Need Guide to boost 1 bar on L2s engine

flamming

Hi...i wanna boost around 1 bar on my l2s engine...so wat modification should i do in order to achieve 1bar boost safely without spoilt my engine in long term....

i didnt intend to drag, i jst street drive daily n ,modd it for hobby...

Hope u guys can help...

BTW, where can i get metal head gasket for L2s engine?

Hi...i wanna boost around 1 bar on my l2s engine...so wat modification should i do in order to achieve 1bar boost safely without spoilt my engine in long term....

i didnt intend to drag, i jst street drive daily n ,modd it for hobby...

Hope u guys can help...

BTW, where can i get metal head gasket for L2s engine?

Let us know what have u done so far..? Or u left everything stock..? Any BOV..?

I left it for stock .....BOV also didnt install....i wanna collect opinion 1st then consider wat to do ....but in my mind ....my aim is to boost for 1bar safely....any guide or what should i start modd wif ?

In that case, u might need the following...

1) Bigger injectors to prevent insufficient fuel in combustion chamber and prevent lean combustion.
2) BOV are optional. but I'm afraid stock/oem BIV(plastic type) may not be stroong enough to hold the stress and might fail.
3) Adjustable Fuel pressure regulator to increase the pressure in the fuel rail in order to supply sufficient pressure for a bigger capacity injectors.
4) A fuel pump that supplies suffficient flow rate for the bigger fuel injection.
5) The stock intercooler may not be efficient in cooling the bigger mass of air/ Or u can try relocate it to front mount instead.
6)A bigger turbo that have a more effective compressor map when boosting 1 bar.
7) A decent boost controller rather than tulang ikan. More stable boosting.
8) A thicker metal gasket compare to stock 1mm/0.8mm metal gasket to reduce the compression ratio of pre-boosting.
9)A piggy back to adjust the AFR so that your engine is safe from detonation... Or an SAFC will also do...

For no 5, 6 is not a confirmed answer as I do not know the compressor mapping of a L2 turbo.

Just bare in mind, most of the engine that detonate is caused by bad tunning instead of hardware...

In that case, u might need the following...

1) Bigger injectors to prevent insufficient fuel in combustion chamber and prevent lean combustion.
2) BOV are optional. but I'm afraid stock/oem BIV(plastic type) may not be stroong enough to hold the stress and might fail.
3) Adjustable Fuel pressure regulator to increase the pressure in the fuel rail in order to supply sufficient pressure for a bigger capacity injectors.
4) A fuel pump that supplies suffficient flow rate for the bigger fuel injection.
5) The stock intercooler may not be efficient in cooling the bigger mass of air/ Or u can try relocate it to front mount instead.
6)A bigger turbo that have a more effective compressor map when boosting 1 bar.
7) A decent boost controller rather than tulang ikan. More stable boosting.
8) A thicker metal gasket compare to stock 1mm/0.8mm metal gasket to reduce the compression ratio of pre-boosting.
9)A piggy back to adjust the AFR so that your engine is safe from detonation... Or an SAFC will also do...

For no 5, 6 is not a confirmed answer as I do not know the compressor mapping of a L2 turbo.

Just bare in mind, most of the engine that detonate is caused by bad tunning instead of hardware...

Thanks for ur info...BTW....u mean tuning is tune where ya ? Izzit the safc setting or the mechanical tuning using screw driver on the air/fuel inlet ? I am very new in EFI engine...plz guide ...

Hmm there is not screw tuning for EFI. I mean not as I know. I guess the scew u are mentioning is the screw at the throttle body/FICD. That's for the vacuum for idling valve.

When EFI is concern, the A/F ratio has to be done on the ECU. Either by piggyback device(e-manage, safc, etc), standalones(haltech, motec, etc) or u send ur ECU for remap.

Hmm there is not screw tuning for EFI. I mean not as I know. I guess the scew u are mentioning is the screw at the throttle body/FICD. That's for the vacuum for idling valve.

When EFI is concern, the A/F ratio has to be done on the ECU. Either by piggyback device(e-manage, safc, etc), standalones(haltech, motec, etc) or u send ur ECU for remap.

Ok i have roughly idea on tuning ....but the thing is i need to noe which modification should be done 1st to prevent my engine getting spoilt...can guide me step by step ?

After certain survey....i decided to do head port and polish and intake and exhaust system....I wanna increase my top end power ...so wats exhaust setup should i done ? Mind to gif opinion ?

In the meanwhile , i also use metal head gasket to lower engine compression ratio.

Base on modification above, can i up boost to 0.9bar ? will the head crack in long term or any side effect ?

Ok i have roughly idea on tuning ....but the thing is i need to noe which modification should be done 1st to prevent my engine getting spoilt...can guide me step by step ?

After certain survey....i decided to do head port and polish and intake and exhaust system....I wanna increase my top end power ...so wats exhaust setup should i done ? Mind to gif opinion ?

In the meanwhile , i also use metal head gasket to lower engine compression ratio.

Base on modification above, can i up boost to 0.9bar ? will the head crack in long term or any side effect ?

Er.... Turbo charged engine only have 4-1 exhaust system... Port and polish certainly help in making ur car more responsive...

haha...so only change metal head gasket to 1.0mm good for boost to 0.9 or 1 bar by lefting other thing stock? Hows the affect on street drive ? ok onot ?

Street drive is ok... Anyway, 1.0mm metal gasket = thickness normal silicon/carbon gasket. So, it's just like having an L2 that have higher boost.... just make sure on the fueling part.... As long as there is sufficient fuel during the full boost to prevent detonation, then everthing would be fine

Lolz.... forgotten... kekkekeke... 3-1 then...

er...maybe he is asking about how many inch of piping to install???:hmmmm: :biggrin:

flamming,

anyway, for boosting 1bar you need to ask yourself how much can you pay to acoomodate for your car to boost 1bar? :biggrin: or you want 15 pounds boost using a stock turbo or TD04? although same boost, but it is totally different actually..

er...maybe he is asking about how many inch of piping to install???:hmmmm: :biggrin:

flamming,

anyway, for boosting 1bar you need to ask yourself how much can you pay to acoomodate for your car to boost 1bar? :biggrin: or you want 15 pounds boost using a stock turbo or TD04? although same boost, but it is totally different actually..

erm how mch can pay ? Actually tats my concern .... my target is 1 bar wif nessacery modificatioon so tat it wont spoilt my engine in long term...i enquiry u guys help because i need 2 noe is it possible boosting 1 bar safely can be done on L2s ?

BTw..using stock is probably more preferable as TD04 would be too big where turbo lag occur ...actually is TD04 good or not ?

erm how mch can pay ? Actually tats my concern .... my target is 1 bar wif nessacery modificatioon so tat it wont spoilt my engine in long term...i enquiry u guys help because i need 2 noe is it possible boosting 1 bar safely can be done on L2s ?

BTw..using stock is probably more preferable as TD04 would be too big where turbo lag occur ...actually is TD04 good or not ?

Well, there are alot of ppl with L2 already using TD04L. It's too small for a GSR to high boost but it's OK for an L2 to use for high boost...

But before you actually talk about selecting turbo, lets talk about turbo map... Different turbo on different engine will have different boost characteristic... But it's not easy to find mapping for OEM turbo...

OK....so now what should i in order to achive 1 bar in stable with the most least of money...

honestly speaking... high boost=higher tendency to create detonation... If you are talking about minimum cost, I don;t know what is the definition of minimum cost. However, To avoid detonation, there are a few things you can do:-

-Reduce compression ratio-cheapest way is to use thicker metal gasket. In order to safe cost, some ppl uses DOUBLE stock gaskets for this application. But the result is, compression ratio too low and the car response is sluggish. And there are overboost case that damages the gaskets.
-Make sure there is sufficient fuel supply to burn with the large amount of air to avoid detonation/knocking. In order to achieve that, U need bigger injectors. Higher fuel pressure and bigger pumps(not sure if the L200s is sufficient, thus may need or may not need). MIVEC injectors should be good.
-Cool down manifold air. U may consider changing to a front mount. K cars front mount are selling quite cheap nowadays.
-Good tuning. At least an SAFC 5 button to control the A/F ratio. If you have the budget, go for piggyback instead.

Well, this may not seems to be the cheapest way. But at least is a safer way. Why not save a slightly bigger budget in order to boost without worries.

My experience of trying to safe unnecessary cost is buying second hand pistons and ended up rebuilding my engine and need to use new oversized pistons.

Sometimes, good tuning can extract more power than boosting higher...

OK....so now what should i in order to achive 1 bar in stable with the most least of money...

Flamming,

It is not about the 1bar 2 bar 3 bar or whatsover. Different car, with different turbo with different setup with the same boost will have different results.what you want your car to become? crazy acceleration, or can only win wira 1.6 or???

changing TD04 is a very common amongst kancil owner, and yes they are boosting very high too...hehehe..but i would want to say that the ride is the scariest ride i have ever been. Even scarier than 500whp car hehehe..

Upgrading power is common, but dont forget about your suspension, tyres, brakes, and etc....its all in the package.

I am sorry to tell you that, if you have insufficient fund please dont mess with upgrading all these stuff. Forget it. Big possibility is you will blow something in your car as i have many others blown their engine with low budget modifications. :thefinger:

i suggest you go for basic stuff such as port n polish, new efficient free flowing exhaust, upgrade your fuel pump/add fuel regulator, plonk a piggy bag to tune your car and maintain your stock boost. You will defintely see the difference even without increasing your boost level.

Good Luck

if u r using small turbo ofcourse can boost 1.0 without any prob...
but.. if u change to bigger turbo.... 0.5 bar is enuf for u lor :biggrin:
remember!! have to low compression 1st...change piston kit...valve & spring.... then only can boost higher and safe !!