Power amp settings

calvinhpk said:
for component set.....you need to set high pass around 60Hz and above.....
they can't play that low frequency....that's a sub's job below 60hz
i just know there are switches for preamp to adjust the settings....is it i adjust as u mentioned Hz, the preamp will automatically delivery the freq to mid and sub....meaning low to sub, high to tweeter and mid? sorry if it is a stupid question...

ksgoh said:
i just know there are switches for preamp to adjust the settings....is it i adjust as u mentioned Hz, the preamp will automatically delivery the freq to mid and sub....meaning low to sub, high to tweeter and mid? sorry if it is a stupid question...
that thing in your pre-amp i think are the boost frequency.
you need crossover to cut the frequency

ksgoh said:
ohh...this is a problem for me, because my xover is installed inside 'door cover'..actually what is the different of -3, 0, 3db? is that really important for expert?

A passive crossover normally have a input and 2 outputs, which 1 is for midbass and 1 for tweeter, some of them may have 1 more output on the Passive XO, which is -3db. This is used when we don't want the tweeter to be high pitch. Is not for expert like what you say. Since the PXO is installed inside and assuming that you don't know how to remove it, you have to reduce the treble on your pre-amp or HU's setting if the tweeter sound too sharp. As said earlier, all your amp and pre-amp sttings on treble, mid and bass put to minimum first, then only increase it slowly until your taste. It will be time consuming, but what to do? Go to shop means you have to pay for the workmanship. You can ask a friend to help abit.

the -3db, 0 db and +3db is attenuation, or in layman's word loudness level. if u want it less u try 0, or -3. if its not enough try at +3db

the pre-amp eq is to boost or cut the sound, which makes it become -6db to +6db (depend on the eq lah, sometimes -12 to +12), some dont even have cut, just boost only. so if its too much, u lower the level, if its not enough u increase it.

calvinhpk said:
that thing in your pre-amp i think are the boost frequency.
you need crossover to cut the frequency
u mean i should install a active crossover? because i have no switch to adjust on my passive xover......

kyheng said:
A passive crossover normally have a input and 2 outputs, which 1 is for midbass and 1 for tweeter, some of them may have 1 more output on the Passive XO, which is -3db. This is used when we don't want the tweeter to be high pitch. Is not for expert like what you say. Since the PXO is installed inside and assuming that you don't know how to remove it, you have to reduce the treble on your pre-amp or HU's setting if the tweeter sound too sharp. As said earlier, all your amp and pre-amp sttings on treble, mid and bass put to minimum first, then only increase it slowly until your taste. It will be time consuming, but what to do? Go to shop means you have to pay for the workmanship. You can ask a friend to help abit.
i not really can recall how many output do my pxover have.....as u said, i think i have to do a hard study on my settings first before go for a shop....anyway, a big thank to u too....

Zenn said:
the -3db, 0 db and +3db is attenuation, or in layman's word loudness level. if u want it less u try 0, or -3. if its not enough try at +3db

the pre-amp eq is to boost or cut the sound, which makes it become -6db to +6db (depend on the eq lah, sometimes -12 to +12), some dont even have cut, just boost only. so if its too much, u lower the level, if its not enough u increase it.
that one i really dunno....should i give u a photo for my preamp....dunno what is the brand, even i cannot read the brand....but costed me nearly RM300

this maybe a wild guess but from the pix, it looks like a cheap EQ. Looks like u paid too much for it.

u have to check the knob's adjustment units, if the knob is for equaliser boost/cut it will state for eg) 120Hz -6d to +6db
if it can adjust frequency like a crossover it will state the units as 50Hz to 100Hz for example.

Kippo said:
this maybe a wild guess but from the pix, it looks like a cheap EQ. Looks like u paid too much for it.
haha...sorry sorry....i also dunno the pic is so blur (using my fren's webcam to capture 1).....kena tipu?? but the shopper said it is a good eq....i also a bit regret after purchased it.....

Zenn said:
u have to check the knob's adjustment units, if the knob is for equaliser boost/cut it will state for eg) 120Hz -6d to +6db
if it can adjust frequency like a crossover it will state the units as 50Hz to 100Hz for example.
if not mistaken, first knob is volume control, second button is mode (never use), third knob is fade (adjust to balance of min and max), forth knob is bass boost (adjust to min), fifth knob is freq (adjust to min), sixth knob is bass (adjust to min), seventh knob is low (adjust to min), eighth is mid (adjust to min), last knob is high is (adjust to min)