Mivec Blacktop vs Silvertop

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
boyzone, ur ecu still cuts it a 8.2k rpm....mitsu tacho needle has a +- 300rpm inaccuracy.......my tacho shows 8.5k too when it cut fuels but my AFC was recording oni 8.2k rpm max rev.....n btw, mine is a silvertop n it has a 8.2k rpm cut on both ecu n the meter board as u called it or tachometer/rev meter for some......its still the same dude.... =)....cheerzzz....

7.8k might b for those automatic or MD version.... =)

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
ohh...yes ... cheerzzzzzz...... happy rev to 8.5k .....hehehehe..

apai_Ngage

Dec 15, 2004
Im selling my engine. Wanna upgrade to turbo. Stock standard withut major modificatio. Anyone interested? RM 4k? Anyone? Hehehehehe

pdguy

Jan 18, 2005
Everywhere
spyderslr said:
boyzone, ur ecu still cuts it a 8.2k rpm....mitsu tacho needle has a +- 300rpm inaccuracy.......my tacho shows 8.5k too when it cut fuels but my AFC was recording oni 8.2k rpm max rev.....n btw, mine is a silvertop n it has a 8.2k rpm cut on both ecu n the meter board as u called it or tachometer/rev meter for some......its still the same dude.... =)....cheerzzz....

7.8k might b for those automatic or MD version.... =)
bro,
im using a RSM n the rpm on the RSM n the actual mitsu rpm meter runs different ...... its about +/- 300rpm as u said above ! so like that good loh coz at first i thought my RSM kaput aleady ....... heheheheh thanks bro !

Mazeki

Jan 7, 2006
Mivec MD.. just drive like class car the feel...

JOEFTO

Apr 18, 2006
pdguy said:
MD - in Mivec term .... Mudulated Displacement not Managing Director .... muhahahahaha
correction

Modulated not mudulated he..he..

LolO_87

Apr 30, 2006
hahaha because like the cover have 2 spent so much $$

Cloudz

Jan 6, 2006
I'm looking for one Mivec RS, just to top to plug into my 1.8 4G93 with air flow sensor.

If you have contacts do let me know. Thanks!!!!

Bump: I'm looking for one Mivec RS, just to top to plug into my 1.8 4G93 with air flow sensor.

If you have contacts do let me know. Thanks!!!!

Jan 7, 2009
hye...did anyone have a picture on mivec silver top and mivec black top?it make people get clear thinking coz a pictures tell a thousand words:biggrin:

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
Hi Reshay,
I'm one of the mivec onwer...
From my driving experience is that:
If u really want it to be performed well, black top is the choice. Instead, if u r not really a crazy car modication hobby...Just let it 1 time deal without any disturbance

But there is also combination of 1.8 std block with mivec top...no matter silver or black

& of course if I ain't mistake, black top are design for heavy duty...
most of sifu, they said that mivec is more concern the power by the engine block & it's diff wf Vtec, which a bit lower compression.

Pay for the worth ;)..!!!

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
Guys,
forget bout comparison by photograph...
My mivec b/top only have 2 wires connected to cam...
Unless I got cheated....

It's all depends what is ur requirement...
1.6 will only be characterized 1.6...
I don't even feel powerful with 1.6 big vtec & standard 0.7bar GSR as I'm riding 1.8 Mivec...

more modification to overload ur engine will cost more...
I'm in experience of change twice the flywheel bcoz of the Exedy semi-race triangle clutch...
that's becoz of exiting of pick-up & the f/wheel 'makan' liao...

My understanding on Mivec is
Black top - design to race with vtec & 4Aseries
Silver top - similar to vtec black top(ori) street use & a bit performance...
MD - no idea but most probably also street use...less poerful maybe
Correct me if i'm wrong
:confused:

Dbass

Ampang, Selango
I'm in experience of change twice the flywheel bcoz of the Exedy semi-race triangle clutch...

Really... is it? Exedy Semi-racing clutch will cause tear/wear faster and effect the flywheel.
Then.. maybe next time to change clutch plate try to find another brand.

How long you have been using Exedy semi-racing?

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
Well, I ain't a crazy driver...It's last about almost 2 yrs...
But my foreman said that it would only be last for one yr normally...
And i just change to ori round exedy clutch...maybe DAIKIN is not a good clutch producer...:adore::banghead:

Bump: Well, I ain't a crazy driver...It's last about almost 2 yrs...
But my foreman said that it would only be last for one yr normally...
And i just change to ori round exedy clutch...maybe DAIKIN is not a good clutch producer...:adore::banghead:

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
Guys,
forget bout comparison by photograph...
My mivec b/top only have 2 wires connected to cam...
Unless I got cheated....

It's all depends what is ur requirement...
1.6 will only be characterized 1.6...
I don't even feel powerful with 1.6 big vtec & standard 0.7bar GSR as I'm riding 1.8 Mivec...

My understanding on Mivec is
Black top - design to race with vtec & 4Aseries
Silver top - similar to vtec black top(ori) street use & a bit performance...
MD - no idea but most probably also street use...less poerful maybe
Correct me if i'm wrong
Black or Silver, they are both mechanically the same. Just ECU code different.

Anyone where can i get this rubber lining ? Am looking for silver, grey colour lining to do some project..

If anyone know any accessories shop around Setapak, Melawati or Ampang area that sell this thing pls let me know detail ya...

View attachment 469602