- Fibreglass -

Oh yes, forgot to mention that, thanks ninja_iga.

The mould release agents can varies to different types. Some are applied before you lay the fibreglass process, some are applied, which can also be the colour of the end fibreglass as well.

you guys are great!

now, we are clear that a mould is necessary.

but how do i stick fibreglass to my plastic door
panel and at the same time strong enuf so that
the midbass dun burst out when i hit the volume?

thanks.

To create a custom door panel fibreglass speaker panel will require a lot of job, but here, you dont have to make any mould.

You need to make a necessary wood frame for you speaker to sit on, where do you want them to sit, which angle should they face. So basically, the idea of using the fibreglass is to make the cover over it hidding all the inside wood work.

Like I said, after making the frames, apply the fibreglass over the frames. How do you do that? I am not very sure how much can you access to firebglass materials in Malaysia, but over here, you can purchase the over-lay clothes for fibreglass fabrication. Basically, it's a piece of clothes not any ordinary clothes but the texture and material is like a clothes, it's flexible, so you can stretch it over the frames and glue/staple it to the wooden frames, hence showing how your fibreglass surface would look like at the end.

After over-laying and covering the frames with the clothes, just apply fibreglass on top of the clothes and then you are done. Of course the surface would not be smooth, so a lot of sanding and fibreglass putty has to be used to create a smooth end results.

You might want to try using normal clothes if you cannot get access to them, but make sure the fibreglass resins does not eat up the clothes, otherwise it shows that normal clothes wont work.

hi edgar,

i presume this method could be applied
to a-pillar for tweeter installation too.

thanks a lot mate.

built, do a Google search on that... there heaps of tutorial available ;)

I'm trying to get my hands on some ABS plastic sheets but I don't see any car accessory shops carrying them. Any idea guys?

everblur

ABS.. i know where to get Styrene sheets, it's in a plastic supply store in KL, Jalan Hang Tuah (next to the Jln. Hang Tuah firestation)

2nd row turn left, about 10 shops down, on your right. (1st cornershop is coffee-shop)

everblur,
you need to source plastic sheets at hardware shops.
try kou fung at jalan kuchai lama. they have many plastic
material. you can also consider pvc or hdpe. if you still
have problem and if the qty is small, i maybe able to help
you, depending on the thickness you require.

Thanks guys. The only place I can think of that has ABS is eBay.

sorry to disturd, if i want to custom make a fiber hood, and how to make a mould.
i got extra od my front hood...heheh... just wonder how to make a mould only... if the mould can be done.... then i can duplicate as many as i want right? any idea on the mould ?

martinchan

yea mould making from an original hood's possible.
to make a mould? vomit blood la. alot of prep and work, my Fibreglass manual is more like a bible than a book!

mould replication is limited by it's initial build quality. Built well, it'll mould out many replicas.
lousy mould, it'll break trying to release the master/original!
ok boleh-la mould, 2-5 pieces if you're lucky.

not easy dude.

i see... i just wonder... cause i'm very interested in that kind of things.
thanks dude.

martinchan

hey no worries, well, if you wanna proceed, go ahead. Do something really small, and practise and learn from that lo.

i once did a race car front bodywork, 4weeks work down the drain, the master STUCK to the friggin' MOuld!
*frust*

hi i juz read this thread n very interested in it. since ninja said he tried to make bodywork out of this fibreglass n resin stuff, does it mean that this stuff can actually stand engine heat n also strong enuf to replace the originals ? can it stand the impact of accidents ? you can actually make a whole car's body out of fibreglass ?? damn cool if u can isn't it ?

fiber can stand the heat, but not the impact in accident....it;s something like biscuit...crack when being hit.....but if u make it really thick, i think it wont so easy to crack, but the weight is also horrible if make it thick...although it's light weight than other material, but if thick enuff it's still more heavy than others.....

ninja_iga said:
i once did a race car front bodywork, 4weeks work down the drain, the master STUCK to the friggin' MOuld!
*frust*

hahaha .. i get the same thing happen on my custom dashboard. the master stuck to the mould and it weight a ton ! 2 week of preparation , work , money wasted ....

hey ninja, do u know where can i get those 1lb density urethane foam ? those foam that alpine uses in the "Thump" episod in Rides .

and howie,

thick fiberglass doesn't mean it tough . i use 5 layers of map and 2 layer of tissue ( those smaller and finer map) , get involved in a slow xcident ( 60kmh) and the whole left side have big crack and the air-ram side broke in pieces .

or like mine custom audio enclosure . 1st time use only4 layer and the bass crack the damn enclosure . now it's 7 layer and heavy as hell .

Is urethane foam the same as those gap filler sprays sold at ACE Hardware? Those things are damn useful...

i dunno .. the one i wanted is not the in spray can type . it more like those foam used in the flower vase for plastic flower arrangement. but with density

hey..guy.. be careful to that foam. it will makan ur car body (get rusted) after 1 yr inside the chasis. one of the 3M sales man told me that, even he did sell those kind of foam spray. good example on alfa origin car, all get rusted fast...