Proton Campro turbo engine by 2010-2011

Shanashi

Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin told the Oman Economic Review that Proton was developing a turbocharged engine set for introduction by the years 2010 to 2011, just in time for a facelift of the http://paultan.org/topics/proton-mpv-2009/ which could see the introduction of this turbocharged engine. The turbocharged engine would be in line with the current market trends of having a small displacement engine but forced inducted to produce the equivalent horsepower of a larger motor, usually with more torque, and more fuel efficiency. The engine will have the power output equivalent to a 2.0 liter engine. We could be looking at a 1.6 liter Campro turbo or Campro CPS turbo engine producing about 150 horsepower and perhaps 240Nm of torque.
Proton is also set to spend RM5 billion over the next 5 years on R&D efforts, which is about RM1 billion a year. Other efforts (as quoted in the report) include developing a small competitive [COLOR=#686868 ! important][COLOR=#686868 ! important]car[/COLOR][/COLOR], acquiring diesel engines licensed from an international OEM (Fiat? Peugeot?) because of their popularity in markets such as India, hybrid and electric technologies, the possibility of a joint model with Lotus (spiritual successor to the Lotus Carlton based on a Proton maybe?), and the reduction of weight of Proton models.

Source: paultan.org

wat do u guyz think....discuss

all ready stated paultan.org there bro, u got read all the way or not? hehehe anyway looking foward to hope it will be ok coz campro engine is known for its lack of power and torque

screw tht if performance good sure will sell like goreng pisang panas nowadays, can beat honda city n vios is good di 9or on par level), screw safety also, we malaysian driver are daredevil ( example is mat rempit) minor cut n bruises are good for life lesson :nurse: hahaha hidup proton!!

(but i so work out even i drive pajero as daily workhorse, but if proton have tht car i buy 1 for my weekend and sprirted drive, hope it is rwd also :rofl: can drift)

i wonder if ever........i mean EVER.....proton does come out with a relatively priced, turbocharged, RWD car.....i bet it would sell faster than the hot steaming karipaps

Then half-cut shop "selling engine convertion for most proton" shop can close already loh..

no la still got other ppl use nissan n toyota what

Bump: no la still got other ppl use nissan n toyota what

they can still get spare part wht coz wira n waja owner still got