My Drift RE Project

hi dude
yes, been waiting for a long time for it from you...hows work in the US?
bring back some goodies for ure FC ok? then we can go sideways together

SHould show some updated pic leh... keh keh keh...
Only had some time to surf back ZTH and saw your thread... very very interesting... :D GJ so far... looking forward to see how it turns out....

bro sideway... seems that i will be following your steps... ehehehe but i won't be selecting rotary cos it is a bit hard to maintain in malaysia.... not so many people knows how to repair it....

why you didn't take an SR or CA instead?

hi corollagtouring,

Why I chose RE over CA and SR? I have few reasons.

1. CA and SR too common.
2. Ive fancied the RE for a long time but cant afford the car, but can afford the engine.
3. No other local RE drifters (then)
4. Power to cc ratio!
5. My halfcut comes fully moded already at the same price the SR standard clip would have costed me. CA clip is just waste of time compared to SR and RE
6. Small, compact and makes insane power (not to mention noisy)
7. My car is setup track style so its gota look unique and run freaking fast like Dev's car. LOL
8. I want to be different and try new things. The so call problem of no support by local mech's is not going to stop me as I will seek advise from other RE owners and search for info from books, Net etc. This forum has been of great help and curent RE owners are a blessing to have as friends.

There are other reaons too but im off to lunch shortly...

I agree with you Ivan... the 4AGE seems to have its own speciality... yesterday i have been whacked at kesas hiway by a sil15... and a accord SV 2.2 VTEC... but guess who outrun em both... a Silvertop 4AGE LE with a 14" rims LOL........ I was driving a MIVEC that time..... shocked to see the 2 cars cant overtake the LE.... it was 190kmh and the LE keeps going!

bumped with the LE owner... he humbly shows his horse... it is a stock 4age 20v... man 4 throttle really dominates the high rev range!!!!

ivan78 said:
Don't under estimate 4age also. I'm loss because the front too slow. I can't let go throttle, because rev will drop.
Depending on course setup. At A’ farmosa, 150m straight and about 60m corner Is similar Sepang 1st and 2nd corner.
You can see D1 Malaysia. Round 1 turbo win. 110m straight, 50m 1st corner. Round 2 & 3 NA win. About 120m straight, 30m corner then have to flip back immediately. Will see how the course on Round 4.
Once you finish your project, you can try with 4age. Then you might scratch your head which so much power still can’t chase 4age.

for me..... i selected other than 4age cos a 4age fcut 16v is too expensive now.... a CA costs only 2k, SR 4k and FC 3k with tons of mods.... i have no intention to go drift at the mo... but selecting turbocharged cos can be modded to 500hp with minimal mods....

i am with you but my car still under chassis repairs... here is a sneak peek...

http://ke70.blogs.friendster.com/photos/uncategorized/keku1.jpg

http://ke70.blogs.friendster.com/photos/uncategorized/keku.jpg

PICT0141-1.jpg

the future result... MAYBE

http://ke70.blogs.friendster.com/photos/uncategorized/memb_hirosedanimage2.JPG

i bet your will be powerful... cos yeah the Rotary rules....

SideWaysGrey said:
hi corollagtouring,

1. CA and SR too common.
2. Ive fancied the RE for a long time but cant afford the car, but can afford the engine.
4. Power to cc ratio!
5. My halfcut comes fully moded already at the same price the SR standard clip would have costed me. CA clip is just waste of time compared to SR and RE
7. My car is setup track style so its gota look unique and run freaking fast like Dev's car. LOL
8. I want to be different and try new things. The so call problem of no support by local mech's is not going to stop me as I will seek advise from other RE owners and search for info from books, Net etc. This forum has been of great help and curent RE owners are a blessing to have as friends.

Im not after power but would like to have a D1 standard RE powered Drift car eventually. So by getting this clip and tweaking it abit more, I spend less money and time overall to achieve the 450 hp mark and drift it !

heheheh when everything finished will meet ya....

i really love the 4age but the cost wow....
not to mention if putting a 20v inside a KE will cost too much....

and i have the boost sindrome within me so that is another problem

i calculated the cost to put a 20v.. it may costs 7k... while other 6k tops....but make sure the cross member fitted nicely and aligned :D

corollagtouring said:
but i won't be selecting rotary cos it is a bit hard to maintain in malaysia.... not so many people knows how to repair it....

dude,
dont be negative and misinformed about something you are not familiar about. I was once on that thinking too. Before I decided on the RE, I read up about it and asked current users of this engine on the pros and cons. From what I can tell you is, RESEARCH take you a long way

thanks for the advise bro... will really do the research... man i really love rotary duh duh duh duh duh sound! in the meantime i only bought universal items such as BOV... intercooler... etc etc haven't decide what powerplant it will be....

SideWaysGrey said:
hi corollagtouring,

1. CA and SR too common.
4. Power to cc ratio!

if I may add a bit more;

1-For SR and CA being common is one thing which has its pluses and minuses but as far as I'm concerned for SR there are 2 types and well there's another choice that needs to be reckoned with vtc or not..yada2..as for CA I think its not a suitable choice as i believe that there aren't as many aftermarket parts for it.

2-Rotaries just rule..I mean it doesn't require much to make power,you can see power gains by small modifications.They rev like crazy,with right tuning the small low-end torque can be dealt with.

3-Well the third reason of his is really his taste,why follow when he can be the first..Lead so others can follow..

Rotaries aren't abundant in malaysia because people have this disbelief that its like an evil fuel guzzling engine..(well it is)..but(lets not get caught up on this one), the thing is can't have it all now can we?So much power yet high mpg's?This is a unrealistic ideal that can't be achieved.Don't be dissing..Anyway people don't rebuild rotaries as much in malaysia because the cost is equivalent to getting another clip..thats what I think anyway..its just more cost and time efficient..