it soon tho heheh..

Last time when i juz got the car the radiator area had green dried stuffs along the edges, and they change the radiator cap and it was all good already till now :regular_smile: yeah, Proton.. heheh..

What do u think bro?

Additional edit: I juz checked my coolant tank again this morning, it went down by like 1 cm again ... I have been topping up a little with water lately whenever it goes down a little .. Today it went down again.. Is this normal?

I wonder will servicing the coolant/radiator make this ok?

starting the engine wihtout the radiator cap & water fountain out is a sign of gasket kong oledy..but it there is a slight leak in gasket or head bengkok...the
water will not fountain out....i had the same prob once...had to replace gasket &
skim the head coz bengkok

putra4767 said:
starting the engine wihtout the radiator cap & water fountain out is a sign of gasket kong oledy..but it there is a slight leak in gasket or head bengkok...the
water will not fountain out....i had the same prob once...had to replace gasket &
skim the head coz bengkok

If slight leak in the gasket, is it a must to change the gasket immediately?

nitrus, as i said, coolant level shudnt be decreasing as cooling system is a closed system. my dad's unser coolant level hasnt had any decrement (is dis even a correct word? lol) since the last 140,000 km. if u see green coolant (coolant is given flourecent colour to make it easy for us to identify leakage, easy ya?) along d top side of ur radiator, den ur radiator cover mite be the dats farked up. most radiator cover r made of fiber, and as time pass by, they may farked up and make way for coolant to sip out. under high pressure environment, even hairline crack wud give u noticable amount of coolant lost.

what i told u previously was to check if there isnt any leakage, but as u posted dis new info about seeing coolant leak on top of ur radiator, i wud suggest u go to a good radiator shop and make a leak test to see if u need to change the radiator cover. if it has to be changed, den get an aluminium cover as dat wud be better in term of heat transfer and reliabilty. it wud cost more, but u'll have dat piece of mind when driving outta town. oh, and change ur radiator cap anyway, just to be sure k

andy_coupe said:
If slight leak in the gasket, is it a must to change the gasket immediately?

if ur head is the one dats frigging bengkok, den skim it a lil (make sure its as minimum as possible) and replace it complete wit a new head gasket, usually, under normal condition, head gasket doesnt leak, unless u have xtreme condition to fark it up. have ur engine ever overheated before?

head

head also tend to bengkok if you top up radiator water when radiator water level is very
low & heating...

always add water after engine cools down......

xtremeleo said:
if ur head is the one dats frigging bengkok, den skim it a lil (make sure its as minimum as possible) and replace it complete wit a new head gasket, usually, under normal condition, head gasket doesnt leak, unless u have xtreme condition to fark it up. have ur engine ever overheated before?

Engine's been in pretty good condition. Only recently the water pressure increase but after topping up the water every now and then, it has been okay (at less than half level). But I don't want to keep topping up water- I like to solve the matter once and for all. Do you think it may be a better idea to go back to Honda SC? Thx.

i have been following this thread for a long time, coz i had that problem either. i just sent my car for radiator service today and have solve it all.

water decreasing - u may have a leak i ur tank. don't try the "leak stop" liquid that can be found in shops. that thing only done more harm than good. it didn't completely seal ur radiator, in fact it may clogg ur radiator and making the water ran slowly and brings to second problem, water temp rise.

another culprit is faulty radiator cap. it should stay close at 0.9 bar. if it is faulty then hot water can go to the reservoir tank, still boiling, and evaporate trough the escape hole. this is true.

one thing, have ur radiator checked for leaks, it may leak at the fins, or at the upper plastic cover.

today i went for radiator service, turns out that i have it all, leaks, faulty cap and clogging. did the manual unclogging for rm40, new cap for rm 20, and new hose coz the old one harden already.

my 2 cent, don't use leak stop, check ur cap and don't drive if the meter goes red.

luckily i didn't have complications such as fauly water pump or thermostat

Hi bros... just received a call from Honda SC earlier. Got 'em to change my semi-sync oil and all that servicing... AND more importantly, find out the prob of the water decreasing. Hehe, and guess what- it was a leaking rubber hose!

They don't have the hose so asked me to source outside from any spare parts shop. Thank goodness I didn take the earlier mechanic's advice earlier to change all my water pump and gasket set at more than RM1k!

I'm probably looking at a cost of RM50 or below for this replacement :) Anyone knows where I can get hoses and such? Thx

Happened to me, first the radiator level would drop every week,after a few months every couple of days water would reduce,a few months then vapor would shoot out the reservoir tank after i drive the car. Sometimes My temperature would go crazy and rise for a couple of minutes and go back to normal again. Found out The problem was with my head gasket was faulty, did a top overhaul (new gasket , valve seal & radiator cap) After that everything was purr....fect again. No more problems...water level never dropped anymore. Pomen charge me RM800 for everything

I got same problem, water level drop, but no leakage, mech found out is the gasket leaking causing gas in water cooling system, forcing water to flow back in spare tank.

andy : this hose will set u back around RM30 kot, get a good quality unit bro. good to know u finally found the problem, it was a leak after all ya?