LE club`

i presume its 175 standard tyres..haha..lastime i changed to yokohama a.drive 175 series too..cost me RM95 only...but cz its old batch late 2006..but the grip is good...wah..1999..really meh..atleast change to newer but less 'bunga'..really dangerousle...haha..ae80 kinda okla...prefer the long lamp version actually..hehe...no offence..the shorter lamp remind me of ugly nissan sunny....

wahh... dengz..... where u guys buy tyres la??? so cheap..... that day i change tyre for my gf's kelisa oso rm 140 per pc liao.... :(

LE got short and long lamp meh? i tot all the same? just that earlier LE's (AE80 and EE80) before the XL came have the smaller number plate light nia. XL baru got extended from the rear light. but still small...prefer the big piece JDM ones that make the boot look more 'complete'. from what i can see, pre-1985 JDM E80 uses the big black plastic piece number plate lights on the higher end saloon including the GT while afterthat, the 'terbalik' signal lights took over togather with the 'reflector' type number plate lights. lower end version like the DX have the 'empty' boot like our local E80's

and yea its the 175 standard tires. u take the ugliest LE also wont beat the uglyness of the taiwan sunny la. the sunny is ugly inside out so much that the top gear people blew one away with a jet engine. :rofl: the stock b11 is an extremely slow and noisy car also..the exhaust sounds damn annoying :rofl: my spare car is a b310 datsun 120y...and i admit, its already a very ugly and boring car. the successor, 130y...is even worst :stupid:

ya..there is..i did some research..wahahaha...

for your info, toyota E80 series in msia came in 4 variants...

1st model was LE or 1.6 GL...the one that came with short corner lamp..
1984-1985, 1.6 GL came with rear antiroll bar standard, 60/40 fold seats n cloth door trim..this model kinda cool as its oredi registered ae82 cz came with standard 4A engine..if not mistaken..wahaha...normal LE models with 2A engine..known as ae80..came with plastik door trim,veryvery basic stuff..only RHS mirror..as far i know, most ppl that time prefer LE version as GL was few more thousand expensive n that time was slight recession..hehe..so consider yourself lucky if you got GL series..even ppl told me the GL series chasis stronger as it has a heavier n powerful 1.6 engine:listen:...hehe...shortlamp also came in 12valve version in 1985..den late 1985, XL version came in for last year..before SE limited model launch....

for the 12v shortlamp, malaysia also have a limited model...hehe..

696_1_Image.jpg

according to orgorg tua:rolleyes:, this model had ori rubber spoiler, 13 inch enkei rims with 60 series tyres, rare 12v stickers...hehe...

long lamp version for msia market was XL..had better door trims..like JDM version....dashboard like ae82gt series...n ya, the shorter black reflector...least seen on msia roads cz that production less than 1 year lidat..haha...(lazy to find pics n upload...)

actually i don't really like the JDM rear lights..rare item but i find it very dim at night cz housing only have 1 bulb..standard m'sia model have housing for 2 bulb..more brighter..somore LE de so old..wiring not very good low resistance de...

wah good info that u have found...let me add more.. i think the XL existed until mid 1987 from 1986.LE is from late 1983 till late 1985. according to orang tua from my house (my LE original owners :P), my LE is registered on 30 June 1984 bought at a price of rm24k otr. price in west shud be 1k cheaper.looking at my ancient 1985/1986 asian auto buyers guide book, the corolla 1.6GL costs rm24.8k. (the proton saga only costs rm17k back then)

i have a friend who has the 1.6GL from the first batches and another has the 12 valve shortlamp version. the 12valve doesn't have all the goodies u mentioned unfortunately.maybe removed already..another thing to note is the 12valve version has different front seats and door trim like the XL and 1.6GL ones.

btw earlier ae82gt having the same dash like the earlier LE also. only XL has a change of dash...shortlamp 12v still using the old style. diff only the heater switch style and aircond vents near the meters isnt?

hers a quick capture of my car and another LE...our first 2 numbers and last 2 are inverts of each other. both also KL xxxx Q :biggrin:

ABCD00012.jpg

sorry for the bad quality...old fon bah.

.haha..ya, until mid 1987...mine was registered jan 1987...few days after christmas..haha...eventhough manuf in 1986..afaik, 12v shortlamp have cloth door trim..but still standard 8v dash...like you say, only XL model, den the dash change...the ac vent/switches bigger...ya.nostalgic..lastime LE cost RM24k...my parents bought their one for only 20k cz got staff price...den sold away in 1993 for 19k..not bad for resale value those days...hehe..

this is XL dash..actually my car...haha..
DSC00941.jpg

DSC00650.jpg

8v/12v shortlamp dash...hehe..forummer's car...

IMG_0002.jpg

1.6 GL interior......headrest diff from normal LE..bigger...
13092007355.jpg

XL model...
CorollaSedan87lblue.jpg

hurm..... i thought the 1st gen of LE are the AE80's.... those are the ones with short signal lamps and stock 2A 8v 1.3cc engines... not meh??? neway... my car is :p and its 1984 model...

if im not mistaken 1.6GL dash only got 1 tone dark brown. LE got 2 tone. the original owners told me that they get to choose what interior colour they want also. maroon/light brown or dark gray/light gray. later LE's got no choice liao. only dark brown available.

the interesting thing is..my neighbour used to have a LE...same exterior colour...but different interior colour..theirs is the gray tone...mine is the maroon tone. until today i still love the 2 tone dash...it cheers up the atmosphere inside the cabin :biggrin:

but sadly, LE seats are too plain and looks cheap. even the 1.6GL also. the seats on ur XL looks much more luxurious hor?

haha..the 1.3 model is ae80.....the 1.6 model is ae82...haha..

:p hahaha.... i thought AE80 got stock 1.6 cos i never see before.... well never see does not mean dun have ma... mayb got :p hehehe....

but sadly, LE seats are too plain and looks cheap. even the 1.6GL also. the seats on ur XL looks much more luxurious hor?

true oso... but plain is ok... the worst thing about LE's seats are because it is made of coconut fiber..... after 20+++ years... all become damn kau hard.... sit long long backside oso pain..... my front seats i change d... but the back seat.... now like sitting on kayu :p

if im not mistaken 1.6GL dash only got 1 tone dark brown. LE got 2 tone. the original owners told me that they get to choose what interior colour they want also. maroon/light brown or dark gray/light gray. later LE's got no choice liao. only dark brown available.

the interesting thing is..my neighbour used to have a LE...same exterior colour...but different interior colour..theirs is the gray tone...mine is the maroon tone. until today i still love the 2 tone dash...it cheers up the atmosphere inside the cabin :biggrin:

yup..forgotten that..the 2 tone or single tone was a rage cz can choose..haha...but my dad said took the cheapest model...cz that time financial economy wasn't that good in m'sia..dats why most ppl tool LE version...somore my dad told me those "barber" headrest seat dam uncomfortable after 10 years de...dats why 1 reason the LE was sold away..haha...like telling you time to change car..wahahaha..XL seats material wise abit more comfy but ya...still have a coconut husk and layer of sponge as prev owner tambah inside also..but find it sagging too...actually the only thing i like bout the seat is cz it fits the door lining cloth cz brown mah n the tilting headrest cz i quite tall..+ not enough cashcash to change to ae92 seats...hahahaha...actually the shortlamp version not bad also..esp some owner change the grill to the "C" grill...hehe..

yea i remember the previous seats. sit 15 minutes then ur ass strain already. so damn hard. my chairs are modified and reupholstered. the roof lining also changed. so now..my chairs are thick, 'high' and feels more spongy :itsme:

today i had an opportunity to drive a fren's stock ae111 (local 1.6SEG). apparantly, it has the similar feel to our LE. the steering rack got that infamous sound. the suspension setup is even more rough then LE. other than the smoother 4afe engine and power steering...i rather drive the LE... :biggrin:

ive also driven ee90 b4...ignore the of the looks of the cars. whether e80,90,100,110. i personally think the initial 'driving feel' of all the series are almost the same :hmmmm:

but yeah...80,90,100,110...i like all these corolla's. they are just the right car with the right size and feel to me.:biggrin:

ya...i have a SEG at home too....ahaha....steering feeling i duno as i admit car mileage less than 90k for a 16 yo car...but i hate it cz of its floating when high speed..above 140kmh..can feel as though got layer of air on 4 wheels...ahaha..cz stock 185 tyres mah...it does feel powerful for a standard car..got pickup...somore manual...i prefer it cz of one thing.....power windows...wahahahahaa.....my LE window like scrapping ice kacang....hahaha....

my fren ae111 mileage quite severe already. 180k kms. while my LE only 240k kms. so i think many things worn already.

btw, the jit jit sound when moving is my front right bearings rosak already. mech says nid rm100+ to fix that thing. so expensive ah just for one bearing. :bawling:

my fren ae111 mileage quite severe already. 180k kms. while my LE only 240k kms. so i think many things worn already.

btw, the jit jit sound when moving is my front right bearings rosak already. mech says nid rm100+ to fix that thing. so expensive ah just for one bearing. :bawling:

wah...really ah...recently...fixed my bearing bothside parts RM100 + RM45 for labour....bearing crack cz i used offset rim..hehe..padan muka me..haha....wah, your LE only 240k mileage...consider damn low...mine oredi like travelled around the world 1 time de...touch wood...

yea my LE mileage is quite low. because it was severely underused for the past 10 years or so. where it clocked less than 10k kms during that time. my datsun meanwhile...1980 car...already 400k + kms. but cant beat my fren ee90 yet. 1990 car...less than 70k kms. still got the plastic cover at the sun visor :rolleyes:

btw...anybody has power steering on their LE/XL/GL? haha :driver:

yea my LE mileage is quite low. because it was severely underused for the past 10 years or so. where it clocked less than 10k kms during that time. my datsun meanwhile...1980 car...already 400k + kms. but cant beat my fren ee90 yet. 1990 car...less than 70k kms. still got the plastic cover at the sun visor :rolleyes:

btw...anybody has power steering on their LE/XL/GL? haha :driver:

hey, another otai ah.hehe..usually if car own by old timer always lidat one..my org tua SEG also still have the ori plastic for sunvisor..den UMW toyota paper cover for the mat...my dad also sumtimes keep the plastic seat used by UMW when service the car at UMW..he still use it when service the car cz technician dirty n smell mah.crazy one...:biggrin:....wow, ur friend ee90 not bad ah...must be in very good condition one...

lastime got one LE part runner selling the LE powersteering....but have to modify the pump to fit the carle...duno..cz he said from ae82gt one...hahaha....i really scared to get sparepart later cz usually carpart shop only sell manual steering rack for Toyota LE...hehehe...

hello guys, how much is roughly a new steering rack for toyota LE???planning to change cz mine got lots of freeplay n kakkakkak sound when go uneven road de...hehe..

no idea how much is the rack....but i think if u change..it will loose very soon also...that symptom kenot cure wan. ur XL is ur daily car isit? kenot tahan the sounds anymore? :biggrin:

i have 3 spare car usually for me to use. datsun 120y, kenari auto and the LE. but i drive the LE 90% of the times. dunno why i jus like the LE more than the rest :driver: :biggrin: even the kenari also got steering rack sound already :bawling: