JPJ -> Tinting rules

jyth_82

Hi All,
Would like to know, for re-cond carz which were brought it from Japan which has the black windows in the side/back... r these JPJ approved windows?

Reason I'm asking is because, those guys in Naza told me that those which were brought in (and some running on the road) that those are NOT JPJ approved. They will provide me with the clear glass window and also return the black windows if I wan to install it by me-self... . Currently they are installing the clear glass for Puspakom testing.

However, would some opinion or direction in which i can check if this claims is true? I've checked JPJ website BUT they only say how how many percent Tinting is approved - not much can be found on colored glass....

Warning frm them is that the police will just take the picture of the car and sent the summons to the owner base on the no. plate of the car... don't know if this is also true....

I don't wanna get trouble in the law... but I also don't wanna spend money/time in re-installing something which is already-legal (IF)...

NOT approved.....its illegal if u r follow jpj rules...

black tint is approved to certain limit only, the one comes with ur car should exceed the jpj limit..so it is not apprived by them

u wil get summon if they stop u....

my2cent

jyth_82, it's illegal.

those JDM car comes with rear seat fully black tinted will disturbed by Traffic Police and JPJ from time to time.

if you want all-time problem free, change to clear glass.
btw, what SUV/ MPV recon you wanna buy? Cardinal? :biggrin:

its illegal.

my uncle bought a Harrier, the back fully tinted glass stock from japan. He said he got issue with JPJ from time to time, mostly just duit kopi kautim.

he said can change to clear glass window, but he heard so much problem about some poor workmanship leads to water leaking, so he rather pay duit kopi everytime he got stoped, or even pay the saman, than to switch to a legal clear glass one.

what to do.. he's rich what... maybe not everyone think the same.

hmm... thanks all for the replies..

well.. bought an Estima AERAS 2.4 (yr 2001) frm Naza... they have just mentioned to me that they will change the windows to clear glass FOC (well, mostly likely is already "built-in" to the price of the car already).

Problem however is that they only tell me this AFTER i've make a full payment... and this make me a bit disappointed as i thought that having the black windows/glass will provide more confortable ride for those sitting behind..

oh well... will ask them to retain the clear-glass then... ;)

Thanks everyone for giving the opinions...

The clear glass windows have lots of gap. I would prefer the black glass windows because of its quality. RTD and the Traffic Police just want to trouble people. Since the black glass came with the car why should we change it to a poorly made glass.

rollakid said:
its illegal.

my uncle bought a Harrier, the back fully tinted glass stock from japan. He said he got issue with JPJ from time to time, mostly just duit kopi kautim.

he said can change to clear glass window, but he heard so much problem about some poor workmanship leads to water leaking, so he rather pay duit kopi everytime he got stoped, or even pay the saman, than to switch to a legal clear glass one.

what to do.. he's rich what... maybe not everyone think the same.
waa.... santa clause.... no wonder jpj like to stop these kinda cars.... even they know its legal, most owners will jz pay them duit kopi.....

Hmm,and I was thinking of tinting my car's glasses to 70% black,what do you guys think? Should I just tint 50% to keep the cops and JPJ away or what?

black tint was never approved by jpj unless u have a letter from the govt doctor stating u have skin complications or ur a vip.other than those two,tint at ur own risk...always fearing for roadblocks,keeping ur extra money safe in a secret compartment n jpj love letters....

Y a k u Z a said:
Hmm,and I was thinking of tinting my car's glasses to 70% black,what do you guys think? Should I just tint 50% to keep the cops and JPJ away or what?

Raya will come every year. Merdeka will come every year. CNY will come every year... So u think for urself la.. Do u wanna do it ? If u want, just go for it n dont give a damn about the dogs or what people are trying to drum into YOUR OWN brain..

If u're afraid, then dont stand up for yourself and just follow the norm of a daily routined, "corrupted-authority-fearing citizen".

Lol.. So listen to yourself dude.. Cause' this country's righteous law is Dead.

So make choices and dont look back..

i'm not sure is this a good news or bad news.

1. JPJ will purchase 120 new tinted flim reader to check the tinted film, the new machine is weather independent, JPJ can have "operasi" even at night with accurate reading.

2. JPJ request Health Ministry to produce the list of patient with skin problem who need darker glass.

3. The new tinted flim reader will be ready at end of this year.

According to JPJ, there is no such thing call "JPJ approved/ certified tinted flim".

Source fron SinChew
http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200609122618

According to JPJ, there is no such thing call "JPJ approved/ certified tinted flim".

Source fron SinChew
http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200609122618[/QUOTE]

True. Even the Puspakom officers told me no tinting is JPJ approved and that includes V-Kool as well. In my opinion for JPJ to request the Health Ministry to produce the list of patients with skin problems who need dark glass is invasion of privacy.

Slipknot Fanatic said:
In my opinion for JPJ to request the Health Ministry to produce the list of patients with skin problems who need dark glass is invasion of privacy.
AGREED, the proper way shall be JPJ only verify with Health Ministry.

Check this out. 100 black !!!!!

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/7913/untitledcz4.jpg

hahaha ya....speed forward and don look at back already

i wonder how he can c when reversing the car

or is it the tint looks BLACK from outside but from inside it can c thru?

wth, even those policemen use hell dark tinted for their own car. Whats JPJ explanation for that..

kekek i had my 100% tints off already...

well kinda hard to see at night wit heavy rain...actaully cant see at all...specially roads wit no street lights...only okay drivin in the day....in the day the best laa..nothing beats that...like having a big sunglasses...V.i.p feel..