How to save Fuel?

Dunno wor, I watched it on Astro, Discovery Channel 50.

You could try looking for it on sites like Torrentspy, Mininova, etc.

si|verfish said:
Switching off your aircon and winding down your window wouldn't necessarily save you fuel. Because if you are cruising, by having your window down, you are increasing drag and that effects fuel consumption.

Mythbusters actually tested this, with 2 identical cars running with the same fuel around a track. One with the window down and one with its air conditioning on. Apparently, when you are going slowly, its better to have your windows down. But, if your are going fast (they said 50 mph which is around 80 km/h), it is better to have your aircon on. That's because aerodynamic drag only comes into play when you are going fast enough.

yeah agree agree.. basically..
save fuel = dont drive loh...

EFN said:
Quit Driving Cars

save fuel. not STOP using fuel :_:

try to increase efficiency of your car engine. spent good money on spark plug, engine oil and filter.

that would save ur fuel. but again u will spend more money on servicing ur engine. at the end, you have do calculate and balance out on everything.

but basic recommendation, light pedal and keep a moderate speed and always look ahead your traffic and movement of your car. example, if you reaching a junction which you wanted to turn, dont pedal all the way to the end and jam the brake like mad to turn. rather keep a good cruising speed and put neutral or step on the clutch to let your car run on its own.

all i can say... it is all about physics. :_:

si|verfish said:
Switching off your aircon and winding down your window wouldn't necessarily save you fuel. Because if you are cruising, by having your window down, you are increasing drag and that effects fuel consumption.

Mythbusters actually tested this, with 2 identical cars running with the same fuel around a track. One with the window down and one with its air conditioning on. Apparently, when you are going slowly, its better to have your windows down. But, if your are going fast (they said 50 mph which is around 80 km/h), it is better to have your aircon on. That's because aerodynamic drag only comes into play when you are going fast enough.
true for some cars but not all cars i'm afraid, especially my old old ke70.

must make something clear first:
- i switch on the aircond half of the time, mean half of the time its off, not off forever.
- city driving, go to university, back home, go grandparent's house yam cha...
- driving speed varies from traffic jam crawling to 80km/h (occasionally 110km/h at night since no traffic)

last year i spend over 3 months just trying to find out my driving style vs fuel consumption, one of them is the aircond issue (for MY CAR, if your car not the same dun shoot me).

normal driving no heavy throttle, aircond off whenever it is not too hot (morning, night) or its not raining. I found i can do 20-30km extra with rm50 of petrol (average), normaly i get about 270km with rm50 of fuel but with aircond off i can do near 300km.

and.. yes.. carry less people XD there's one time my mom's car got in an accident so i have to become a driver most of the time, carry people up and down, same traffic condition as what i usually did on my normal days, and rm50 only gives me 220km!!! gah~ even my dad's 4g15 carb gives way better milage than my car, sommore more powerful.

For modern engines, letting it run free WITH gear engaged actually uses no fuel at all. On the other hand, if you let it run neutral, the engine still uses fuel to stop the engine stalling. Well, that's what Clarkson said anyway.

open discussion:

a lot of question come across when the FC discussion raise up.no wonder newest car nowdays improve their engine efficency better and better.do they use fuel saver??? NOP!
try compare a 5 years old car and new car for the same brand? let say proton wira 1.5 auto.my neighbour just bought a wira 1.5A se for 6 month with giant rims..hehee
and my friends use the same car but it was made in 2000. when i do survey, the new wira can clock easily rm10 for 100km while the 6 years old car just manage to get 60km per rm10. it a 40% loss and it huge!!!
so what makes this different?? wear and tear. to minimize this, there's no magic nor miracle to get back to the benchmark.we need to go back to the basics enginering. try to reduce wear and tear.its not an easy task but slowly progress can achieve at least 85%.
i'm not pro but this FC issue also make me headict.

let carry on discuss.

si|verfish said:
For modern engines, letting it run free WITH gear engaged actually uses no fuel at all. On the other hand, if you let it run neutral, the engine still uses fuel to stop the engine stalling. Well, that's what Clarkson said anyway.

let's say if u pedal all the to the corner and another case u put neutral and let your car's momentum to cruise to the corner. will that save a little extra fuel for the later case?

When I said, "run free with gear engaged", I mean with foot off the pedal. Preferably in a high gear of course.

si|verfish said:
When I said, "run free with gear engaged", I mean with foot off the pedal. Preferably in a high gear of course.

ok my bad.

but again run free with neutral vs run free high gear, shouldnt be neutral will consume lesser fuel?