Exhaust gas in car cabin [HELP]

bryan90s

hi people,

My 2 year old kenari start giving headache. Why? because i inhale lots of exhaust gas from Bus kilang, rapidkl, 20 years old carb car. Suprisingly nowadyas those taxi dont smell as bad as last time. Mb because of using NGV:shades_smile:

Action taken:
- Aircond shop: According to them, the vent to get fresh air might not seal properly even when fully close. But this is rare as my car only 2 years old. Hack i still opt to seal it with silicone. Since the job required to take out lot of part, might as well service the aircond. Though he cant guarantee it will solve my bad smell problem.
Total damage rm150.
Result : Still the same

i am running out of ideas. But i still think it coming from aircond. When i off it, i barely smell a thing. Tested few time when i am directly behind a diesel lorry. I wonder how the aircond works and i dont know where to get it fixed.

Please help me :retarded:

ur side window punya rubber........sumtimes to much under hot sun,the rubber could b harden and..as u know..water and smells frm outside could slip in...

errr.....ask the aircond guy to sit in your car and ask his opinion on the RM150 job that he did....

this kind of complaints are quite common to any cars and most probably due to rubber seals not closing properly. leave the air recirculation flap alone, it should not fail on a 2 yrs old car. the AC shop just wanna make a fortune out of you....

i know tht oso but since the aircond man offer the service package at the same price, so was like i get the sealing of it FOC.

ya mabybe is not from aircond.i dont know.
Maybe when there is air coming from aircond, it will somehow generate the 'flow' towards me. So i can smell stronger exhaust gas.

but when no air is blowing towards me. Definitely the smell is either not noticeable/non existent.

Smell coming in from outside, from what I think, is challenging to fix up. I think the firewall is the place to check because that's the thing that separates the outside and inside of the car, so to speak.

that is very dangerous, it could kill!

that happened to my ex car too, to remedy that ,I sealed all vents for sir conditioning and silicone all gormets in the firewall and that took care of the problem, no more smoke.

to dangerous bro..beware with the carbon monoxide, it can kill u...

maybe ur ventilation window not shut properly..when ur driving the outside air can inside isn't it..did u look it before?

what i know air conditioning parts cant happen like this...

bryan90s - you mentioned the smell came through your air-cond right...what was the thing the air-cond man did ?

Bryan

i got the same problems too, just get those heat resistant tape sealed any hole u can see on the firewalls, its a trial and error things, i sent to my accessories shop people to do it for me, the final result is no more fume smell from outside, oni when there is really really heavy thick black smokes then can smell it in the interior cabin but very very little. Like the rest of the guys here mention,just makesure first the sealed for the aircond part have no leakage then the rest is easy job.

hey hey....

try changing your fuel filter!!!

last time long ago..in zth i read about it la..

fuel filter is about rm15-25 only

For those who sealed the holes, gaps, etc at the firewall, how did y'all access those gaps, holes, etc? Did y'all access it from inside the car or from the engine bay? It's rather typical for proton cars to catch the outside smell into the car.

thanks all for input!!

took a day off y/day for this damn problem. First went to accs shop to check the holes on firewall (for amplifier power cable). According to them la, if its firewall leaking in fresh air, then the smell should be minor as it doesnt hv any sucking power. Quite logical also.

somehow for kenari there are not many holes at firewall. from what i can see is only 2. Sealed them with silicone.

later went to this aircond shop. Ask them to check the fresh air intake flap whether is really closed/sealed. Then as usual they tell me story like...'aiya even merc oso got leaking la'.....'No car is air tight'.....'1001 possibilities for this problem'.....

Still testing..this morning ride seems to be better la....

Leaking problem...happens everywhere lo..even in parlimen kekeke < --- luckily they dint tell me this!!!