Lap Times

Good Day guys,

I'm new in this forum but have been read for sometimes. From my experience. a 1.6 (B16B) in eg chassis.all air cond thingy under the dashboard still intact. weight about 1150kilos. we managed to clock about 2.45 or 2.44 ( hand stop watch not that accurate,hehe) on a street FTZ crappy. On a full slick silverstone, we managed best time of 2.38 or 2.39 ( can't really remember ( during MME qualifying for 2003 ).Even then the tyre was over loaded ( no experience with slick ). Cheers

rizal_eg9 said:
Good Day guys,

I'm new in this forum but have been read for sometimes. From my experience. a 1.6 (B16B) in eg chassis.all air cond thingy under the dashboard still intact. weight about 1150kilos. we managed to clock about 2.45 or 2.44 ( hand stop watch not that accurate,hehe) on a street FTZ crappy. On a full slick silverstone, we managed best time of 2.38 or 2.39 ( can't really remember ( during MME qualifying for 2003 ).Even then the tyre was over loaded ( no experience with slick ). Cheers

hi rizal, a car weighing 1150 kilos, eventhough a 1.6 b16b doing 2.45 around sepang is a MAGNIFICENT TIME and with street tires even.

rizal_eg9 said:
Good Day guys,

hi man.. just wondering
which car is yours?
these are the only 2 qualifiers for mme in class C 2003.

5 K.Perajun/ S.Velumoni/ T.Francis 2:38.095 5 126.198 1.595 0.645 8

6 S.W.Chan/ S.K.Lau/ Y.C.Choo 2:39.290 2 125.251 2.790 1.195 9

We qualified 8th,

i can't really remember, it should be high 2.39 or something ( sign of age catcing up).the driver was akina teo(he is fast.hehe).stock engine and stock internal gearbox with 4.785 final drive.Cheers.

rizal_eg9 said:
We qualified 8th,

i can't really remember, it should be high 2.39 or something ( sign of age catcing up).the driver was akina teo(he is fast.hehe).stock engine and stock internal gearbox with 4.785 final drive.Cheers.

oh.. akina. i know him.

8 Akina Teo/ A.Fauzi/ M.Diah 2:40.689

for MME if a guy tells u his engine is 'stock', give him a pinch of salt ok. :)

also, MME is an endurance race. means the engine gearbox etc must really last. its not like a 15 lap race then go back and change engine for next race. (some ppl actually do that). so endurance engines in my opinion is what street modders should target for. you dun want to overhaul ur engine every 6 months rite?

gary, u should dig out the proton GTis and putras qualifying times this year.

o, btw, qualifying times are a one lap do or die push 110% to the limit no looking back lap, when engines are still cool and tyres are optimized with quarter tank fuel. i doubt anybody can hold these types of times lap after lap.

Kenboy said:

also, MME is an endurance race. means the engine gearbox etc must really last. its not like a 15 lap race then go back and change engine for next race. (some ppl actually do that). so endurance engines in my opinion is what street modders should target for. you dun want to overhaul ur engine every 6 months rite?

another champion has spoken ;) :rock:

consistancy is more important than fastest time.

example: if you can maintain your fastest time for the span of the race, then this is perfect senario, but if lap times fluctuate (not consistant) throughout race distance, then no point having fastest time. you will still lose.

TireSmoke said:
consistancy is more important than fastest time.

example: if you can maintain your fastest time for the span of the race, then this is perfect senario, but if lap times fluctuate (not consistant) throughout race distance, then no point having fastest time. you will still lose.
The Champion has spoken....

Any of you know where i can a Lap Timer? How much do they cost? Also, if got a brand then i can look it up on the web.

Kenboy said:
o, btw, qualifying times are a one lap do or die push 110% to the limit no looking back lap, when engines are still cool and tyres are optimized with quarter tank fuel. i doubt anybody can hold these types of times lap after lap.

This year's MME time are just mad. It just shows how much improvement you get by taking out just 100kgs, or adverse it had when you had to add 100kg to the civics. Gti's now in the 39 barrier. Just incredible...

And the GEN2 with weight below 1000kg and under the hands of Alang once again doing 39s was just incredible. It just make me wonder what mods in that Gen2.

Kenboy said:

So Ken, any hint in what had been done to make the Putras n Gti so reliable yet so quick into the 40s. hehe..

Also noted that you guys had fantastic pit crews with very quick pit stops. The guys that does all the timing calculation is also fantastic, always to the last minute of 75min. Was it you who did the calculation?

Cheers mate,

Don't flame me for telling what i know ( i'm just sharing ).well,who can you trust to talk about the engine apart from the person who take care off the engine.Sorry if my statement earlier offended some off u champs.Cheers.

chris2000 said:
This year's MME time are just mad. It just shows how much improvement you get by taking out just 100kgs, or adverse it had when you had to add 100kg to the civics. Gti's now in the 39 barrier. Just incredible...

And the GEN2 with weight below 1000kg and under the hands of Alang once again doing 39s was just incredible. It just make me wonder what mods in that Gen2.

hi chris, the Gen2 only makes 150HP at the crank. So you can pretty much guess what mods it has.

rizal_eg9,
no worries, no flames or anything, just want to clear up misconceptions :)

chris,
most of the timing calculations have been discussions between the drivers and managers, so its really a team effort. our job though is to inform them of all the possibilities and potentials, pitfalls and limitations of the strategy according to the rules and regulations.

lets have a cuppa soon eh chris!

best lap time:2m41sec
Car:Honda civic 2nd gen-Vtec
Tyres:semi slicks
Specs:B16A DOHC Vtec,Port+polished,Spoon ECU and Kaaz 345 close ratio gbox..4.4 final drive.
Japan GT-support race-Classic car

Hi guys

for those cars that are before 1987 and with non original engines, and doing 2.40s and below should try their hands at the Classic Car Race in Class C which the best times are 2.41s-44s (full track) and 1.41s-43s.(half track) Sure to win lah.

Interested pls prepare for 2006,
April: 1/2 Track
May: 1/2 Track
June: Full Track
July : 1/2 Track
Aug: Full Track
Cheers guy

faisal said:
Yes at the flywheel.

Faisal,

I must say the figure is quite low for a factory tuned car. Why can't you (Proton) achieved a higher bhp? How's the tork like? I'm sure even Stage 2 SR3 had a higher figure? Or did I missed something? BTW the gen2 got 4g93 under its bonnet, right? Oh yes one more thing, how many laps did it lasted for a full tank of gas? Thanks.

Cheers.