Apexi Open Pod problem

aku_sangap said:
frm what i heard, proton/mitsi engine (NA's engines), it's not advisebale to use open pod air filter..coz' during high rev..ur car will lost power......

p/s: got one friend of mine, using mivec in his satria, first he opted for open pod, then he told me about the problem and changed to drop in type....

izzit true?..or just a myth?..

Mivec cannot use open port? dun joke me man......

no laa...can use open port, but during high rev, my fren told me that..the power kinda' "lack"..not as umppphh..as using drop in method......can anyone verify this..

p/s: but, if vtec using open pod system...damn stil wei the sound during vtec open...ehheehehe...

Maybe should use heat shield with open pod?? So that no hot air is being sucked into the intake...

Rebel_Scum said:
if a fuel injection car is fitted with open pod filter , will the effect be noticible?? coz i heard the maf sensor will detect the extra air coming in and will adjust the fuel injected thus the difference wont be much. is this true?
efi engine will sort of learn reset its program so ur A/F ratio is balanced....
if u are using carbie engine, u have to do it manually by tuning the A/F screw...

usually performance car will use open-port air filters... so, yes the effect will be noticeable...

open pod or drop in, its your choice larrr, for some people drop in more syok, but for some open pod mroe syok, but the main point is that you need to have it installed properly. btw, an open pod on an EFi engine is louder than on a carb engine. this is from experiance when i installed an open pod on a 1.3 satria EFi and a 1.3 satria carb, the EFi sounds damn garang =)

and now im also using open pod, but on 1.3 carby in my daihatsu. so far i find it nicer compared to using the stock filter. Altho the pull is not there during the engine revving and all, but i find the FC slightly better compared using stock filter, so erm, just my two cents larr =) plus with open pod, high revving i feel more syok larr, cause less ristriction compared to using the stock filter =)

Write your reply...