Help me get an amp

digitheatre

noob here in ICE

what I have currently in my kelisa is Pioneer 4650MP HU, Macrom component 6.5" in front and custom sealed box subwoofer 8" - no speaker at the back

also I have 800W precision power amp which is currently powering the subwoofer.. which I doubt it is good enough (cheap rm98 only)..producing noise.. dat's why I just use it for my sub

I'm looking for an amp to power my front.. anyone can suggest me a good one.. please recommend one that is suitable for my current setup.. means in term of price and quality.. i want to produce stable sound from my front at high volume

issit better for me to get 4 channel or 2 channel one? if 4 channel means i can get rid of the previous amp and use this amp for both front and subwoofer?
please help me sifu.. thanks..

First thing, how mush is your budget?
If you are not that happy with your current 2 channel amp, maybe a good 4 channel amp is a good option. Personally, I have not used an amp yet. However, after some survey, it looks like that some sony amps and maybe Pioneer amps is within rm600 (4 channel).

If you opt for a 4 channel amp, you can get rid of the current sub amp. Just find amps that can do 4/3/2 channel.

Your HU does have 2 pair of RCA out right? Because, if you don't, you might need and electonic crossover or parametric equalizer or just a simple 1 to 2 RCA cable to send the signals to the amp. Or, if you opt for amps that has/accept speaker level inputs, you might not need any of the above.

Hope this helps. :)

thank you cacin
my budget is around rm600 for 4 channel.. but i think i will just go for 2 channel one. Not sure bout the price i'm looking for.. but maybe one under rm400.. i just need an amp that should be good enough to power my front. my setup is not high end and not sure even reach mid end :P .. just want to push the best from what i currently have.
my HU do have only 1 RCA.. so what do u think i should go for? amp + crossover/equalizer or amp which accept speaker level inputs.
guide me please.. thanks

digitheatre said:
thank you cacin
my budget is around rm600 for 4 channel.. but i think i will just go for 2 channel one. Not sure bout the price i'm looking for.. but maybe one under rm400.. i just need an amp that should be good enough to power my front. my setup is not high end and not sure even reach mid end :P .. just want to push the best from what i currently have.
my HU do have only 1 RCA.. so what do u think i should go for? amp + crossover/equalizer or amp which accept speaker level inputs.
guide me please.. thanks

If you want 2 channel, Brothers was selling a Sony 2 channel XM-502Z for around RM400.
You might also look at Pioneer's GM-3100T or GM-5100T since it has speaker level input.
Getting a crossover/equalizer will add more cost to your budget.
Further more, you will still need to pay for instllation fees and other stuff like fuse, distribution block and cables.
What subwoofer are you using? How do you like your music? If your woofer can support it, maybe you can use your new 2 channel amp to power the woofer instead. This might be able to provide you better bass (if you prefer bass).

magnat bull power falls into ur range.
brand new 4 channels. 65wx4@4ohm, 14,4V.

check them out with xcheong...

cacin said:
If you want 2 channel, Brothers was selling a Sony 2 channel XM-502Z for around RM400.
You might also look at Pioneer's GM-3100T or GM-5100T since it has speaker level input.
Getting a crossover/equalizer will add more cost to your budget.
Further more, you will still need to pay for instllation fees and other stuff like fuse, distribution block and cables.
What subwoofer are you using? How do you like your music? If your woofer can support it, maybe you can use your new 2 channel amp to power the woofer instead. This might be able to provide you better bass (if you prefer bass).

ok thanks..
the sony dun hv speaker level input?
so means it is still ok if i just have only 1 RCA out?
erm..power new 2 channel amp to my subwoofer? I already have a 2 channel amp to power my woofer.. so I'm thinking of getting another 2 channel amp to power my front.. get more quality amp for that purpose coz I think the current amp I have is lousy one.. that's why I just use it to power my woofer
if I already have one amp.. what I can share between these two amp? means I need to get another set of fuse,blocks,cables?

Bro,

If you are using Macrom with 3" voice coil, you may need a decent amp to drive it. if that the case try to find a good used high quality amp with big power.

cnab said:
Bro,

If you are using Macrom with 3" voice coil, you may need a decent amp to drive it. if that the case try to find a good used high quality amp with big power.

what u mean by 3" voice coil? sorry..dunno
i'm using this macrom model http://www.macrom.it/speakers/m3s60.html
can u recommend any amp suitable for it? i'm not sure what the specs i need to look for

Sorry for getting you confused, the one that i have are the old scool macrom made by morel. The new one im not familiar.

best is to power a sub with 2 channel hehehehe becoz 4 channel is like one person do 2 job ma...

with the 4 ch he can get rid of the sub amp lor, just this one amp to power both the sub & components.

Write your reply...