Advise needed for FULL ICE setup on a car

CelicaIzPower

Let me be frank. i know nut shots about ICE, but i'm good in HTSystems. need advise from you all guru's here how to setup a decent good enough to use system with good bass in my celica st 185.

This is my original plan.

Player = Brother's USB MP3/CD/VCD Player.
Front Tweeters = Kickers / Kenwood.
Front Speakers = 4 - 6.5" / Sony / Kenwood.
Rear = 4 way 6x9 Kenwood / 3 way 6x9 Sony / would you recommend a full set?
Sub = 8" X 2 Mohawk Subbies attach to the rear board / 1 x 10" Mohawk Sub.

Amp's = Please recommend, i really dunno anything about this... why do they have 4 channel, 2 channel?

and a final rough figure on how much it will cost. or best recommend what you think is good.

I'm a type of person that listens to slow rock and some R&B. type's of songs?

Black Eye Peas - Where is the love.
Too Phat - Alhamdullilah
Peterpan - Mungkin Nanti
Eric Clapton - Tears in heaven.
Eagles - Hotel california.

If i were to use winamp. i will select the preload as "Full base and terble".

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Zackery

use 2x 10" will be nice
forget about 6x9, since u wan to add 10" then dun use any 6x9..
front and rear directly use component set..

so here:
front comp set
back comp set
back 2x10" sub
4ch amp for comp set
2ch amp for sub
1 player that suit ur budget..
maybe add 1 e-crossover too

for price, it is very depend on ur budget..better show ur budget..if ur budget quite low then no use if we suggest u comp set that worth 1k

as for the winamp setting, totally it's crap..winamp is the worst player i used..and the eq is suck..

Firstly, i would like to say Thank a bunch bro.

Budget is about RM 2.5K.

Please try to describe what "Comp set" means (eg. how many inch speakers). sorry for this. i'm really new into cars. before this me is biker. hehehehe :angel_smile:

regarding the crossover, where do we exactly put this? :shocked:

Regards,
Zackery

correct me if i'm wrong, if i have a 4 way 6x9 i should not install a sub?

eg

Tweeter's
front 6.5" 2 way
back 6x9 4 way

or?

Tweeter's
front 6.5" 2 way
back 6x9 4 way
sub 8" rear panel.

would this be a nice to use system? what would i be loosing? note that i dont like to have things in my trunk. i just prefer if i can mount 2 x 8" subbies on the rear panel. what say you all? can the panel at the rear hold the weight of the 8" sub?

CelicaIzPower said:

Let me be frank. i know nut shots about ICE, but i'm good in HTSystems. need advise from you all guru's here how to setup a decent good enough to use system with good bass in my celica st 185.

This is my original plan.

Player = Brother's USB MP3/CD/VCD Player.
Front Tweeters = Kickers / Kenwood.
Front Speakers = 4 - 6.5" / Sony / Kenwood.
Rear = 4 way 6x9 Kenwood / 3 way 6x9 Sony / would you recommend a full set?
Sub = 8" X 2 Mohawk Subbies attach to the rear board / 1 x 10" Mohawk Sub.

Amp's = Please recommend, i really dunno anything about this... why do they have 4 channel, 2 channel?

and a final rough figure on how much it will cost. or best recommend what you think is good.

I'm a type of person that listens to slow rock and some R&B. type's of songs?

Black Eye Peas - Where is the love.
Too Phat - Alhamdullilah
Peterpan - Mungkin Nanti
Eric Clapton - Tears in heaven.
Eagles - Hotel california.

If i were to use winamp. i will select the preload as "Full base and terble".

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Zackery

My 2 cents
Change the HU to better one - suggest eclipse
Get component speaker - DLS quite good one can get around RM 800
get 4 ch amp - Soundstream picasso 4 channel
keep the mohawk sub.

Anyway you are into HT if not a problem could you tell me your system set up (the HT one). This is because i am also seriously into HT & Home audio too.

One thing HT & Home Audio with Car audio is a bit different perspective. I know that cause I am into both now. Home & Car.

Fathi

.. dun mean to be nasty here
happy to c another icer putting an effort for music appreciation in da car
with the kind of setup u planned, i think u'll be changing it again, in a short time :shades_smile:

Pjam has a point. With RM2500 you won't be able to get much from the shops.

One of the best setup I can think of within a RM2500-30000 budget (not inclusive of installation) is as below:

RM2600
a/d/s/ 236is 6" component speakers
a/d/s/ 450.2 4-channel Amplifier (rated at 50w x 4 @ 4 ohms RMS)
12" Helix Deep Blue 12 Subwoofer

RM2700
Helix Dark Blue 4 4-channel Amplifier (rated at 60w x 4 @ 4 ohms RMS)
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=333
RM2800
DLS UR6s 6" component speakers

RM2900

celica isnt a large car, u dont need rear speakers. get a good front component set ( 1 set = 2 mids + 2 twts + 2 passive crossovers) a 4 channel amp and a single sub with box. that should be enough with 2.5k, your HU can change later on...which we strongly recommend, as it is the source unit, important to have a good one especially for songs like hotel california & tears in heaven...

if theres a TT soon just bring your cds and listen to them in other forummers cars so u can get a different view.

CelicaIzPower said:
Firstly, i would like to say Thank a bunch bro.

Budget is about RM 2.5K.

Please try to describe what "Comp set" means (eg. how many inch speakers). sorry for this. i'm really new into cars. before this me is biker. hehehehe :angel_smile:

regarding the crossover, where do we exactly put this? :shocked:

Regards,
Zackery

With this 2500 you cannot go far for it for some experts. Some cars ICE setup maybe cross to 20k. But if you spend it wisely you still can get a good one that suit your taste.

Hu with mp3 and 3 pre-outs : 600-750, Kenwood, Pioneer. Alpine or Eclispe will cost > 1000 and you budget sure will burst.
6.5 inch component : 300-400.
A 12" sub with box around 200 to 300 watt rms : 500-600
A 4 channel amp that can power a 12" sub will cost you >1000, so is better that get 2 amps : 700-800
RCA cables, power cables, fuse : 200-300
Pre-amp, no need as the HU have 3 pre-outs.

So the total will be 2400-3000, the component sets you can try on Lelong or ZTH ICE selling forum..

Good Day

On the other hand if you may, you could get used, promo, deal one if you source enough.

Fathi

Hi, I think you have chance to get good 4ch Amp for <RM1300. Just search ICE for sale forum.. there have 2 good amp up for sale;

1) Netken, Alipne MRV-F407 = <RM850
2) Suicide, Audio System F4-560 = <RM1300

fathi said:
My 2 cents
Change the HU to better one - suggest eclipse
Get component speaker - DLS quite good one can get around RM 800
get 4 ch amp - Soundstream picasso 4 channel
keep the mohawk sub.

Anyway you are into HT if not a problem could you tell me your system set up (the HT one). This is because i am also seriously into HT & Home audio too.

One thing HT & Home Audio with Car audio is a bit different perspective. I know that cause I am into both now. Home & Car.

Fathi

Hey,

I'm have 3 types of HTS at home.

1.> The Main one is a Sony 4040 HTS (Equipped with Equalizer) and a 12" Cerwin Wega SW-12B (For Computer) 5.1
2.> A normal Sony HiFi with Surround and Sony AMP. (For TV/DVD/CD) 4.0
3.> Sound Pro 5.1 left aside. dunno where to hook it up to yet.

yeah the home and car system is different. but i'm just looking for a enough to use system on the car. to me it's not worth to spend on a car system. as if you accident.. you rugi alot!!

Thanks for all your replies..

So, lemme get this straight the best and correct system to use for my car is a

1 x HU
1 x 4 Channel AMP
2 x Tweeter
2 x 6'5 2 channel?
2 x 6x9 3 or 4 way?

I was browsing thru brothers and saw a couple of stuffs what do you think about this setup?

Brothers USB/MP3/CD-Player
Alpine 1000W amp or Calibre 2000W amp?
Sony Tweeter
Kenwood 6'5 2 channel
Kenwood 4 channel 6x9

What say you? any recommendations on the speakers? and should i get a sub?

I think,
It would be better if the setup is
1 HU.
1 Amp (4 channel)
1 component set (comes with tweeters, passive x-o and mids)
1 pair 6 X 9.
If you do not have any concern on boot space, get a sub (10" or 12"), and no need for the 6x9. Limit the number of speakers so that you can buy better ones.
Quality is better than quantity.
Normally, if you have sub, no need for 6X9. unless you use passive x-o to block bass from the 6x9.

CelicaIzPower said:
Hey,

I'm have 3 types of HTS at home.

1.> The Main one is a Sony 4040 HTS (Equipped with Equalizer) and a 12" Cerwin Wega SW-12B (For Computer) 5.1
2.> A normal Sony HiFi with Surround and Sony AMP. (For TV/DVD/CD) 4.0
3.> Sound Pro 5.1 left aside. dunno where to hook it up to yet.

yeah the home and car system is different. but i'm just looking for a enough to use system on the car. to me it's not worth to spend on a car system. as if you accident.. you rugi alot!!

Top others sorry if this a little bit HT not car adio here

For HT I am using separate system
Processor Acurus ACT3
5 channel amp ATI1505
Speakers NHT & paradigm
Sub velodyne

Now my problem I need to repair my amp & Processor don't know where locally;

For Car audio better you follow Cacin advice, most audiophile have that set up,
HU. Comp (Front), amp & Sub - no 6x9

mnkh0027 said:
Pjam has a point. With RM2500 you won't be able to get much from the shops.

One of the best setup I can think of within a RM2500-30000 budget (not inclusive of installation) is as below:

RM2600

RM2700
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=333
RM2800

RM2900

celicaizpower

i think u shld listen to Mike advise, he is one of the good adviser for newbie so not u don't have to kena sotong by ice shop again n again!:regular_smile:

fathi said:
Top others sorry if this a little bit HT not car adio here

For HT I am using separate system
Processor Acurus ACT3
5 channel amp ATI1505
Speakers NHT & paradigm
Sub velodyne

Now my problem I need to repair my amp & Processor don't know where locally;

For Car audio better you follow Cacin advice, most audiophile have that set up,
HU. Comp (Front), amp & Sub - no 6x9

to repair your amp i would suggest a shop near pudu pasar. the guys there are cheap! neways it's near by pudu plaza along the shop lots. yellow board with red wordings. forgot the shop name.

Tohsan said:
celicaizpower

i think u shld listen to Mike advise, he is one of the good adviser for newbie so not u don't have to kena sotong by ice shop again n again!:regular_smile:

Yeah, that i can agree on. ICE shop tends to sotong us all. hahahaha.. but the saddest part yet to come. my car cannot go out from shop!! UWAAAAAAAAAAA!!! got some problem with the loan!! DAMN! anyway i'm really interested to see you guy's ICE setup. at least i have some inside out for my up comming car.

(Slight out of topic) Note : I submitted my form and pay slips on 20th december 2005. southern bank call me today and said the need the december pay slip. my GAWD what is wrong with this people!

off topic,
maybe, they want your pay slip for december means the salary you get for the month of december? Which normally people will get during early january. When you submit, maybe they take some time to review the application. When they were reviewing it, it was january? When did they call you? December or January?
Hope this clears your confusion.

CelicaIzPower said:
I was browsing thru brothers and saw a couple of stuffs what do you think about this setup?

Brothers USB/MP3/CD-Player
Alpine 1000W amp or Calibre 2000W amp?
Sony Tweeter
Kenwood 6'5 2 channel
Kenwood 4 channel 6x9

What say you? any recommendations on the speakers? and should i get a sub?

aiya brader pls la stay away from brothers, dowan u to regret later on....

hope u will go quality instead of quantity with your 2.5k. bcoz i only feel its enough for a good HU and comp set, for starters. later on can get 4ch amp and sub. pls no 6x9.

also another way to mount subs, if u want 2 x 8" maybe u can mount them in the rear side panels instead of rear shelf which isnt as strong.