I think you can cut it (at your own risk). It'll then be 2 pieces (top & bottom). Probably glue them together become one piece. Then insert/install the air filter... but how to close the cover (with the previously cut pieces)? I've seen the inner side of the box, there is a place to fit the air-cond filter. Without the 'door', the only way to install is to take out the black box. But man, it's hassle!
http://a692.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/60/l_dcc3f26c5f62fbe40135424002d8638b.jpg
eddial, that is ur car??? SiR??? how come the black box look different from mine,...?
urs sitting more to the left side.
mine looks the same as faisal and the maroon SiR,... only thing is they have the door,... i can only see my door.
cutting the box at centre??? why not cut the door out,...
anyway, when i have the time and courage, i'll get the whole box out 1st, then see whatz inside,... can u tell me if inside got filter present??? if the filter position is at the door, just remove the permanent door,.... when we buy the bosch filter, got one door come included,... juz slot in, and dup dup, up and down the new door got clip.
aiyahhhhhh,... headache!
Ain't that slot able to be removed ? Seems like it can be open ! Did u try ?
Hmm...if it's a 1 piece plastic cover, then it's impossible to install filter la....
juz hv to make sure from eddial,... or better still wait til i open up my black box,... coz eddial's pic look a bit different from mine.
anyway, sato,... try ask ur mechanic take off ur glovebox,... maybe u lucky like maroon cf4,... got slot. Ohhhhh,... his car is '99 spec,... GH-CF4,... not E-CF4,... maybe that'z why,...
maybe u can ask the mech to cut a slot for that filter. removing the whole thing to get the filter installed is a lot of hard work bro...
anyway that is bad news for u orait... but for me... more bad news
this morning had to send wife to work... push the remote button to open the door. but only heard one beep... weird. went outside. tried to open the door. still locked... aittt... then try again... demn... battery out. had to jumps start. arrived in KL bought one NS60 13-plate MF battery... there went my RM185
then in the afternoon after sending wife back home i was on my way to a fren's house in subang... then in sec13 nearby giant/shoplots hit a big piece of wood... suddenly car felt heavy on the left side... quide hard too steer. parked the car... demn... the two left tyres were flat... demn... went to a nearby tyre shop (got no choice).
they checked... both tyres had punctures on the sidewall... demn... double demn... there went 2 of my yoko A drive. they had no stock for 205/45/17 so got to take falken 215/45/17 for RM295 each... demn... my yoko costed me only 268 each. so had both new tyres fitted to the rear. front using old tyres... total cost RM598... what a day... fenin la
faisal,... yeah,... but 'cut' when the whole box taken out,.... if cut when it is still intact,... might end up cutting something the other side, right???
anyway,... kesian ur car and pocket,... dun worry,... falken is good,.... ur falken is falken ziek??? made in where??? japan??? or thailand???
eh,... all my 4 tyres are 215,... came with the car when i bought it,... wait later habis only change.