g200 probs...

time2drift

hai guys.. i rily need some help here. im about to buy a standard charade espri. juz wanna know is it hard to find the sparepart of this model??? and what is the best performance engine for it?? the deto 1.6 is already out of the list bcoz jpj wouldn't let me to endorse it. the cb70 is an ol engine, so is it difficult to get its parts?? what about 4E?? any extreme mod to use this engine??? or even the 1.3 yrv engine... love this one but is there anyone that have plonk in this engine into an espri.. and can i use the tiptronic box??? thanks a lot guys...

The simplest way is to transplant the HC-E 1300cc engine found from Espri 1.3 half-cut. If you want, you could also buy a complete DeTomaso half-cut and replace the engine block with a 1.3 unit (hybrid). The plus side of this type of modification, you will get all the goodies which came from the half-cut (dashboard, bodykit, red carpet, disc brakes all round etc.) Performance wise, it is not bad as the hybrid engine will use the original DeTomaso cylinder head, extractors, ECU, gearbox etc and most importantly, it is legal.

Installing 4E or even the YRV engine will result in changing the position of the engine mounting which is a big no-no for JPJ. Registering the engine will be a big headache. Furthermore, the cost of YRV half-cut is not cheap

the spare parts are just fine...no prob for me....

yea...u can hybrid like wat escortburuk said....

btw escortburuk...just a question....can i use the 1.3 block...and use 1.6 internels? if not mistaken the piston is same size right? if not..it can bore bigger to fit deto piston right? use back all 1.6 crank, stroke etc etc...so it will be 1.6...can ar?

According to the engine specs, the HD-E (DeTo) & HC-E (1.3) shares the same piston size (76mm) but have different stroke (87.6 vs 71.4). This means that the DeTo engine have a "taller" engine block than the 1.3. You could refer to this link for specs of both engine.

http://64.233.179.104/translate_c?hl=en&u=http://home10.highway.ne.jp/cwl/charade6.html&prev=/search%3Fq%3Ddaihatsu%2Bcharade%2Bhc-e%2Bengine%26start%3D20%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26safe%3Doff%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official_s%26sa%3DN

i drive a charade espri with 4E engine inside. just had it endorsed 2 months ago. to plonk a 4E into a G200 chassis is not a straight-forward job, but it's not as much of a hassle either. it can be done, and many has done it before. but the overall installation and modification cost is of course higher than if u choose HC-E instead.

4E in a G200 has quite a good FC. for example, my FC is 12.67 km/liter (330km for rm50 worth of fuel at rm1.92/liter) for city driving, and 18.77 km/liter for long-distance driving (440km for rm45 worth of fuel at rm1.92/liter).

- D i a b l o - said:
woah it can do that????
how fast were you driving? aircond off?
my city driving style (estimation)..
aircond is off 80% of the time hehe
30% boosting around + 70% auntie driving at 80-90kmh

my long-distance driving style (estimation)..
aircond is off 40% of the time
20% giving chase to other cars (just to keep me awake when i felt sleepy) + 80% cruising at 100-110kmh

hi all bro,

how about G202, 1000cc? have dicided to change to 1.3 hc-e, but heard from my fren, this model need to mod the engine mount, can any body help?? pls.....

espri convert the engine to hc or hd still need to modify the mounting..but not too hassle like convert to 4e...
but for me...i prefer 4e than hc,hc not enough power la...but its all depend on the money in the pocket la...

yo ya_aluya, hows ur car? siap oredi onot?? when can i see u in sepang dude?heheh

bottom line is, u get what u pay for. kalu rasa nok masuk turbo, standby duit lebih. kalu rasa budget ngam2, hc-e is a more logical choice then. gud luck on ur conversion bro..

hi bro,

thanks, but will the car have any side effect after mod? jus check wif my fren, a pomen, he said the car will not stable and feel the car vibrating when driving after mod, is this true?

i think if you are referring to parts the G200 is definately easier to find compared to the G100 now... dun mentioned the older models...

anywayz, the G200 shares some parts with the sedan ascend... so its easier to find also... =)

Hi all,

Have this web site got problem or not? this tread had quite long time ago, and some new tread have been missing...............

Any way, bro, thanks for your kindly reply..............
actually mine is g202 1k cc hope change to 1.3.......

the half cuts now are seldom coming in already, mostly are 1.3's which are just nice for you =) happy hunting =) just to let you know i saw one halfcut in subang the other day its an auto 1.3... =)