Lap Times

DRiftAGster said:
y tear down the curtain so fast? let some not very smart ppl like me being fooled longer ma... create some amusement for all readers.... zth has new server, enuff space for rubbish....

** he mean the CAI piping looks like intercooler piping la - not the car has intercooler... aiyo... not very smart....
Hahahah you mean Your self , Gary, me or who?? hahahaha

faisal, me la, gary i dunno, dare not say, afters he get mad at me...heheheee

we all mati-mati waiting for the exciting revealation of the high tork engine modded by this "great masters of '93" but only lightning & thunder, no rain....

** btw, whats the difference in lap time between dry and wet in sepang??? anybody experienced??

DRiftAGster said:
faisal, me la, gary i dunno, dare not say, afters he get mad at me...heheheee

we all mati-mati waiting for the exciting revealation of the high tork engine modded by this "great masters of '93" but only lightning & thunder, no rain....

** btw, whats the difference in lap time between dry and wet in sepang??? anybody experienced??
Difference could be as high as 10-15 seconds. depending on how wet it is and how the car handles. A Satria R3 (roadcar) does 2"55 average. Wet 3"05s. Can't take Turns 5, 6 and 12 flat in 4th. and have to brake gentler and earlier for most Turns like 1, 4 9.

ic...thanks... i'm a bad driver in wet, cause my leg not obedient, always late braking and too much gas.... still remember i spun 8 times in a lap in bt3... never try wet sepang yet.....

I'm bored, after this must drop by and ask Uncle Loon to share his trade secrets in building 4G93P engines.
How do u drive a FC in the rain ah?
Dump the clutch at 10000rpm before clipping the apex of turn 6 in Sepang?

I wonder kart wet driving technique applies the same to cars in the rain?
We charge into a corner and yank the steering full lock on entry. I guess with roughly15deg of castor would allow the rear inside wheel to lift up instantly. And with a dead axle, bloody fun on exit if u're naughty with WOT.....

Then again if i was to do that shit on a car would probably end up straight into the wall with terminal understeer.
Ok enough of boring kart ramblings.

Hey VK,
do u think 750 for a rear anti roll bar and 600 for the castor kit for the R reasonable from Whiteline?
Waiting for it to be shipped.
Oh yeah what do u think of Tien HA's? for 1500 2nd hand. Finally managed to spot some coilovers in reasonable condition. Should i grab it or not?

DRiftAGster said:
ic...thanks... i'm a bad driver in wet, cause my leg not obedient, always late braking and too much gas.... still remember i spun 8 times in a lap in bt3... never try wet sepang yet.....

bt3 in the wet is the best!
regardless of where you're driving when its wet, all you need to remember is, be smooth and gentle. brake early, and no sudden steering inputs. ;)

'Flyin' Alang' once told me about his point-and-squirt driving style in the wet.. But he will kill me if I share it in a public forum!

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
How do u drive a FC in the rain ah?
Dump the clutch at 10000rpm before clipping the apex of turn 6 in Sepang?

I wonder kart wet driving technique applies the same to cars in the rain?
We charge into a corner and yank the steering full lock on entry. I guess with roughly15deg of castor would allow the rear inside wheel to lift up instantly. And with a dead axle, bloody fun on exit if u're naughty with WOT.....

Then again if i was to do that shit on a car would probably end up straight into the wall with terminal understeer.
Ok enough of boring kart ramblings.

Hey VK,
do u think 750 for a rear anti roll bar and 600 for the castor kit for the R reasonable from Whiteline?
Waiting for it to be shipped.
Oh yeah what do u think of Tien HA's? for 1500 2nd hand. Finally managed to spot some coilovers in reasonable condition. Should i grab it or not?

With such low polar moment of inertia I'll probably spin like a top doing that...

Wah! 750?! If I recall correctly its about AUSD200+ only.. after conversion and freight I think that should be right. Make sure u get the adjustable blade one.. Whiteline bars are manufactured by SHelby or something.. Apparently its some old skool american brand.. go find out, which means quality spring steel. The castor kit consist of the rear mounting of front lower arm? Is it just the eccentric pivot point bushing or comes with nicely machined mountings?? If yes then RM699 is a bargain! I haven't tried changing castor angles for my 4wds but the wrx owners swear by it!

endless551 said:
So the CAI piping is 'tuned length'? Wow... :)

Yup, not only intake manifold is tuned length, nowdays CAI piping as well. Even CAI design has contribution in the power curve because normally tuner that use CAI don't really concentrate on the peak curve but more to under the curve. Same goes to the exhaust piping, the length has effect to the power, not much but that's the theory behind it.

niceputera said:
Yup, not only intake manifold is tuned length, nowdays CAI piping as well. Even CAI design has contribution in the power curve because normally tuner that use CAI don't really concentrate on the peak curve but more to under the curve. Same goes to the exhaust piping, the length has effect to the power, not much but that's the theory behind it.

you really sound like a guy who knows his stuff on fluid mechanics. I really cannot imagine how they can tune the engines power curve from the CAI. Must take lots of calculations and testing. In that case, can you tell me if the surbo works?

niceputera said:

I can't take it anymore! Pls stop commenting blindly, there are informed knowledgable ppls in this forum which I can tell by now is quite annoyed or maybe amused by this aimless bantering of nothing! Do u have any idea what a boundary layer is. In this case, the filter.. the throttle body.. are separate boundary layers which u have to account for separately.. It is pointless to 'tune-length' a CAI as the built-up velocity front will turn turbulent again as it passes through the filter.. throttle body butterfly valve.. bends and shits.. It is the norm to only tune-length after the filter/airmass sensor prior to throttles.. Those tapered type intake pipe (btwn filter & throttle body used by those honda's are usefuly up to a certain degree.. Ultimately it is still the additional air reserve and smooth tapering of the pipe that is critical. What u want is to achieve a system that gives optimal intake volume and velocity with built-up laminar flowing velocity front. Resonate pulse tuning effects is not something as simple as u may've thought. Regarding ur TUNED-LENGTH cold air intake pie.. Personally I think its BS. Period.

endless551 said:
So I believe u have some space age CFD simulation programs?

No I do not have any. A few tuners at the states had came out with their own test results (refering to the intake piping length, size and design). I just applied the theory to the particular car. Still I think a few adjustment will yeild a slightly better result - just cost constraint. So expensive.

So may I ask what theory is that u pllied to ur 4G93? I remember simulating a flow over a turning round body aka Magnus effect required pages and pages of derivations which I still find it hard to understand.. I believe ur simulation theories over the air filter mesh, filter element, intake piping bends, convulates (if any), throttle body step change, butterfly valve, intake plenum, intake stopends, runners.. ports.. all using 3D CF maps?? wow!!

endless551 said:
I can't take it anymore! Pls stop commenting blindly, there are informed knowledgable ppls in this forum which I can tell by now is quite annoyed or maybe amused by this aimless bantering of nothing! Do u have any idea what a boundary layer is. In this case, the filter.. the throttle body.. are separate boundary layers which u have to account for separately.. It is pointless to 'tune-length' a CAI as the built-up velocity front will turn turbulent again as it passes through the filter.. throttle body butterfly valve.. bends and shits.. It is the norm to only tune-length after the filter/airmass sensor prior to throttles.. Those tapered type intake pipe (btwn filter & throttle body used by those honda's are usefuly up to a certain degree.. Ultimately it is still the additional air reserve and smooth tapering of the pipe that is critical. What u want is to achieve a system that gives optimal intake volume and velocity with built-up laminar flowing velocity front. Resonate pulse tuning effects is not something as simple as u may've thought. Regarding ur TUNED-LENGTH cold air intake pie.. Personally I think its BS. Period.

Mr Endless,

I just answer to your previous question. I really think that you're sincerely want to discuss about the piping things but after going through your latest statement than ok loo... I can see you have good knowledge but technology is evolving.

But for your info, local Proton tuner - PowerZone has done a bit research about this and their demo and customer's car has been fitted and tested on dyno and stop watch which yieled a positive result.

gary said:
you really sound like a guy who knows his stuff on fluid mechanics. I really cannot imagine how they can tune the engines power curve from the CAI. Must take lots of calculations and testing. In that case, can you tell me if the surbo works?

You cannot imagine because you do not want to learn. Why you ask me about surbo? I did not have any interest or done any research on surbo. Go and ask somebody that has done any research on it la. You do not want to learn so no more info sharing.

endless551 said:
So may I ask what theory is that u pllied to ur 4G93? I remember simulating a flow over a turning round body aka Magnus effect required pages and pages of derivations which I still find it hard to understand.. I believe ur simulation theories over the air filter mesh, filter element, intake piping bends, convulates (if any), throttle body step change, butterfly valve, intake plenum, intake stopends, runners.. ports.. all using 3D CF maps?? wow!!

You just BS me and now you want to know more? Nope, we should stop here. You're so arrogant!

see see see

now you all make niceputera become notsoniceputera oredi.

come on kiddies, we need to learn from the master tuners. 220Nm of torque aint no joke in a 1.8 NA engine! and with 150hp, it really sounds like a van engine to me! gollobs of torque - genting here we come! and we can prob go 5 up in his car!

11.9 compression ratio wow...wonder what time of engine management he uses to contain that.

err....wait...stock internals can generate 11.9 compression ratio meh? betul ke stock piston nie?

He can't sense sacarsm la.. OK.. we r not worthy to learn from u.. Kenboy can takeover now.. I thought maxed out 11.5 only?