- Fibreglass -

Izso said:
coldfusion, wow.. carpc? http://www.coldfusiontech.com doesn't say anything about your door panels leh bro. I like your door panels and all!

yup. car-pc . did it a year ago and still doing it . now V3. but i overload the new PSU and it blew up !! . what a waste... anyone want to doante ? hehehe ..

it's under custom audio enclosure . did the door panel altogether with the rear audio panel .......

ninja_iga said:
buying from ACE is friggin expensive.
anyways, i bought material for a racecar project before.

call Berjaya Bintang: (Taman Connaught, Cheras)
03-9102-4906

Bro, where are they located exactly? Is it a hardware shop? Thanks.

everblur said:
Bro, where are they located exactly? Is it a hardware shop? Thanks.

call them for precise instructions dude, i cant be spoon-feeding anyone here! :retarded:

PS: dont take me too harshly, i'm just like that.

Right... WHATEVER LA..... I smell arrogance and I'm just like that too.

hehehe i smell common sense lol... if u see ninja's previous post in this thread he told its expensive due to the fact that items are sold in bulk there(Berjaya Bintang). so i think u should just call and ask for more info. And plus if ur spending like RM100+ i think they will be more than happy to give u directions to their shop.. i know i would hahah..

ninja_iga said:
call them for precise instructions dude, i cant be spoon-feeding anyone here! :retarded:

PS: dont take me too harshly, i'm just like that.

Common sense? I was just asking a simple question. Where are they located... like is it near some landmark or something? Is it a hardware shop? Not that difficult right? Is it common sense to know Cheras like the back of your hand?

How would like if you got a reply like that? Not to mention that he admits that he is the way he is. Sheesh... some people...

everblur

i think this is the result of Malaysian education system. So i blame the system, not you. Heck, this is not even about you at all.

with some perseverance, anyone could have made out that Berjaya Bintang is:

-located in Cheras somewhere
-sells fibreglass and supplies
-has a number provided to contact them for whatsoever enquiries.

since you're educated by our spoon-feeding system, it's in Taman Connaught, Cheras. It's near the Maybank, the shoplots facing the highway.

i'm the way i am simply because i'm getting really tired of newbies ASKING THE SAME OL' QUESTION AGAINAGAINAGAINAGAIN AND AGAIN.
get it?

What makes you even think I'm Malaysian in the first place? I don't see the relevance of this with the local education system. Maybe your arrogance is the result of it? Or is it because I'm a newbie and that's why you start being arrogant? Well thanks for info btw. I'm not familiar with Cheras that's why I asked. I do not wish to start a flame war with a senior or anyone as a matter of fact. I hope that you'll patient with newbies as I did not expect this kind of treatment from ZTH.

everblur,

you have my sincerest apologies. I hope you dont take my words to heart.

PS: i think it has everything to do with the education system here (quite screwed up) but not relevant to the "fibreglass DIY" topic so i'll take my rants elsewhere. LOL!

cheers dude.

Everblur,

Since Ninja have provided Berjaya Bintang telephone number, just make a phone call and get to know their actual location. I bet they can take care of your doubts regarding DIY f/glass.

Happy DIY-ing

Ninja: No worries. No hard feelings there and thanks again.
ken yeang: Will do man. Cheers!

So how is it going guys?

All talk and nobody did anything?

Show us something.

Share with us.

out of curosity, what you guys use as mould or shud
i say fabricate the mould? use the existing parts?

hope to learn here...

depends.

usually you'd need to make a mould, using existing parts to make copies.
OR
use the master and mold from there, cant make any copy.

that means double the work in making the master, before copies can be made from the master copies. That explains why customization is expensive.

Hey does anyone know where to get Medium Density Fibreboard aka MDF?

For normal fibreglass surface to be smooth, you need to smooth them up by yourself.

There are several ways of doing it, either you sand down the inperfection of the surface completely then apply bog or putty filler over the surface and sand again. The other way is to just fill the whole surface with bog or putty filler entirely and start working on the surface, how would you want it to be.

But of course you cannot use this pieces of fibreglass that is covered in bogs and puttys on your car. You can and there is no problems with that, but with the amount of bogs and putty you have applied to the surface, sooner or later, they will crack upon vibration or showing wrinkles on the paint surface in the future.

This is when moulds have absolute advantage to answer all these problems.

How do you make the moulds? Simple, with the already perfectly workout fibreglass panels (after the bogging and sanding to flat surface), apply thick layers of fibreglass over the surface and all around with some extension. When it is all ready, just knock away the old panels and you have a mould, from there you can perform as many duplication as possibles with a perfectly flat finishings.

But there is lifespan for the moulds as well. From time to time after many applications, the moulds can get out of shape, and the surface will damaged, soon, you will have to make and entirely new moulds again.

you forgot to apply 'mold-release' agent for mold making.

:P
after making a 'master' and then making the 'mold' with fibreglass and resin..
you'll definately need mold-release like specialised wax applied on the master to ENSURE the mold's release from the master.

else you'll have one big pile of fibreglass and resin.
LOL!

everblur
we used to get the MDF boards from a supply store in Taman Megah. He doesnt stock it there, but we can order thru him.
I think the art shop outside LimKokWing Taman Mayang (Win's Art) also has MDF supply, and different thickness available too.

Somemore fibreglass mat & resin supplier

Chemrex Chemicals Trading
Tel: 03-9076 3101

Kaliba Sdn. Bhd.
Tel: 03-21423054

have a nice day ;)