Remember the proton E01W Engine?

hornydrifter

Guys..do you remember the Proton prototype engine E01w engine that is in the f-1 marsyall satria Gti wayyy back in 1999? it's onli 6 ever produced..the spec is 1999cc dohc 16valve vvti!!! 210bhp@7800 and 22.5kg/cm og torque!!!
wat hapen 2 those super duper sexy engine!!? y arent proton dun want 2 make production of that engine? YY god YY!!:cry_smile: .and y is there no back up stories of that engine and feature of that engine...i tink most malaysian
forget bout that engine...wat hapen? Y? is there any prob? cuz if i not mistaken..i saw the marsyall Gti the other day...and god DAMN!! it is fast!
VERY VERY NICE INDUCTION NOISE!!! E01W...the myth.....

hornydrifter,

you get too horny. PROTON only know to produce CAMPRO engine without Cam Profiling.

the E01e Engine is workdone of PETRONAS. Dun mix up with the all the "P" :)
there is a thread in ZTH that we discuss about the engine
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=45261&highlight=E01e

It was developed by Petronas... nothing from Proton at all. Sadly, Proton decided to take the clone 4G92 option, the Campro.

hornydrifter said:
Guys..do you remember the Proton prototype engine E01w engine that is in the f-1 marsyall satria Gti wayyy back in 1999? it's onli 6 ever produced..the spec is 1999cc dohc 16valve vvti!!! 210bhp@7800 and 22.5kg/cm og torque!!!
wat hapen 2 those super duper sexy engine!!? y arent proton dun want 2 make production of that engine? YY god YY!!:cry_smile: .and y is there no back up stories of that engine and feature of that engine...i tink most malaysian
forget bout that engine...wat hapen? Y? is there any prob? cuz if i not mistaken..i saw the marsyall Gti the other day...and god DAMN!! it is fast!
VERY VERY NICE INDUCTION NOISE!!! E01W...the myth.....

acbc said:
It was developed by Petronas... nothing from Proton at all. Sadly, Proton decided to take the clone 4G92 option, the Campro.

campro is NOT based on the 4g92. if it is, then i'll be the person who would praise it day and night!

it is based on the block of the 4g18 engine in the waja, which in turn is a stroked up version of the 4g15 first seen in the saga magma.

alexz,
Huh? So technical la. I thought CamPro has something to do with cam timing or something like that? Does it mean they modify the 4g15 engine block to become a 4g18 block?

Okie the lowdown on campro engine.

It is basically a 4g18 1.6 block mated to a DOHC head designed by Lotus and build partly by Perodua!

The 4g18 is a stroked up 1.5 4g15. Its from the same family of engine (like 4g92 similar to 4g93 lah). So the difference between those two is the stroke of the engine (crankshaft mostly). Oh the 4g18 has a 16valve SOHC head compared to the 12valve 4g15 in a saga (but there are 16valve 4g15 in other cars including the 4g15 MIVEC in the mitsu colt CZ and the Smart ForFour.)

campro engine based on 4G18? no laa..i dont think so.

campro engine (designated S4PH for 1.6, S4PE for 1.3) has 1597 cubic centimetre.

4G18 has 1584cc. the block design is complete different. in fact, there is nothing that both engines shares except maybe, engine oil.

one more thing to note, 4G18 engine number can be seen below exhaust manifold. for S4PH its completely hidden from our eyeview.

comon guys, engines are actually not difficult to design and built. but the real painstakings are these 2 criterias :

a) reliability (wear and tear, resistant against rust, warping, deformation, twist)
b) engine performance (power output, torque band, economy, noise and sound emission, NVH, heat efficiency)