Open pod on Automatic car

u spend all that amount of money, & gain very little hp. im afraid u will regret later.

If never willing to spend any money and effort, u can`t get a final best combination, no such thing low cost best thing, everything need to test before u know which one is the best.

if u are willing to fork out the money then by all means go ahead, as for me, if the mods give me very little hp gain
i will not do it, as its a waste of resources & id rather use it for something else that benefits me or my car.

If never willing to spend any money and effort, u can`t get a final best combination, no such thing low cost best thing, everything need to test before u know which one is the best.

Well obviously you have the money to try out all these things, so no issue then.

http://static.ddmcdn.com/gif/torque-cutaway.jpg

i think to modify an auto car will not gain much..

coz the engine will spin transmission oil in torque converter & that oil will spin the driveshaft..

that means.. u'll lost a lot of power at the torque converter..

if a manual, engine will spin flywheel which is connected to a clutch plate n it will spin the driveshaft..

:driver:

doesn't matter...improvement is improvement..
rather say that modifying heavy car not worth it...every hp will affect more on lighter car...
or modifying NA will not gain much than Turbo...

Yeah. Siemens VDO is adaptable. Which is why people always claim that it's a shitty thing to mod

thought that most modern ECU have close-loop cycle..thus most are adaptable..

Ya, I`m also going into single, cause I prefer original look than cutting a new hole and I need spend money on body kit again, and I heard dual exit is much noisy.
I got 2 set of exhaust now =\ headche, 1 set from jian hang which is 4-1, 1 sport cap and 1 long size silencer with 1 s-flow muffler + remus tail pipe. This set is rm3650
And 1 more set hot bits, they say they doing 4-2-1, 1 mid box 1 bullet and 1 muffler with hot bits tips.
this is rm2200
Not sure which one giving the better performance, only know when dyno is come out. =\

You got 2 sets of exhaust? Your exhaust already cost so much. :adore:

if u are willing to fork out the money then by all means go ahead, as for me, if the mods give me very little hp gain
i will not do it, as its a waste of resources & id rather use it for something else that benefits me or my car.

Sometimes, there always need to be someone who be the sacrifice to know the results, does`t matter it is good or not, someone just had to do it, and I`m the one who doing it now. Everyone fall downs to gain something.
Money does`t matter to me, as long I get what I want. Amount of gain could be knowledge, not must be something realistic sometimes.

---------- Post added at 11:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:55 PM ----------

You got 2 sets of exhaust? Your exhaust already cost so much. :adore:

Ya, I get choose when result come out, then sold one set out, when everything done and settle, then will go and mod another car.

Sometimes, there always need to be someone who be the sacrifice to know the results, does`t matter it is good or not, someone just had to do it, and I`m the one who doing it now. Everyone fall downs to gain something.
Money does`t matter to me, as long I get what I want. Amount of gain could be knowledge, not must be something realistic sometimes.

---------- Post added at 11:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:55 PM ----------

Ya, I get choose when result come out, then sold one set out, when everything done and settle, then will go and mod another car.

Then u need to change name to Almera Sifu dy hahaha

No words can express the respect and gratitude i have for you. I admire your spirit. This is what I always wanted to do when I have my old engine back then. I like to experiment and try out stuff. Small small mods that yield little power such as ignition, air filter and exhaust. Just that I do not have such money at my expense. I really love the satisfaction gained from experimenting and getting the results ourselves. Even though little power, but I feel that a little more power with economy and reliability is very good for daily use.

Then u need to change name to Almera Sifu dy hahaha

Actually I`m really just wanted to know more, super charges and turbo nvm larh, I`m not really into it for almera, I`m just going to do those small mod and see what happens and which suit more.

---------- Post added at 12:37 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:29 AM ----------

No words can express the respect and gratitude i have for you. I admire your spirit. This is what I always wanted to do when I have my old engine back then. I like to experiment and try out stuff. Small small mods that yield little power such as ignition, air filter and exhaust. Just that I do not have such money at my expense. I really love the satisfaction gained from experimenting and getting the results ourselves. Even though little power, but I feel that a little more power with economy and reliability is very good for daily use.

Thx, I post here just wanna look for someone who can share idea with, like the open pod method, everyone said it is not work, speedwork said it is work, just need to combine with other mod, if it is true, means open pod was not just for manual.

Aisay man. Lay off his case la. The fella wants to spend his money on a car he likes, that's his perogative mah. I've spent a small fortune on my Wira only to end up with less than 90whp currently (sigh). Probably would have spent the money better transplanting my engine.

We mod our cars for self satisfaction. Not to go faster than other cars mah

Yes, its speedworks. They said they can do it, open pod can gain performance, but must change whole exhaust system together.

Yea, I know you going to Speedworks. Did you ask them about their BOT (Bolt on Turbo system)

---------- Post added at 09:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:04 AM ----------

I know what you mean. Done that before until I got my VR as like you your Perdana 6A12TT...:driver:

Not so, hotbits doing custom 4-2-1 and other things which i dunno yet to ballance it to makes the open pod function well.
While jian hang is following my original stock exhaust, just correct the size change whatever is not needed and plug and play it. Because jian hang not recommended to do performance on my ride, I am just curious and wanna try it, I`m going to buy another silvia S15 or 350z in future so soon after almera and the sick accord settle everything down, will bring it to jian hang for performance exhaust.

Then go on ahead bro, looking that u can afford a S15 or 350Z, this mod on Almera that u r testing won't hurt u a bit. Envy that you got those cash in hand to try on things u want. That's the best thing when money is not a problem. Good Luck!

I agree with you as well, but since to TS money is not a problem for him, by all means I would tell him to go ahead with testing those mods on the Almera. For his own pleasure and satisfaction, it may be worth it for him and not for us which we think that engine transplant worth more.

but he is more on testing what he can do with Almera so is a different thing. Just can support him and wait for his feedback :biggrin:

Aisay man. Lay off his case la. The fella wants to spend his money on a car he likes, that's his perogative mah. I've spent a small fortune on my Wira only to end up with less than 90whp currently (sigh). Probably would have spent the money better transplanting my engine.

True true...we mod cars for own self satisfaction and doesnt matter what people thinks as long sendiri happy and satisfied. But then we are just giving him the best option to gain better results from the money he is willing to spend. Like spend it wisely on things that works.

But now money is not a problem to TS so is okay for him to try I guess. I might try too if money is not a problem for me :biggrin:

in that case ok will support TS, but y not trying octane booster as well?

Can try the Snow Methanol but not sure got space to put or not :rofl: Unless relocate battery to the boot as many recommended.

If you can make your wira to yield 90 whp, I would say there is more saticfaction in that compared to transplanting a more powerful engine.

Moving the battery to the boot is always a good step, especially in a FWD car.

Maybe you should do that first and let Speedworks see the space that they can work with and go from there?

i went thru the same process like the TS. spent money on 1.5cc and get 8-9hp above stock hp with a broken gearbox along the way.
i agree with what brother danz (money vs hp gain) said but on the other hand, the TS got insatiable appetite for modding so thumbs up to him.

it is a matter of choice and preference.

I guess need to go for dyno before any mods done to see the improvement and whether the parts modded works...and how much improvement it does.