Hot Stuff!

Wondering where to get this thing in cheap in cheap price...ACE sell in small amount only though :huh:

Thanks for the replies :D :D :D

Ok, I painted the eyelids because I want to get the real picture of the style and shape of the fibreglass so that it makes me easier to trim and grind to the fine edges. This is not a complete product, the item is now at the car spraying workshop to let them spray it for me, and of couse they will need to put on putty and so on.

The cost is stated on the first post. I bought the small package of Fibreglass which contains Fibre Clothes, Fibre Resin and Fibre Hardener for just RM20 at the car-paint supplier shop, where they sell paints for car one, but I dont know about west Malaysia but in Kuching, almost all these shops are selling the fibreglass stuff. This is Kuching price, I dont know the price in West Malaysia.

The time I took was just less than half a day. Let say:

: 20 mins for the masking of the headlights cover
: 2 mins to prepare and cut out the fibreclothe, and mixing of the resin and hardener
: 3 mins for applying the fibreglass resin coating
: 1 hour of waiting for it to harden up
: 15 mins of peeling off all the stuffs
: 1-2 hours of grinding and trimming due to the difficulties in trying to get the desire you want. If you just want a straight line shape, that would be easy. But i want some curve.

Total cost, RM20 for Fibreglass materials, and roughly another RM20-50 for spraying at your selected car painting workshop. So if you calculate properly, you are actually paying RM20 for the eyelids itself. Buy from accessories shop, RM100++ excluding paint, and for a Toyota Eyelids, non-existance one.

Bezet: I am not opening a shop :)

Hey edgar sifu...have u done skirting, bumper or other fiber glass stuff before?? any idea of how to come out with the shape and master mold?? :huh:

That one is not easy, but I did modified my current bumper. The bumper is originally made for Wira and I make it fit into my car. Modifying an existing bumper is not that hard, but starting from scratch, I have not master yet.

But modifying a bumper requires you to buy a lot and I mean really a lot of them and usually not cheap. To make a mould, you will need a design of what you want first, you can design either by using cardbox, thin plywood and finally putting a lot and a lot of putty for the finishing fine smooth surface. Then you will need a coating of paint, they will help us to prevent the fibre from sticking that hard to the design surface, but this is not really neccessary. Ok, then you apply the fibreglass as in the process i just showed, and apply many layers of them, around 2-3 layers of fibre clothes so that when it harden up, it will become a mould to that design, and a mould should be hard, really hard.

Ok let say everything is done, and you have the mould, you will need to sand the inner part of the mould to as smooth as possible, using sand papers and then finally with normal car polish material. With a mould ready, it will be an easy job, just apply the fibreglass into the smoothed out inner side of the mould and wait for it to dry, then you have it.

To custom fit a ready made kits is much easier alternatives, it will mostly require you to lengthen or shortened the existing size, and you need some brain twisting and storming of ideas to how to solve this matter, you know how the fibreglass is made, problem is how to use them. I cannot teach you here due to hard understanding, but remember to fully use your brain. So small stuffs, cardbox can be used to help design your stuffs.

really nice article!!!
been looking for article like this for a long time already...

zillion thanks!!!!!!

here is the finished product, smoothed, putty-ed and sprayed. Notice the difference in the car's look with and without the eyelid

WARNING~

kful when using fibreglass,it will make ur skin itchy & WEAR MASK PLEASE!!! avoid 2 suck it coz damn "hurt" ur body :)

can you all tell me some list of shop that you know where i can get these item..

Oil clay, Silicon rubber
Epoxy resin
Harden chemcal (To make hard silicon rubber)
A chemical (Easy to move rubber OR resin from A model)

bravo... bravo...

my suggestion is that if u want a DIY yet look professional results, u can do a temperary mould first. as u know, FRP is done on the reverse side (need a female mould) i.e., laying process. unless, u wanted both side smooth, then u need both female and male mould.

cheap one-off mould can be produced from FRP itself and can be moulded up to 10pcs or so.. before the mould needs to be touch up again..

just get the sample and do some modification on it with putty, then slowly smoothen the surface using sand paper. then can send to this shop in balakong, and he will do a FRP mould. he can do the mirror side for u too. i.e. if u have the eyelid on one side, he can do the other side.

the mould charges ranging from 100 to thousands.. eg. 1m X 1m size would probably cost you rm350.00. good to produce 10 pcs to 15 pcs from it. you can DIY laying or leave it to him to do it for you.

Hi, the reason why I didnt make the mould in the first place is because, it is not necessary for me to do so. In order for me to proceed on making the mould, it will leave me to a near completed job, ready to be painted.

Since I have no intentions to reproduce the eyelids for sales purposes or any other purposes and prefer to keep the lids for my own, I decided to leave it just as it is.

The surface of the original fibreglass lids have been covered entirely with putty/bogs fillings and sanded down for smooth-ready-to-be-painted surface, which is also essential to overlay with thick layers of fibreglass to therefore produce the mould. But as I said before, I have no intentions to reproduce the lids so I painted it straight away.

Some may argue that covering the whole surface with fillings is not recommended because chances of cracking the surface in the future is high, but however, you have to note that these are small little piece of fibreglass and it sticks straight on to the headlights, no screwing or no rattling or knocking on any other panels and it will stay as it is for the rest of the time, so I won't see any chances of it getting cracks and have never since, seen any problems with it.

Thanks for the compliment

of course of course... small items no problem with putty.. and also non-moving (static) parts are ok.

again... well done..

next project? over fenders??

A doughlike cement/bog made by mixing of hardener use to fill holes in and surface inperfection of the car's panel before sending for painting.

edgar nice job ..... damn nice .... eh i was thinking coud i do on my wira a/b spoiler thos thin tpe ?

there is fibreglass putty rite?the white color..more halus..i plan to make front bumper for my kancil..custom my rides..a subaru maybe or scion tc bumper..end of the year project..

i found one type of fibreglass mat..different from the usual one..it more like a mat or kain..my fren who worked as maintenance officer told me that it is fibreglass+mat..look like very robust n not easily broken..

i will try DIY it if got chances