Intake tube length

damone

Hey guys. Got a question over here.

I have installed a short ram intake with a K&N open pod. Now my question is, which will provide better throttle response and better low end torque? I can make it longer, or shorter, and I tried both setup with my butt dyno. But I still couldnt make up which is better.

My engine is a 1.3 and the diameter of the pipe is 3 inches. I want better low end torque, so should I make the pipe longer or shorter for that? The difference of the extention is 6 inches.

Please help.

it wont make much difference.. make sure u had good cold air intake... this will aid to ur throttle response...

short intake = more bottom end...

well at least that what i read here
http://autospeed.com/cms/A_107749/article.html

tend to agree wif sifu skywalker, rise in intake temp will bogged your engine performance

No offence bro... if butt dyno really works, then dyno biz that cost hundred of thousand RM will go bust.

Small mod would improve on the engine performance but sometimes its too subtle that even sensitive buttock oso cannot detect it. Anyway, I like your curiosity and willingness to improve the engine performance.

HP increase = increase of RM spent. I'm sorry to say, HP doesn't comes cheap.

All the best improving the performance of your engine:driver:

Lol, my butt dyno is for drivability only la. I want the pick up only. Dont usually rev till top end also.

Thanks again :D

my butt isnt sensitive, my butt dyno kind of sucks..but the CAI will definitly aid ... about the short ram..dont think it can give much if not any effect in performance...

ur butt is numb liow lar mr ad_eg...hehehe..jjk.:biggrin:
try n look at aem intake system.most of it r long for ram effect.

installing open pod or cai doesnt give hp, but it improve respond. you will feel slightly better throttle respond, openpod + shorter ram intake give u better respond and top end, but will kinda choke in low rpm if u dont really push the accelerator, stock air ram + stock filterbox will be smoother n better from low end to top end but unable to unleash full potential when u pushing the accelerator hard, as if something restricted the powerband respond. but if you're not racing, it really doesnt make a big difference..... perhaps not even 0.5 second faster 0-100kmh

ur statement is true on some cases but not all.depends on the engine characteristic.
some might respond well with mods while other don't.just my 2 cent.:biggrin:

ur butt is numb liow lar mr ad_eg...hehehe..jjk.:biggrin:
try n look at aem intake system.most of it r long for ram effect.

hehehe...maybe laa...i dont like to do butt dyno cause sometimes after spending a certain sum of money,you kind of "expect" a difference when at times might not be there! so its kind of depressing laa...thats why i dont trust my butt dyno usually.

ur statement is true on some cases but not all.depends on the engine characteristic.
some might respond well with mods while other don't.just my 2 cent.:biggrin:

i second this.It really depends on the characterisitics of your vehicle.the effect/outcome of a certain modification to a certain vehicle will definitly vary,eg: 4g13 vs rb26...2 different worlds...by providing better air flow to the RB26 you might notice drastic changes in response and power however minor if its in a 4g13.