info on oped pod filter

Hi, all there is also another brand with CAI like the KnN Apollo, that is from Pipercross. It uses Polyurethane (like sponge but not same material as HKS) this is washable and does not need to change like HKS. I am using it in my Honda Odyssey.

thnx coming72. but im leaning towards apexi air filters. maybe custom make the CAI. that seems like the best choice.

---------- Post added at 12:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:16 PM ----------

merlin maybe made a typo. i dont know. hahahaha

yeah its true...im using HKS mushroom too....kinda suck though.....
summore the replacement filter ori ones costs rm90, immitation rm10.........
dunno wats the diff....

Danz, got difference in power or not?

---------- Post added at 03:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:50 PM ----------

it's better if u can get sumthing like this pic..

it uses all the available space of ur engine bay

:biggrin:

This type is the best la! It's specifically made for the specific model. Fit in you specific model and provide best airflow and ram effect! Provided you didn't put any add-on before or plan to put add-ons later on. Because it take up the available space. Also, kind of hard and expensive to get around here.

d7zul, nice one. Is this you ridE?

---------- Post added at 03:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:53 PM ----------

looks monstrous. super big. hahaha

---------- Post added at 06:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:25 PM ----------

what about the simota?

Not much research done on simota. But its best if got budget constraint for ppl like me la :biggrin:. I can't afford rm500 knn and I won't use cap ayam if it is air filter. Even if power gains less, lets say 10hp compared to Apexi 14hp, I'm willing to give up 4hp to save RM150 - 200. :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 03:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:56 PM ----------

Hi...
I have great knowledge about the topic that is under discussion... So I am not able to comment some thing regarding this topic..

:adore:

Danz, got difference in power or not?

---------- Post added at 03:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:50 PM ----------

This type is the best la! It's specifically made for the specific model. Fit in you specific model and provide best airflow and ram effect! Provided you didn't put any add-on before or plan to put add-ons later on. Because it take up the available space. Also, kind of hard and expensive to get around here.

d7zul, nice one. Is this you ridE?

coming soon.. still adjusting the $$$ :hmmmm:

veloc,
not sure leh, cos 2 yrs ago i bought ori hks replacement filter from kakimotor rm90....use until brown color edi....., now using rm10 only, so far no difference.....

Its good to have an open pod filter with proper CAI and a box to insulate the engine heat. Simota has them for specific car models. I was looking for my Odyssey but they dont have them. So if there is a specific Simota set for your ride then its worth getting this upgrade.

surprising no one has mentioned Velocity Stacks yet....

something i wrote over at LYN forum...

and while were on the subject of velocity stacks....

this is a good idea for those of u thinking of changing to/upgrading your open pod filter... wat u can do is use ur normal 3" ram pipe...connect it to a BPI Velocity Stack, then get an open pod with a 6" opening and connect that to it. this has been proven to give significant gains on the dyno...filters that has 6" openings include Blitz SUS, Blox, K&N etc etc.

The basic principle behind a velocity stack is to smooth out the air as it enters your intake. A normal air intake pulls air from all around the air inlet. Because air is a fluid, it will under all circumstances try and follow either a straight or smooth path. Given a straight, rigid entrance, the air entering from around the intake tip pushes inward upon the air entering through the center of the intake, following a fluid path as illustrated. This creates lots of turbulence and essentially lowers the inner diameter of your intake pipe at its entrance (Fig 1). A velocity stack, when added on to the entrance of an air duct, gives the incoming air a smooth path to follow into the pipe, allowing the use of the entire diameter of the intake, rather than just a fraction.

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/8946/velocitystack.jpg

dyno chart sample from BPI website:
Its of a B18c1, first run is with a 3" AEM filter, second run with a BPi stack and K&N filter
http://www.bpinitiatives.com/images/test_03.jpg

http://www.8thcivic.com/forums/engine/223382-diy-bpi-velocity-stack-pic-heavy.html

ive seen dyno charts with even more gains than this... some up to 10-15 whp (mostly on VTECs)

this is also something im considering doing further down the road. getting the BPI (RM188) with a Blox filter (RM90) and later on moving to a Blitz SUS for easy maintenance.

my current HKS SPF already has its own velocity stack built into the unit itself... but bekside itchy mah lol

sample pix of how stack+filter looks like

http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/5500/0000bloxfilternvs.jpg
http://www.jonhsu.com/delsol/newam2.jpg

* take note that the Blox filter i mentioned is not washable and is meant to be thrown away after a certain mileage (forgot wat). roughly the same concept as HKS SPF which needs to throw away the element but instead with the Blox u change the whole filter. The price of the Blox is abt the same as the HKS Element so no biggie la.

same goes to the Apexi Power Intake filters. But these have the replacement element for sale. Just that I've never seen the Apexi replacement element for sale in this country.

thnx madman. good info. however, im not certain that all shops in malaysia have that. probably gotta find a supplier?

Not all shops..but if u click on the bpi link it takes u to the thread in this forum...so yes, its available.

Air filter. Up to u la wat u wanna use..even simota has 6" filters.