How to save Fuel?

naoto_joe

As i'm driving a wira1.5 Auto 1998...
Which i pump RM 50 petrol only can go 250Km...

My car is stock car which nothing been mod...
Does any sifu here know how to save more fuel???

Fluffy,

My car is carburator. Anyway can help to save fuel???
As i did top overhall before and changing some car oil , gear and etc...

EFN,
How to quit drivng cars???
Everyone need a car for transport...

but rm50 for 250km only wor...
for my car (4g13 carbie), rm50 can reach at least 300km.... that one i also consider quite bad adi lohh...

how is your driving style ? Heavy footer ar ? If not then check your carb. Either your carb is Clogged , A/F incorrect or autochoke jammed. Very common problem with Proton carb.

Also any black smoke come out during cool start or high rev ? If yes then confirm auto choke jammed. Auto what your idling RPM with and w/o aircond ?

naoto_joe said:
As i'm driving a wira1.5 Auto 1998...
Which i pump RM 50 petrol only can go 250Km...

My car is stock car which nothing been mod...
Does any sifu here know how to save more fuel???

wira 1.5 auto have been well known for it notorious fuel consumption
partly due to it gearboxo nly have 3 gear , if IM not mistaken

try to change to manual gearbox
better still change the whole engine

cant really think of anything will save more than that
but you can try

diy microcomproseer , surbo , grounding , voltage regulator
lighten up your car
dont tekan soo heavy
predict traffic infront , if it going to red dont tekan , just let the car slide to a halt
dont use air-con , radio or anytihng that will theory or proven to stress your engine
smaller wheel

V l200 turbo kancil offer 120 or so km for 10 ringgit if properly tuned ... heard lah ... but they really offer more power than normal kancil which is good for psycology effect that tell you I dont have to tekan soo much just to make the car move

- Wira 1.5 Auto 1998
- RM50, 250KM, RM1.62 per lit, 30.84 lit pump in.
- stock
- owner refuse to quit driving

my suggestion, trade in your Wira 1.5 Auto with Kancil 660, it can give you RM30 for 295KM

:)

just change to manual gearbox lar.. my dad's 1.5liter carbie iswara manual did 330km on rm50, with my bro's heavy foot sommore, if not 350km can also, around town.

naoto_joe,
I have this idea that proton cars with auto tranny consumes more petrol than other cars with the same spec. And I have this other idea that the way the auto tranny works somehow makes it consume more petrol. More to that, I've also heard that proton auto tranny gearboxes are not reliable, to a certain extent. I can't give you any comments on proton auto tranny but I could share with you mine and how I save fuel.

I drive a 1.6L satria with manual tranny. The only thing I did with my car is replace the stock air filter with a K&N replacement filter (the square one). Then I open one end of my filter box and strap the K&N filter to the air flow sensor part of it. Now, it has became a DIY open pod air filter.

Coming back to fuel consumption, I tried driving at a very slow pace. I changed gear at 1300 - 1500 rpm. Nothing more than 1500 rpm. And I maintain a highest speed of about 90kmh. With this driving style, I managed to get 70km for RM10 worth of petrol, priced at RM1.62. I use Petronas petrol.

So there, that's my part of the story. Hope it helps, somehow.

satria_95 said:
Coming back to fuel consumption, I tried driving at a very slow pace. I changed gear at 1300 - 1500 rpm. Nothing more than 1500 rpm. And I maintain a highest speed of about 90kmh. With this driving style, I managed to get 70km for RM10 worth of petrol, priced at RM1.62. I use Petronas petrol.

So there, that's my part of the story. Hope it helps, somehow.
wah... change gear at 1.3k~1.5krpm???... ur car dont jerk arr??... haha...
i change gear at 2krpm... at nights, mayb alittle lower, coz that time my car got more torque to push the car...

hai bro

:X-:
SkYwAlKeR said:
wah... change gear at 1.3k~1.5krpm???... ur car dont jerk arr??... haha...
i change gear at 2krpm... at nights, mayb alittle lower, coz that time my car got more torque to push the car...

Bro,
Currently I'm driving Wira 1.5iAuto and my fuel cosumption are Rm10=80km
Modded on my car.......
Change to 4-2-1 extractor,S-type mufler,high performance centre bullet.
On time service,etc.change engine oil,gearbox oil.....
Most important thing are engine tuning.......
Lowered,use 15inch lightweight sport rims
Always use Esso petrol,never change......
Driving in town Rm10-80km
Driving in highway Rm10-100km

Sorry..thread starter..share topic...

My mum kancil 850 auto also have very bad FC...RM25 only can go about 100++ ...:shcokedcamo: i din't drive like racing etc..so anything might happened to the car or is it normal?? thanks

Fluffy,
Oh, you encountering the same problem with bad fuel consumption too? Hhmm... perhaps it's the tuning. I have a colleague who's driving a wira sedan 1.5auto. He didn't complain about the fuel consumption but I could say one thing from personally witnessing it. His total stock 1.5auto, with 4 passengers in the car, has some serious pickup power. His mechanic just tuned something in the car and it zooms like a manual tranny.

Skywalker,
No dude. My car doesn't jerk. But even if it does, I won't know it for sure because my engine mounting is already faulty, the ones at the side. I've just replaced 2 mountings on the cross member and tried shifting gears at 1300-1500rpm, it's quite alright. It's under powered, but it doesn't really jerk. Saves fuel too. hahaha

lower rev doesnt neccesery translate into better fuel
higher rev also doesnt

what important is you know where your engine peak power is
cause if too low power generate from engine
you need to give it more fuel to make the car move
and in higher gear the car need to press even more fuel

well if you are fine with it ok lah , just dont want any noobies to misunderstood
everysingle car got differnet power band

I rev until 2.7 to 3 k to change
if lower no power , no nothing , go like sh*t

Taka_Ryo : time to change to l200 , guarnatee you can go 10 ringgit 100 km , well most of the time ...

guest18,
Well, I guess so. I'm not entirely sure what range is my optimum gear change so I figured that low rpm means low fuel consumption. hahaha But in most times, I would usually change gear at 6500rpm. hahaha No la, just kidding. hehehe Usually, I'd change at about 1500 - 2k rpm, depending on road level. If going uphill, then have to change at higher rpm lor. heh heh

satria : wow...really??carby tuning can do that?woah.haha but im more worried about the FC la..i can spare the pick up for now..LOL

haiz...... all my cars makan petrol 1. the most cheap 1 is awanza, running 13sen per kilo. another 2.............. put water also will poor......
mazda running 18sen/km
wira auto1.5 16sen/km