Amp advice...

jaley

Got 1pcs of Helix W12 competition.
Need advice from all sifus on the best amp to drive this sub (SQ setup).
Budget below rm1.5K.

Thanks in advance.

One acc shop intro me Steg Qmos II 120.2 at rm1.6k including installation. Some friend said helix amp is the best for helix sub....but it out of my budget. Maybe some one here have a good experience with another brand of amp that really match with this sub within the same range of price...

Jaley, izso have 2 Orion HCCA amp for sale :-

1) Orion HCCA250 G4 = 2) Orion HCCA250 G5 =
Orion HCCA amp suitable for any sub coz this amp can drive until 2 X 400rms @ 0.5ohm or 1 X 800rms @ 1ohm, this amp very difficult to get right now & the price within your budget... If I did not mod my car I will take & keep it for future upgrade..

his helix w12 can go to 0.5ohm meh...???? hehehe...

i also not sure but i think its svc 4ohm sub only. so a bridged stereo amp would be better, like that steg. or if not ask bert or mike for a helix amp la, they have other 2ch amps too i think that can do the job.

Just my advise, for future upgrade not need to change sub amp & save money.. can spend it to others good stuff like good comp, HU or 4ch amp..

rather than worrying about what amp, you should be more concerned on the sub-box install to get good SQ.
Amp will determine of the SPL of the sub i.e powerful amp can push more hence louder.

oldskolboyz said:
Jaley, izso have 2 Orion HCCA amp for sale :-

1) Orion HCCA250 G4 = 2) Orion HCCA250 G5 =
Orion HCCA amp suitable for any sub coz this amp can drive until 2 X 400rms @ 0.5ohm or 1 X 800rms @ 1ohm, this amp very difficult to get right now & the price within your budget... If I did not mod my car I will take & keep it for future upgrade..

Thanks bro :_: I was just about to promote myself then I saw your post. If I do sell this amp (either one) then I'll belanja you teh ais and nasi lemak man

Jaley, the Orion HCCA is the ultimate amp for your sub to run SQ songs. If you wanna hear what it sounds like, I have it hooked up to a JL sub currently running at 2ohms. PM me or something la!

the W12 is good for SQ setup, the amp you needed probably under 400W enough, the helix B2 precision is suitable for you if your sub can wired to 4 ohm, last time people is selling for RM1700, not sure still available or not

oldskolboyz said:
Just my advise, for future upgrade not need to change sub amp & save money.. can spend it to others good stuff like good comp, HU or 4ch amp..

Hi all,

Thanks for the advice..

Now using an old Alpine cda9815 with focal polyglass drive by steg Qmos II 75.2 for the front. So far satisfied with the sound produced, just need more bass...

Any one here have experience with Pheonix Gold Titanium 600.2....can it be matched with helix W12 to get good SQ setup??
PG seem more into SPL for me....correct me if i am wrong. Me still new to ICE....

Consider the Orion also.....just need more time to study it.....:regular_smile:

jaley said:
Hi all,

Thanks for the advice..

Now using an old Alpine cda9815 with focal polyglass drive by steg Qmos II 75.2 for the front. So far satisfied with the sound produced, just need more bass...

QUOTE]

Jaley, U get good 2ch oledi but for me U just wasted money for future upgrade... let said if U like to run in full active ... U need another 2ch amp... I did know why U take 2ch instead 4ch..??????... 3way Full active need 1 4ch & 1 2ch amp ... now U need 3 2ch amp to run 3way Full active... to maximise your invest in ICE... U just have 1 choice... upgrade it to 4way ICe system... 9815 still the best in it range...

jaley said:
Hi all,

Thanks for the advice..

Any one here have experience with Pheonix Gold Titanium 600.2....can it be matched with helix W12 to get good SQ setup??
PG seem more into SPL for me....correct me if i am wrong. Me still new to ICE....

Consider the Orion also.....just need more time to study it.....:regular_smile:

i from PG also..........SQ setup tooo....PM me ur contact or ur msn...we come out TT

Zenn, izso, minTze , calvinpk, tohsan and and...etc......too many tai taikor liao

sorry jump topic/ oldskolboyz taikor if ur setup take away the EQT really can feel the diff alot? EQT is 30band?

The Helix W12 is a 4ohm SVC sub.

Get a good 2channel amp, bridged with power around 400W and above....should be good enuf.
If not mistaken, the required sub box is around 1.2cuft sealed.
Check with sifu mnkh0027 or Bert, they have this sub details.

The Helix B2 bridged can give you 400W..... good enuf.....
Go to www.mycarhifi.com and look for the person name muylip...... i think he's got 1 for sale....and i think still for sale..... you go PM him for details

Move NRF said:
sorry jump topic/ oldskolboyz taikor if ur setup take away the EQT really can feel the diff alot? EQT is 30band?

Yup u right, the diff on tonality make more natural but need 2 set.. 1 for right & 1 for left coz EQT is mono.. just have 1 input & 1 output... more $$ & time to tune it ..

oldskolboyz said:
Yup u right, the diff on tonality make more natural but need 2 set.. 1 for right & 1 for left coz EQT is mono.. just have 1 input & 1 output... more $$ & time to tune it ..

HU built in EQ enuf to use ar?? 13band? Nowday audiocontrol got digital EQ DQXSa, DQT etc....more keat?

QUOTE]

Jaley, U get good 2ch oledi but for me U just wasted money for future upgrade... let said if U like to run in full active ... U need another 2ch amp... I did know why U take 2ch instead 4ch..??????... 3way Full active need 1 4ch & 1 2ch amp ... now U need 3 2ch amp to run 3way Full active... to maximise your invest in ICE... U just have 1 choice... upgrade it to 4way ICe system... 9815 still the best in it range...[/QUOTE]

Hehe...me low budget ICEers. Actually just only want a good entry level SQ setup to pleased my ears. A set of passive component at the front and 1pcs sub enuff for me...not going for active its to deep already.

u are right to get 4 ch amp save ur $$...but me just cannot buy all things in one shot. So, buy piece by piece when the $$:regular_smile:

calvinhpk said:
The Helix W12 is a 4ohm SVC sub.

Get a good 2channel amp, bridged with power around 400W and above....should be good enuf.
If not mistaken, the required sub box is around 1.2cuft sealed.
Check with sifu mnkh0027 or Bert, they have this sub details.

The Helix B2 bridged can give you 400W..... good enuf.....
Go to www.mycarhifi.com and look for the person name muylip...... i think he's got 1 for sale....and i think still for sale..... you go PM him for details

Yeah, B2 is just nice to power your sub, if you choose the PG ti it will be a bit over, not say cannot lah, if the price around there then go for helix loh