HU to running active....

joe_mivec

hello,
Now im thinking to upgrade my current HU to one that hv 3 preouts. one thing i need to know, did this HU can run active from this 3pairs preout?, like this la
Front -> tweeter
Rear -> midd
Sub -> subwoofer.
but this HU only hv HP/LP only, for midd we need bandpass rite? so is it can? and 1 more thing is it HU hv HP more than 3k? to drive the tweeter. Thanks alooottt....:regular_smile:

practically, u can run active setup from HU but its advisable to run it with amps.. connecting the preouts to amps then to the respective drivers
the reason: HU just do not have enuff wattage for all drivers, u'll need amplifiers
get HU with good LP/HP/BP capabilities & u can save on getting an external x-overs

Pjam said:
practically, u can run active setup from HU but its advisable to run it with amps.. connecting the preouts to amps then to the respective drivers
the reason: HU just do not have enuff wattage for all drivers, u'll need amplifiers
get HU with good LP/HP/BP capabilities & u can save on getting an external x-overs

yes i mean from my output preout to amp la, just wonder HU can run bandpass or not for my midd, im preffer to use pioneer 5750 HU as it hv 3 RCAs preout. and 1 more thing, it HP freq. can go more than 3k or not?

if HP for tweets, going above 3khz should not be a prob
bandpass capabilities can be found on most good amps, so why worry if HU can't do BP?

Pjam said:
if HP for tweets, going above 3khz should not be a prob
bandpass capabilities can be found on most good amps, so why worry if HU can't do BP?

Are u sure some amp hv BP feature? what i know, mostly amp just hv HP n LP only. BTW i already hv normal amp that only hv capabalities HP n LP only, so need tu sure if HU can do it. and if can, i dont want to use elec. X-over.

for hi/mid/lo inbuilt Hu crossover most higher end alpines and eclipse have it. maybe pioneer also but im not familiar with them.

to make sure they can ru active hi/mid/lo setup u have to see if the hi pre out has a suitable HP (around 1000-5000 hz), the low will have LP (around 30-200 Hz) and most importantly does the mid have bandpass, which is both LP and HP. not necessary to look for BP in the HU manu, if it has mid HP and mid LP then it is same as bandpass lah.

the HXD2 is currently the only HU that can do active 4 way (hi/mid/bass/sub) so it has 2 BP inside. if u can get a processor like alpine 701 it has BP for all 4 channels.

dont think 5750 can run active, i know 8650 and 9650 can run active

thanks Zenn and k2000,
so i need to check HU spec 1st, maybe look for 8650, can u suggest to me which eclipse model can run active for budget below than 1k. TQ...

if can't run active from HU, just run it from the amps.. any amp with x-overs capabilities can run speakers actively, some even have selection of slopes
using both HP + LP together means bandpass, bandpass is just a term
if u r willing to spend at least RM2k on new HU, get pioneer 8650

Pjam said:
if can't run active from HU, just run it from the amps.. any amp with x-overs capabilities can run speakers actively, some even have selection of slopes
using both HP + LP together means bandpass, bandpass is just a term
if u r willing to spend at least RM2k on new HU, get pioneer 8650
i hv no idea how tu running active just from amp crossover, coz to make signal in bandpass we need 2 cutoff freq. ( HP and LP cut off freq) so if use from amp how could we combine HP and LP together, if not no body want to use elec. x-over.

depending on the gadgets u have... eg. using 2-channel amps for midbass only, select HPF at 100hz and low pass at 2.5khz will enable midbass output of 100hz-2.5khz.. output outside the range will be attenuated.. as simple as that

an external x-over also performs the same function, its not compulsory to use it if the HU or amp has cut-off & slopes selection functions.. external x-over provides flexibility in tuning as HU & amp may have limitations, it could be lesser slope selection, lesser choices of cut-off points.. i

my advise to u is, research more on pro & cons of running active, find out the tools u need to run active.. if u have limitations on HU, why not plan ahead, save more, get better HU.. if amps have limitation, get better ones.. if wanna get external x-overs get a reliable one.. no point wasting $$ & then u realise SQ for passives is better than active.. reputable companies like morel, focal don't spent a lot on R&D for nothing, the passives on component sets serve their purpose.. :shades_smile:

Pjam said:
depending on the gadgets u have... eg. using 2-channel amps for midbass only, select HPF at 100hz and low pass at 2.5khz will enable midbass output of 100hz-2.5khz.. output outside the range will be attenuated.. as simple as that

an external x-over also performs the same function, its not compulsory to use it if the HU or amp has cut-off & slopes selection functions.. external x-over provides flexibility in tuning as HU & amp may have limitations, it could be lesser slope selection, lesser choices of cut-off points.. i

my advise to u is, research more on pro & cons of running active, find out the tools u need to run active.. if u have limitations on HU, why not plan ahead, save more, get better HU.. if amps have limitation, get better ones.. if wanna get external x-overs get a reliable one.. no point wasting $$ & then u realise SQ for passives is better than active.. reputable companies like morel, focal don't spent a lot on R&D for nothing, the passives on component sets serve their purpose.. :shades_smile:

maybe ur amp hv LP at 2.5khz or more, but mine and mostly amp is around 400hz only. dont know if high end amp can do that. If hv also we need to select mode switch either to perform HP or LP, we cannot use both at 1 time.

joe_mivec said:
maybe ur amp hv LP at 2.5khz or more, but mine and mostly amp is around 400hz only. dont know if high end amp can do that. If hv also we need to select mode switch either to perform HP or LP, we cannot use both at 1 time.

Only High end stuff have that function like DLS, Braxx, Audison...

oldskolboyz said:
Only High end stuff have that function like DLS, Braxx, Audison...
Thanks oldskolboyz,

TQ too for all ur input.....

Can somebody maybe eclipse user, let me know is it 5425 HU hv bandpass fuction?