My Drift RE Project

Wah, SWG luckily i check out the RE thread if not. i'm sure won't know your RE project progress so far already. Congrats on your project bro. You always racun me with RE....:_:

After you finish your project we gather a group of monster to tear the tarmac up..Hahahaha.

Bro, you have any small to medium size parts wants to do painting ? I can do for you. I love painting stuff a lot. I use can spray lah but can do nicely for you....last time i help my friends to spray their head cover or engine cover and stuff like that i even help my lil bro to paint his bicycle. I'm not ocnsider pro lah but i just like to do spray painting. I think i can help you paint those interior stuff but not car body lah...

What colour you are going to spray for your car ?

TR,
Once you've been Rotaried, there is no turning back!
- except raising fuel prices :(
Hope you will enjoy yourself in SIC this weekend.

Last weekend and the weekend before was spent removing front body parts, IC piping and the works for cleaning purpose. All were stained with oil, dirt, greese, dead bugs and flies and God knows what else. Much of the wirings, although insulated were also affected so got it all cleaned to the extend that my fingers, screwdriver, and cotton bud could reach. Im still not satisfied, will send the car for an engine bay wash later.

Fixed the pipes back and started the engine after almost 3 weeks. Engine started just after the 2nd crank but was bad idling because too cold, but after about a minute it stablised to 1.5K RPM.

Played with the throttle to observe the engine reaction. Altered betwen sudden jerks and constant throttling and different RPM range.
I find that it it was never smooth and constantly jerked as if fuel was not rising to the need. Suspect that the fuel filter is blocked. Just got one on Monday evening (thanks to Phat7 and ah choy).

Will install it this weekend and hopefully it solves the problem. Will also try to figure the fuel tank float sensor and connect it to the dash meter wiring so I can estimate my balance fuel when driving.

Oh, btw. I just bought a Toyota Mark 2 yesterday. Its a 1993 (last model) LX-80 model, used by KLASS for the KLIA Limo service. A good price for its year and condition. A standard 2.0 Diesel Turbo engine. Will be paying up the balance and collecting the car by this weekend.

So, Taxi service anyone? :p

Try to clean the ideling valve near TB. Petro or WD40 will do.
Going to put 1JZ on ur Mark2?:shades_smile:

Joe,
yeah, was advised to open and clean that apart from looking into the fuel filter.
Will check that also.

Diesel is the way to go! Petrol prices up up. Dont think will be swapping with the 1JZ although its a really sweet engine! Very smooth, powerful and quiet engine.

taxi me :)
after u put in 1JZ in it....while maintaining the diesel roadtax :)
wanna sit with you in ur next appearence of track event...

Ahli Kimia,
The taxi will maintain diesel engine for now at least.
only the RE72 will see appearece in Track. Taxi used to taxi me around :p

ur RE72 got 2 seats or 1 seat only ?

i'll need to taxi with you on track :)

got 2 seats...dont worry, will sure take you for a ride in it...
just need to install the NHS mats unless you would like a heated Brazilian or SWG - style leg waxing - minus the wax and surely not in ure crotch !

don't worry about the crotch.... the tank of cooked cells can be emptied in a few hours time :P (ehehehhe few hours ) ahahah

how much horses are you putting on ur drift car ?

Bros, a quick question.... if done double welding on the chassis.... can it pass JPJ inspection? cos some people say that the spot welding should be done after the inspection...... as the JPJ doesn\t allow double welding

Well, im not sure about this at all. As this car is going to be a Drift Track car full time, so I didnt bother finding out. But its adviseable to inquire with JPJ itself. Maybe you cna drop em an email? ouh..wait...they may never answer it. Maybe can drop in the office or give em a call ?

I replaced the fuel filter after an hour struggle with the fuel hose that refused to come off the old filter. When i pluged in the new filter, I ensured to spray a good layer of WD40 all around the hose opening on both ends (no more 'virgin' entry) hehehehe. Plugged in and screwed the clips. Engine started and after 5 mins I managed to bring the rev up to 7K untill the turbo spool was so loud I stopped.
But somehow the rev still doesnt go up smoothly. Need to play with the throttle to get a steady higher rev. Its not responsive and needs constant pressing and releasing of pedal to rise the rev. Darn, but the sound of the turbo was sweeeeeeettttttt !!

Guess I'll be removing the petrol tank the next trip and get it drained and washed.
I did that for my Lancer before and you'd be surprised what the mech found.

Leaf's and sand ! The previous owner may have had some not very nice friends...

I hope not to find anythin in my TE tank though. fingers crossed...but then again finding something would help in eliminating the cause of the problem...hmmm

You will find small ikan in you fuel tank.....hehehehe

Hey swg...been following ur thread..But just no time to drop or say hi...
Sorry...man...
Can't wait for the end project...
Wishing you all the best....
A bit the jealous with ur mark2....hey make it all stylo...

Been having luck with my 510...
Now its the journey there...

YO SWG,

I see that you been busy. You still want the repair manual? I will be in seremban on the weekend after raya. you can drop by my house.

Write your reply...