hey chris,
no doubt having a healthy stock block is always the ideal way to go for a street setup. the point i was refering was to have a strong block whereby you dun have to decide so much on camshafts shopping problem. no doubt we do not have proper resleeve machine shop here to help the soft aluminium block but then again with what we have now in reality, i think it should be fine. better forged pistons, rods and crankshaft would save your block in the long run. better compression, lighter rods and balanced crankshaft. with a bit of ACL bearings and good pistons rings, the block should be smoother and less resistance towards wear and tear.
the cost for a headwork and all the complete valve terrain kit is over our head. with a good block setup and pistons plus a low category camshaft kit, the power should be good at street level and daily driven power.
i have to agree on all your said about the daily driven monster. its painful, its tiring and its ridiculous sometimes when you come to think of it. im not turning back tho. haha
no doubt having a healthy stock block is always the ideal way to go for a street setup. the point i was refering was to have a strong block whereby you dun have to decide so much on camshafts shopping problem. no doubt we do not have proper resleeve machine shop here to help the soft aluminium block but then again with what we have now in reality, i think it should be fine. better forged pistons, rods and crankshaft would save your block in the long run. better compression, lighter rods and balanced crankshaft. with a bit of ACL bearings and good pistons rings, the block should be smoother and less resistance towards wear and tear.
the cost for a headwork and all the complete valve terrain kit is over our head. with a good block setup and pistons plus a low category camshaft kit, the power should be good at street level and daily driven power.
i have to agree on all your said about the daily driven monster. its painful, its tiring and its ridiculous sometimes when you come to think of it. im not turning back tho. haha
chris2000 said:J101 - I think it is not necessary to have super duper strong block to achieve high horsepower. I feel as long as the bottom end is healthy like no compression lost or lose pistons or rings, good respected figures can be done matching the right head jobs with the right cams and valvetrain, intake and exhaust. I saw some clips of the Omniman DVD and it does shows and proved this. Yet to get a hold of the copy to watch the full movie. But going to place an order for it from states.