How To Save Fuel and Add Milage

Sometimes people ask me why do I take Sprint Highway to go to TTDI instead of going through the old road. My answer to save more fuel because I don't like to go through stop-and-go traffic.

hi cam....mmm..higher compression..over highrev.....etc...sum it up extra bhp over powerband....

stop and go actually eats more fuel ritez..rather thn stright non-stop highway....???coz 1st and 2nd gear is alwiz engage means more fuel is used...

tyres...tohsan bro....me needed it...i using blardy sime tyres 15 inch within 1 year all worn out...need new sets...any suggestion...??

hei..we suppose to talk about fuel consumption...y topic changed tyres....nvm..wat the heck...free forum...let's chat...!!!!

hmm.. from stand still accellerate only til 3000rpm per gear
cruise at 2000 rpm.
graduatly squeeze the throttle. press as much as needed only.
use brake effiecntly, learn the right way to use em.
for auto, put in N when at stop.
free the gear when braking to a stop (approaching a traffic light,etc.)
throw away unnnessesarry stuff in the car.
service regularly
go to toilet b4 travel
never fill till full tank, 1/3 only. 1/4 better. 1/5 crazy??!! damn kedekut. have to refill every 15 minits driving??!!
always smile
don't use aircond
use narrow tyre.smaller rim

enuff???
if not, sell d waja, buy kelisa. f.c. OK pick-up OK hehe.
-just a piece of my mimd-

fuel consumption problems again?

1. the bigger the engine capacity the more fuel use over same distance.
2. petrol engine vehicle consumes more fuel than diesel engine due to its high rev nature. example a BMW 530d..a very powerful car but still economical as it is on diesel.
3. the higher resistance our car has, the more fuel it will consume.
i) aerodynamic cars use less fuel. use of body spoilers add downforce but reduce efficiency. that's reason why they are called spoiler. they spoiled the smooth airflow.
ii) small and light tyres/wheels preserves fuel usage. that's why i stick to 14" standard to my wira instead of going bigger just for the sake of looks. :D
iii) the lighter the car the better. space saving spare wheel not only add more space in the boot, but reduce weight also. for ICE, i strongly recommend everybody to use only one speaker. instead of 10! ha ha ha

all in all, a Honda EX-5 suddenly makes sense isnt it? :D

Zan,

Mine waja 1.6 auto too ..i found the FC is quite high. So I tested the X1-R stuff oil treatment after servicing my car I pur some in my oil tank. It seems that the engine feels smooth and light. The Petrol consume less.

Try Another product called K2 Power ..it says can reduce FC until 35%. That's high man. Month ending I'll try to get one and let you guys now the results.

my father's waja is 5 years old. mileage about 130,000km. we do face problems like engine harshness when accelerate but in the past 5 years consumption i can say slightly better than average. satisfactory.

even when using 16" perdana V6 wheels. but waja auto really kenot tahan when u thrashed it. :D (that's me laa..)

normal use : 10 litres = 100-110km. = RM16.20
F1 wannabe use : 10 litres = 60-70km. = RM16.20

eh, crankshaft do tell us the outcome of using X1-R. see got big diference or not..

zan said:
fuel consumption problems again?

2. petrol engine vehicle consumes more fuel than diesel engine due to its high rev nature. example a BMW 530d..a very powerful car but still economical as it is on diesel.

all in all, a Honda EX-5 suddenly makes sense isnt it? :D

Petrol = 9,700 Wh/l
Diesel = 10,942 Wh/l

Diesel contains about 12% higher energy density than gasoline (petrol). Hence, even with the same efficiency in burning, it'll save 12% compared to a gasoline engine. Furthermore, modern diesel engines are more efficient.

EX-5 is cool, I rode it once from KL to penang. My butt almost divorced my hips. :S

kyspeaks said:
Petrol = 9,700 Wh/l
Diesel = 10,942 Wh/l

Diesel contains about 12% higher energy density than gasoline (petrol). Hence, even with the same efficiency in burning, it'll save 12% compared to a gasoline engine. Furthermore, modern diesel engines are more efficient.

EX-5 is cool, I rode it once from KL to penang. My butt almost divorced my hips. :S

well said there..:D

i had my time with the EX-5. that time no youngsters can be seen riding one. normally only the paper men, roti men, postmen and policemen riding them. back in 1991. ekekkekee...

he longest i rode my kapchai was from melaka to kuantan. 4 times refuel and top speed reaching 125kmh upon going down hill...reach home evening. my whole body still vibrating at 9pm. ha ha ha..

Hahaha, so I wasn't the only crazy one. I have an RS 250 now and the furthest I go is PJ to Cheras. lol. Vibrating butt isn't too fun.

i got kapchai...frm pj to kl bukit jalil aint tht syok either....80kph fasteest speed...downhill can reach 100kph...vibrating until butt also itchy...

kyspeaks said:
Hahaha, so I wasn't the only crazy one. I have an RS 250 now and the furthest I go is PJ to Cheras. lol. Vibrating butt isn't too fun.

RS250? i had ridden one in 1997. so wild...:D

but i was put off by the price...u know laa..not worth investing. urs still standard or modded also? ekekkekek..standard output already too powerful rite?

hey kyspeaks, between ur RS250 and ZXR250, which one is faster? tried before or not? also ridden once on kawa z2, its hard to believe the machine was spinning 16,000rpm underneath u...

personally, i like RGV250 1990 Gamma spec, but the one i really admire is the TZ250R with triple YPVS...

now? KRZ 150. cheap, and faster than almost anything else....:D

zan said:
RS250? i had ridden one in 1997. so wild...:D

but i was put off by the price...u know laa..not worth investing. urs still standard or modded also? ekekkekek..standard output already too powerful rite?

hey kyspeaks, between ur RS250 and ZXR250, which one is faster? tried before or not? also ridden once on kawa z2, its hard to believe the machine was spinning 16,000rpm underneath u...

personally, i like RGV250 1990 Gamma spec, but the one i really admire is the TZ250R with triple YPVS...

now? KRZ 150. cheap, and faster than almost anything else....:D

alot mat rempits using RG,gamma,tzm,ex 5 and kapchai modified evo engine...but it is dangerous to fly with those motors

eujin said:
alot mat rempits using RG,gamma,tzm,ex 5 and kapchai modified evo engine...but it is dangerous to fly with those motors

believe me eujin nobody is spared when u crashed and hit something else.

track racing is the most safest. still, even Ayrton Senna lost his life behind racing car.

last year Daijiro katoh if not mistaken passed away after crashing his motoGP machine.

those who want to rempit, we just let them so. :D

zan said:
believe me eujin nobody is spared when u crashed and hit something else.

track racing is the most safest. still, even Ayrton Senna lost his life behind racing car.

last year Daijiro katoh if not mistaken passed away after crashing his motoGP machine.

those who want to rempit, we just let them so. :D

well..conclusion speedkills

Not sure about your car, but mine whenever I pump petrol, will be somewhere RM50 +/-, RM48 or RM52, that gives me around 400 km's.

I think the fuel consumption is ok for me, normal driving 100 - 120 km/h, and also high rev.

I used to drive slow like tortoise 80 km/h, to save some fuel, but it doesn't make much difference, perhaps around 50 km/h more?

If you pump RM50 can get 400 km's then very the good liao. Mine is a 1.3 btw.

The microcompressor are all crap, there is this man in his 50's, approach me kept persuading me to buy this thing. After a long talk (he was the one who talk non stop), i just say I'll 'see' you tomorrow if I'm interested.

Ppl wan traction n u wan to reduce traction???:eek:

He's asking how to save fuel n add mileage. Not how to risk his life.

bro..i1 life...i choose to live my life...plssss

well..i know lighter on the throttle....smooth rev...fix microcompressor....put x1r.... original 15 inch rims(im not goin 2 change to 13 inch bro)

petrol on my car full is around rm85

can go max only lah 350km...smooth driving...wat the fuck is goin on...isit automatic tht makan minyak...3 years car only wor

wao, ur car really more makan than mine leh....

i never use wat X1R things, coz i think the money to buy the X1R, actually can pay for petrol also ma... :D

i used to drive my 1.6 mivec satria to work,

town driving with traffic i shift below 3krpm, no car, shift ard 4-5k rpm, corner at 4-5k rpm,

sometimes gila drag 1,2,3 gear to 8.5k rpm, enter n exit corner at 6k-8krpm.....
gila ard 1-3 time for a tank....

worst FC ard 340km for 40liters
best FC ard 400-420km for 40liters....
40liter x rm1.62= rm64.8

somemore mivec gearbox final drive are bigger, cruising on highway 110km/h 5th gear is ard 3900rpm....
usually is 3000rpm

i have heavy foot too... :D hehe.... so cannot blame my fc going high....

ok ok back to the topic

1.)i believe auto gearbox consume more petrol.... than manual :D

2.)some ppl told me some waja's auto gb sot sot one... the gearbox will drag the 2nd gear until almost red line only change gear....

3.)btw, ur tyres almost botak in one year... i think u might travel alot.. so do check ur auto gearbox... is it time to 'kong'... :P once its unsufficient, u may counter higher rpm at same speed... for lets say last time(new car) u cruising 110km/h at 2700rpm, now 3100rpm.... :D

4.)did u install microcompressor? take it off n try without it... :D coz i dun trust it, just try no harm.

5.)tyre pressure, under pressure tyres will cause bad FC, check tyre pressure every 2-3 weeks... u always can pump extra 1-2psi then factory recommended.

6.)reduce ur car weight, like others sifu said, take out unnecessary things on ur car.

7.)lighter right foot, b4 i can control my right foot, my satria gave me super bad FC... 40ltrs 250km, coz everytime WOT.... :P i said everytime....

8.)service ur engine n change engine n atf oils regulary... check ur spark plugs... air filter....

9.)bad O2 sensor, if its sot sot, i may always tell ur ecu ur ca running lean n need more fuel, so giv me more fuel.... haha... find a workshop with MUT, ask them plug in n check for u...

10.)try reset ur ecu by unplug the battery for overnight.

11.)send ur car to do MUT check up... see any prob can detect or not... check ur throttle body position as well...

just my 0.0002cents... :D

last last everything also cannot, take out the engine kick it few times, find a 1.8 turbo gsr terbalik engine n drop in... :P

my friend's satria stock 1.8 turbo giv 40ltr 350km.... way better than urs... :D but his one manual also la... :D

Write your reply...