Q

ProPower

Greeting All ICE Sifus,

I'm kind of new in the ICE World and currently I'm just into it. I'm looking for some advice from ya all sifus out there. Ok, currently in my car I have a set of 4pcs Mohawk 6" in it, which sound good on the low end but wish to put in 2 pcs of 12" sub and amp 2 drive my sub into it. I have been searching around and a lot of this accessories shop recommending me a lot of other brand that I have not heard before. So far the only one recommended by a friend of mine was to use a Kicker woofer and prokick amp to drive those subs. It gives really a superb bass on those combinations, how true is that? I'm not sure. I hope ya ICE Sifus can give me some advice and recommendation on this, please.

Bro, we have seen these type of questions at least 5 times every other month.. :D The answer is always the same :

Go listen to an existing setup yourself.. and choose what you like best before you buy.

I personally like Peerless, Helix, IDMax, Seas Lotus and my very own Blaupunkt Velocity in a Sealed enclosure. Nice controlled sub bass and not SPL. Kicker is very well known for it's SPL capabilities. Choose what you like, buy what you enjoy.

Ditto!

You know how much you are willing to spend on the sub and amp. With that, go to the installers and ask them what they have to offer(ofcoz dont tell them your ceiling la) andif the price is right, ask for a demo. If you can, go for known brands, at least those you have heard of before, there are many exotic brands out there, some that really are good and are priced high, and other thats are priced low but sound exotic...lol....

If your ears like em, buy em....

i think the Blau velocity sub is meant for SPL also. Why go for kicker?
go Adire Shiva would be nice, IDmax is expensive, seas is expensive. DLS sub is ok.

appleyard : yeah well.. velocity range is quite high powered and if in a proper sealed box.. can produce quite nice bass.. 30hz lowest.. not very low but heck.. good enuff for a nice back massage :D

kicker comp o comp vr wit prokick dg1200 can blow ur hairs up...hhehehehe
but the 1st thing is...wat kind of setup u like?

sound quality o SPL sound pressure level(char kei)

Prokick DG1200 how much ah? Can it go 4ohm or 8ohms?

ProPower,
if u intend to use 2 12" sub, it can b u r going 4 power.. for power, its not really critical wht brand u choose unless u wanna hit high spl readings.. the brand u choose depends on budget.. for SQ, then its critical to choose sub with better handling capability, and u dun really need 2 sub..
listening to other car setup can give an idea how it sounded like but it does not mean it'll sound the same in your ride...
also, sub well known for spl can also play sq type of setup..
installers normally carry certain brands, go visit a few, maybe find 1 with lotsa choices, then can decide easily.. & u'll also need good enclosure :smile:

Write your reply...