Is it a good time to change car now ?

cherabeng

hi guys

with the election coming soon and alot of new cars coming to our market this year, do you think it is a good time to buy new car now ?

not about expensive conti cars but models like proton or jap made.

i was browsing thru mudah and saw proton giving huge discounts for 2012 car. quite tempting to me.

they're giving great discounts for 2012 models as they are old stock, many owners opt for 2013 make.
so if u dont mind on the year make, then go for 2012 model.

It is never a good time to change car. Cars are like handphones, they devalue, get obsolete, every few years a new model comes out which is better.

Buy it when you need it, not when you want it. Unless you're rich lah, then buy anytime you want.

Always the chicken and egg story. I agree with bro. ixeo that if you need the car buy it. If you want a cheap car, then just keep waiting, probably the tax gets lower then the car gets cheaper.
If the 2012 model is no different from the 2013 model (year of manufacture only) then take the 2012 model. They already depreciate one year value for you already. This means either lower down payment, or even lower loan amount, less interest paid also....:biggrin:

thanks for the advice bros

quite tempted actually cos the inspira (lancer clone) is giving 7k disc.

some frens were saying after GE price will drop and such. not sure how true this is... i mean if jap cars drop 20-30% sure proton will die la and dont think this will happen rite ?

if me, i will wait 1st. d car price is going down according to MITI. at least wait til after election..haha:driver:

NO!

(just exaggerating hahah). Just like bro ixeo mentioned, depends on your needs. Sometimes needs can be wants and vice versa. Think and act wisely :)

car price reduction after GE13 is just a gimmick. it wont happen.

If BN wins, sure as hell it won't happen - because for the past 56 years nothing reduced, Barang Naik only. The other party? Maybe, there's a chance..there's possibility

And possibility is good enough for me, its better than the guarantee of Barang Naik.