HOnda City VS Vios?

Jackie Leong said:
buying vios cuz of exterior looks and not because of overall specs? ooo..kay

and i hope you don't just rely on the facts on paper which makes you conclude that the I-DSI is lesser performing than the Vios. Check out what makes both cars as it is then you'll see they aren't far apart.

True. I remember reading somewhere that even though the I-DSI produces less bhp compared to the VIOS's VVTI, but somehow, when they did the 0-100km/h test, the CITY was fast by 0.01 seconds. Plus the fact that CITY is heavier.

Basically, sometimes just looking at the amount of horsepower an engine produces is not enuff. I guess the CITY has quicker pickup due to its close ration CVT.

Anyway.. this CITY vs VIOS topic is a never ending story. A loyal Toyota fan will say VIOS is better and a loyal Honda fan will always say CITY is better.

city looks good if you mod it in da rite way...... it's interior looks nicer and sporty compare to vios.... vios is jus too common nowadays....

toiletduck...u driving vios ka?...is that vios in ur sig urs? with GT wing ka? if so then damn nice lah ur car...btw, its hard to see a ppl driving vios will give good comment on city...u're the first one did it :P...but then wat i wanna say is test drive before make decision...becoz we own got our requirement to buy car..it's not about which car better, is which car suits ur taste and requirement?...it's the car work for u...not u work for u car... hopes u understand wat i mean :P..btw, city honestly would say it's quite ugly, but try see it with open minded, it's looks quite good u know, esp when with bodykit...or u wanna play with style, go for VIP style (em' consider to do this) since the city butt is big enuff to be VIP...

sonictheory said:
toiletduck...u driving vios ka?...is that vios in ur sig urs? with GT wing ka? if so then damn nice lah ur car...btw, its hard to see a ppl driving vios will give good comment on city...u're the first one did it :P...but then wat i wanna say is test drive before make decision...becoz we own got our requirement to buy car..it's not about which car better, is which car suits ur taste and requirement?...it's the car work for u...not u work for u car... hopes u understand wat i mean :P..btw, city honestly would say it's quite ugly, but try see it with open minded, it's looks quite good u know, esp when with bodykit...or u wanna play with style, go for VIP style (em' consider to do this) since the city butt is big enuff to be VIP...

heheh.... nothing much....
jus trying to spoke out my opinion bout city..... it's not that bad.... it's a honda after all....
you planning to mod your city....?? city with gt wing looks good as well.... but must find a rite one... saw a black city with gt wing b4.....

my mom got city. consumption is very good. one full tank can go kl-ipoh-kl with some runabout in ipoh. managed to get close to 580-600km's on one full tank. sommore on highway cruising between 120-140km/h.
looks i guess is in the eyes of the beholder. :)
gearbox no problem, yet. crossed fingers.
friend has vios. will compare with him and see.

hi there..

just to share with you all, my gf is getting VIOS, but she facing a problems with thos toyota sales man! giving empty promises, like trade in her car to topmart, give a higher value, all those sales talks. i guess Toyota is sales is growing too fast, they couldn't control their sales service level.

but HONDA, sales people are more friendly, they are willing to nego with you. even you request more discount, dare sacrifice their commission for you. i can say that HONDA sales people are better. end of the day is, depends on your own judgement. sometimes the product is good but the service is worst! so, is again depends on your own criteria.

well, just my 2 cents.. pls don't hit me! i know is a bit out of topic.. just wanna share with you all, don't just look at the products only, measure their service level as well. by the way, i still prefer CITY! i'm VTEC fans... hahaha..

cheers..... :)

gsrking said:
Hey guys, need some good advice from the pro's. Can anyone tell me which is a good bargain..the price range for both cars are about the same so comparing Honda City with Vios in terms or outlook? performance? everything...Looking forward for some comments on this..thanks!

vios is definetely small inside... city design looks funny..y dun go 4 eg8/9?

practicality, power, fuel saving, fun 7-speed auto box, funky 'millenium' design, the list goes on n on......:D not to mention 2yr FREE service & 3yr warranty!

Toyota Salesperson...

Neway i've decided to go for Vios, already booked, but sometimes when i see the Toyota's salesperson F*^&&Ckin face i feel like wanna change my mind and go for City. When u enter the showroom, no body like wanna entertain you, like very busy. You call this customer service? Is this an attitude prob or because they're so "busy" having a good time drinking coffee at their mini cafeteria. Anyone experience this prob b4? Neva mind, after 5 mins, then came this stupid guy name J&%#, see his cocky face, wah i tell you oso u dun feel like buying aredi. Somemore can't give me a detail explanation on the specification of the car. I can be a better salesperson and take up his job. His boss should consider hiring me..I'm the customer and i need to see your stupid face? Really wanna throw cash on his face!! one more thing 2-3 mths for the car? Is this true? need to wait that long? Those Toyota salesperson out there, not tryin to condemn you all, but sorry la i was forced to...

Agree.....damn suck face!!! went to see the Toyota Innova....no customer service at all. I mean i know it is a 2litre MPV..etc but at least he can help me with more specs...definitely appreciate it. Sit down there talk on the phone and the other reading newspaper...maybe it is the way i dress bcos I was not wearing a coat or have cash sticking out of my pocket....Anyway, slammed the door of the demo car.....hell the fella reading the newspaper nearly fell of his chair!!! Take that sucker...

Haih.. toyota.. really bad at their service... my friend had 2 wait 2 extra weeks for his altis 2 come... they left him stranded without a car for 2 weeks... after they assure him the car was coming.. dem bullshit

hiyahh.... the external battle between Vios and City...

This is what i have to say.....

i ai'nt saying the Vios is not good... BUT a true, impartial car enthusiast will see more substance in the City. Look at the Autocar review a couple of years back. Their choice was the City...

Well, one of the reasons that I backed out from purchasing the vios was because of their salesagents attitude and lack of respect towards a potential buyer.

yea true
somehow the honda sales force seems to be more interested in selling their cars
had the similar experience to jackie... asked to test drive the vios... he said... test drive for wot... people buy the car without test driving
see my files... got all the customers buy with out testing...
this was at the branch in seksyen 19 ( near jaya supermarket)

I do know that the Toyota's SA is quite bad in general, but lucky me I've got quite a good SA. I went to the showroom with my normal attire, t-shirt, shorts + slipper and I was treated like a potential customer. I guess, irregardless of which car manufacturer'd branch you go to, there maybe a few or more bad eggs in the basket. Nevertheless, the final decision for you to purchase the car lies in your own hands and true liking of the car and NOT the attitude of those silly SA. If the particular SA sux, go to other branches or call other SA to attend to you. Just don't make a hasty decision.

As for after sales services, such as the Service Centres, I'd say Honda has an edge, but Honda it isn't GREAT. In my household there's a CRV, send to Honda SC to rectify the "grinning" problem and after numerous attempts, the problem still persists. Same goes to Toyota SC, on my Vios which has minor problems which is the door rattling noice and I give up on the Toyota SC to solve the problem. I'll just might get some Dynamat or Superlon or bitumen strips to settle the rattling on the door panel.

Anyway, Vios and City, both are equally great vehicles which holds its own positive and negative values. You will never go wrong with either car.

depands on u loh...

no car are PERFECT~!!! If U are A FUZZY Fellow to buy...

Honda city also got many KAcau one... u don't know only....

Sure TOyota Vios also got one...but not Much...

I think when buying cars like city and vios, performance shouldn't be a big deciding factor. At least not those on the spec sheet.

The City has the same platform as the Jazz, which is also the Fit. In some countries, the City is called the Fit saloon/sedan. So a city is a mini MPV disguise as a mini sedan, while the vios is just another mini sedan.

Test driven the Jazz before. well not exactly le, my friend rented one and I just took over on the driver seat for a bit. not too fun on highway, but drives well in city. Never driven a vios before, but sat in one. feels just like any other mini car out there(like those koreans).

So I'll go for the City, given the choice. But I'm talking about stock car used as daily drivers. Different case la, if you want to mod 99. If you want to mod 99, just buy which ever make that you're familiar with the mod parts. :D