Old cars may need compulsory check-ups

EG8

[size=+2]the star 9/7/2005
Old cars may need compulsory check-ups[/size]

SEREMBAN:
It will be compulsory for motorists to get their cars inspected after a certain period if the Government decides to take up a recent proposal by Puspakom (the computerised vehicle inspection centre).

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy said he had instructed the Road Transport Department to study the matter thoroughly before any decision is made.

“We have yet to fix a timeframe as we do not want a situation where we are forced to make a decision hastily,” he said yesterday.

“We will take into consideration all aspects, including technical, road safety and, more importantly, public interest,” he told reporters after launching the Puspakom centre of excellence and an additional inspection lane at its Seremban branch here.

“We are mindful of the proposal and will decide when the time is right,” he added.

Chan said the ministry welcomed a recent agreement by Puspakom and 16 financial institutions to get used cars sent for inspection first before the dealers are granted credit facilities.

He said the move would protect the interest of the people and ensure that such vehicles were in good condition and roadworthy.

On another matter, Chan said the security and safety of passengers at airports and seaports had always been a priority, and instructions to upgrade and improve security measures in these places were issued from time to time.

“We have been mindful of the safety of the people at the airports and seaports. “It is an ongoing process to maintain a high level of vigilance,” he said, when asked to comment on the deadly explosions that ripped through central London during early morning rush hour on Thursday.

Hmmm... wonder if its free. But if the charge is again on us... fark laaaa!!!! Then again, the charge will be on us, as usual. Diu!#%*%@$@$!

of course the fees will be imposed on us! haha... another way for the government to make money!

i wonder what will happen to the car is ift fails in the test? fmho most of the cars in malaysia's road are more than 5 years.

bugger...

“We will take into consideration all aspects, including technical, road safety and, more importantly, public interest,”

yeah rite

puspakom already full and jam now asking all old car need compulsory check-up? built 50 more puspakom baru cakap la...

WBH8668 said:
puspakom already full and jam now asking all old car need compulsory check-up? built 50 more puspakom baru cakap la...

with state of the art facilities but equipped with 3rd world mentality staffs, i wonder what will happen to Malaysia then?

I fully support this idea only if

1) The check-ups are done fairly and accordingly
2) Does not waste too much time(2hours for a check should be reasonable).
3) Reasonable pricing

Sigh... more 'under table money' for them... :(

i think its a good move to make it compulsary for cars, say after 10 years to undergo safety check. corruption aside, i've seen some really beat up car being driven on the road and let me tell you they're a real hazard on the road. these cars are driving like 40kmh on a busy 90kmh road and when u see it, it does look like the doors and bumpers are dropping off anytime soon. also, some of them break down at highways and major roads and it causes unnecessary jam. i like the idea of singaporean cars going for mandatory inspection and it makes sure that all cars are fit to be in the road.

good idea; they should make it compulsory for yearly checkups to be carried out on cars older than 3 years just like in the UK. you can catch faults that you never knew were there etc. of course, with corruption..... bah.

EG8 said:
with state of the art facilities but equipped with 3rd world mentality staffs, i wonder what will happen to Malaysia then?

dude, this is so true....

with under table money, old saga with big exhaust, turbo engine also can go on the road, dun worry. Can settle wan. All the want is money.

If compulsory... corrupt officers will require some 'payment' to pass your car... chicken and egg story like those back in driving school days.