My Drift RE Project

Seats installed !
but too low...so he's going to adjust it again...next will be to reupholster the driver seat as its abit sunken. The passenger side is awesome.

nice swift handling from ke and rotary powered
sweet!
hehe pink rotary powered ke in usj?

klgauto said:
yesterday a ke70 won 1st place at A-Famosa drift event , someone told me he using rotary engine , but i'm not sure ture or not lar , but the engine sound not like 4ag or sr20/ca18,

this ke damn fast lar ......

wei .....can't wait to see your car in action ......:)

Yes. He beat me. His driving KE with FC engine. The car is very power, can see he didn't really use 100%. Maybe cause his friends car. He driving starlet with 4age.

ivan78 said:
Yes. He beat me. His driving KE with FC engine. The car is very power, can see he didn't really use 100%. Maybe cause his friends car. He driving starlet with 4age.
yup .. saw you fight with him ....that ke damn fast .........like that we need to lelong our 4ag and switch to rotary liao :sad_smile:

SideWaysGrey said:
4A can retire la...Unless turbo charge it then can produce up to 400hp.

Don't under estimate 4age also. I'm loss because the front too slow. I can't let go throttle, because rev will drop.
Depending on course setup. At A’ farmosa, 150m straight and about 60m corner Is similar Sepang 1st and 2nd corner.
You can see D1 Malaysia. Round 1 turbo win. 110m straight, 50m 1st corner. Round 2 & 3 NA win. About 120m straight, 30m corner then have to flip back immediately. Will see how the course on Round 4.
Once you finish your project, you can try with 4age. Then you might scratch your head which so much power still can’t chase 4age.

Im saying that because Ive seen so many people with 4A pumping in so much cash upgrading parts all the time due to its lack of power. I agree power is not everything when it comes to drifting but having sufficient power along with skills and correct setup will ensure you have the right angle and speed in entry, and exit thus giving a smooth and clear drift. Going D1 specs for a 4A is very expensive. Also after market parts for 4A are getting scarce and price ever increasing. Its just not practical to keep upgrading an underpowered engine.
IMO, I'd start with a powerful engine and learn to control it from the very start, and Id suggest the same for whoever who wants to go far in this sport one day.
Swapping in a std 4A for normal daily drive is good. For power upgrade & long term its expensive.

PS: T. Djan drifting is the Malaysian Benchmark for all of us to compete against. I believe whateva car he uses with the right practice on that car, he will also win the round. Im looking forward to his Drift Spec Sil80 !

If compare 4A/KE or 13B/KE, but have advantage and disadvantage.
Yes, 4A parts is expensive, but the mantainance of 13B also not cheap. The life span of 4A is much more then 13B. If compare both engine kosong, 4A still cheaper then 13B. If fully rebuild, 13B is much more expensive. But the power given by 13B is almost double then 4A, so consider equal. Depend which you like.
I have try 4A/KE and 4A/86. Both same engine, but in different chasis, is totally different. No matter how much money you pump into KE, KE still a KE. Won't able to beat 86. This is base on my experience, might not true for you.
I haven try 13B/KE, or 13B/86. So can't make any complain. But if its good combination, sure a lot of people include japanese and europe people using already.

Most Japs and Europeans get the actual AE86 and use 4A because its cheap for them unlike over here. Besides, installing a 13BT into a AE86 isnt easy either. Lots of custom work is required and this may also upset the balance. In drift this is important to have good control and response of the car. I chose the 13BT because I find a vast potential in the RE compared to 4A. The 4A will cost me alot more on the long run to upgrade and find the best power to weight ratio to be used for drift as Im building this car purely for drift and some track days.
The main reason people dont choose to use this engine is due to lack of support provided by local mechanics. And we Malaysians being the spoilt bunch want everything to be spoon fed and done for us. But then there are those who are the opposites as well. Anyhow, Ivan your a great drifter and as I see it an upcoming sample to all others as well. I hope to pick up some tricks and tips from you one day and surely tsuiso with you. Would do me pleasure dude.

True, Malaysia lack of support for 13B. Plus the petrol consume too high. Maybe that’s why no one wants to use.
13B have more potential, just don’t know will it match with KE/AE or not. If have a chance really like to have a try.

actually its people like sidewaysgrey that are enough to tinker with the uncertainty of his setup that lays path to successful mating of the most unusual combos. I'd love to see how the car drives once its done swg!!

Yes. The only thing is need to find a good suspension setup to match with that engine. If its work, the price of 13BT will increase. :>
So far i have seen MONKEY TAN running rotary. The rest of them complain 13B not reliable.

ivan78 said:
Yes. The only thing is need to find a good suspension setup to match with that engine. If its work, the price of 13BT will increase. :>
So far i have seen MONKEY TAN running rotary. The rest of them complain 13B not reliable.

ivan78,

rotary reliable but are people willing to spend to keep it reliable? new engine with simpliflied cooling, intakes and sane boost levels= long engine live

phat7 said:
actually its people like sidewaysgrey that are enough to tinker with the uncertainty of his setup that lays path to successful mating of the most unusual combos. I'd love to see how the car drives once its done swg!!

Thanks for the support Dave. Will be driving the car up to KL and leaving it in a newly opened drift and drag specialist workshop in Balakong.

Latest update.
The front wheels studs were replaced because the rims were hitting the absorber and use of spacer made the fitting of wheel nuts impossible. So got those replaced and now the rims can be fitted with spacers.

*Note to self- Check the damn offset before you buy rims! haha

Ok so with those studs replaced I need not worry on using lousy offset rims anymore. Not that I will be buying any with higher offset rims as well.
Ive also informed the absorber service guy to have a look at my front Tien set and recommend a proper service for it as well as the customisation of the rear set for a first time use.

Ivan,

Sorry of topic a bit, since u said that u have tried both the ke/ae with 4age in drifting, would really like to know why issit that the ae has the upper hand while ke does not have, I mean both of these cars are actually very light and responsive, very balance chassis, etc.... How does it being different? As a matter of fact I think the ke70 is slightly lighter than the ae86 in std form. Or issit because the weight distribution of the ke70 is not that good compare to the ae86 (hatchback hood weights quite a bit). Just wondering? Have u tried the TE72/71 before, how does it fare with the ae/ke? Just wondering?:shades_smile:

Sideways,

Nice ride u got there sure gonna be a monster once its out from the wokshop...:regular_smile:

Mr Wong
heya buddy, what happened to U la? hardly ever see around these days. Stopped drifting?
My car not a monstor la...just a humble rojak car. Chasis 1 car, head 1 car, tail different car, engine different car... lucky driver is pure Malaysian ( but mix also eh)

Yo, Finally your monsta is complete after so long, sure its gonna be a good drift spec car, Me now a bit broke, so didn join a lot of drift event.
Eh your lancer sold edy?
Hows the car, in terms of handling spare parts and all?

The Lancer is still available. Im driving it daily.
Very good handling despite standard suspension. Much better than those new local made cars for sure, especially when taking turns and corners.
Spare parts no problem at all as Ive established where to get them for engine and body parts. Why? You interested?