ECU questions

sasuke

For B series engine (especially B16B without hi-cam :embaressed_smile:), which ECU or piggy back controller is the best for street use? (Please state which version of ECU like Spoon Ver.6...)
After heard so many comments I also confused now. So, you comments are much appreciated. Hope you can share your experience here. Thanks.

Why some users still prefer to used racing ECU like Spoon, JS Racing, Mugen than piggy back like e-manage and FCON leh? Is it due to the tuner in KL is not good enough?

ApexI Power FC with Commander for OBDII.
Plug and play.
No wire cutting.

The main reason why ppl would rather chip or buy original ECU due to the proveness that it works with the similarities of the current modding scene. no doubt the chip and ecu is not meant for the car setup but bit of better fueling and ignition, no rev cut and speed cut should be an idle budget for most.

Emanage and Fcon are slightly pricey compared to ecu/chipping. Emanage would be an idle piggy back. FCon is definitely good but you need to good tuner that has real life experience in tuning honda with the fcon. the fcon would probably be too advance and too much function for your daily driven car.

J101 said:
ApexI Power FC with Commander for OBDII.
Plug and play.
No wire cutting.

The main reason why ppl would rather chip or buy original ECU due to the proveness that it works with the similarities of the current modding scene. no doubt the chip and ecu is not meant for the car setup but bit of better fueling and ignition, no rev cut and speed cut should be an idle budget for most.

Emanage and Fcon are slightly pricey compared to ecu/chipping. Emanage would be an idle piggy back. FCon is definitely good but you need to good tuner that has real life experience in tuning honda with the fcon. the fcon would probably be too advance and too much function for your daily driven car.

OK regardless of pricing now. Coz used emanage is just around 1k. Chipped ECU is definately cheaper, but out of my story.

OK agreed, FCON is out too, too pricey and more for track use. So, only left back e-manage, VAFC, ApexI Power FC for piggy back (anymore?).

One thing I'm concerned, will after market ECU working perfectly on all B series engine? Coz not all engines are same modded, some with hi-cam, some stroked up, some still stock, CAI... Can these ECU works better than piggy back? For piggy back I still can change the settings again based on changes on the engine.

For *almost* stock engine with minor tweak
- off-the-shelf MINE's ( not custom-tuned ones )
- J'S Racing

Piggyback sucks .
Go StandAlone or Go Proven Tuner ECU.

SiRCRX, Why piggyback suck leh? Can share ur experience?

hi sasuke
if u have a good aftermarket ECU for your OBDII setup, maybe with the minor basic mods it would sustain the efficiency of the ecu. with the help from apexi piggy backs and emanage, that should be good to calibrate your settings after a dyno run and from there u can upgrade more. at the end of the day it should be cost effective and driver friendly.

sasuke said:
SiRCRX, Why piggyback suck leh? Can share ur experience?

It depends on setting & what mods.
To some extent/level of mods, it will do no harm.
For serious mod, piggies not the way to go.
*Most* piggies only 'cheat' ECU on either fuel/ignition map. It has limited control over the whole table(s) or lookups values, which where the *possible* screw-ups may occur. I don't use piggies.
Veli hard to explain laahhhhhhhhhhhh. Go search & read a lottttttt on ECU tuning.

Thanks a lot for the comments. I'm actually doing the research now, trying to search back the old threads. All comments are welcome.

Haltech, I'm still waiting for ur comments... :D

I would think that the best is to get a jap tuner from a certain brand to tune your car. Buying piggybacks blindly is waste (without a good tuner), these goes to buying a stand alone too unless u know the stand alone is actually for ur setup. Anybody knows any tuner in malaysia that can tune emanage or apex'i?

spoonsir said:
Buying piggybacks blindly is waste (without a good tuner), these goes to buying a stand alone too unless u know the stand alone is actually for ur setup. Anybody knows any tuner in malaysia that can tune emanage or apex'i?
Exactly, it's a good tool but you gotta have the right person to do the job. It's useless even if I give you say a F14 if you don't know how to fly it or you can't find someone else to fly it.

ahh , now i think i know who is this ...

Well Rechip ecu like Obd1 ecu you will need a piggy back as it does not funtion as good as an orginal ecu .Fueal map and inigtion will be greatly tune up ,some might have high timing and some might have lotsa fuel .then piggy back come in .so let say rechip ecu sodt about 300 or 350 + wiring from ek to eg maybe about 400 ?or less ... then come up to total 750 not including emanage or any piggy back .

Rechip original ecu ( Tuner Ecu will save all this trouble and also maintaine the auto learn feature .so you dont haev to worry about alot of things and your wiring beeing cut and so on ... price one time all done :)

Piggyback ... well it cheats you ecu .and the you calibrate it again .some times it will run not everytime .. but if you want a good test out .. rechip your ecu ,piggy ack and then dyno ... after 1 week do it again and you will see the diff abit not alot .

Stand alone well about this ecu it will be good if you ahve alot of mods in yoru engine bay ,not only cams .. but compresion,injectors,cams etc etc .. for road car use a Stand alone i would say not worth the trouble unless your car is really sup up and ready to kik some ass ..

ps . not all is a good tuner in malaysia ,talk alot but somehow ok ok lah not too bad ..

Jasper said:
ahh , now i think i know who is this ...

Who? U referring to me? Are u jeahan?
Anyway thanks for ur comments ya.

simon,
ur case ecu is obd2.. so if u want to play with chip u need to get the obd2-obd1 conversion harness.
the cost for that harness is fr 400-800. then the p30 ecu (obd1) will cost u about 500-600.
total cost for both thing oredi 1K++. then the rechip job will also cost u some money.
then total, i believe it will be around 1.5-1.7k. with that price u can get any new piggyback with tuning together.
when considering about re-sale value, i believe that piggyback got higher demand n good price. e.g e-manage can oso use for
other makes. if ecu, then it meant for honda only n cannot simply match to the other engine.

there is also two type of rechipping method.
1.copy chip (mugen, feels, spoon) - they just simply copy the chip n put it in ur ecu.
2.custom tuning chip - they will do the mapping and ignition timing according to ur engine mods. this one definitely require
a good tuner to achieve the best result.

rechipping ecu got some advantages that piggyback dun have such as launch control, shift light & few more. i got the
comparison matrix before but forgot where i put it. haha
for me, if u want to rechip the ecu (custom tuning), make sure u find a really good tuner for it.
if u want to simply have a copy-chip, u can go to sunway and got one shop selling it together with the dyno run.
they will try to find the chip that can give the best perfomance output for ur engine/mods.
let say u heard ppl say that FEEL's chip is the best in the market, bare in mind, it may not suite to ur engine/mods.

now piggyback...
if u decide to use piggyback, the thing that u will get is;
1.u can sell it back fast (let say when u decide to further step to standalone or selling ur car...haha)
2.estimated 5-8atw hp increase
3.easy to tune/install

if u want to get piggyback,find one with the ignition timing capability.
e.g if u buy e-manage, make sure buy together with the ignition harness.

but the lack of the piggyback is u can't alter the revcut point. even emanage ultimate claimed that it can do it but i think it still not as good as chip does.
piggyback oso will not altering value in ur ecu but what it will do is something like intercepting the value fr the ecu than
+- the value set in the emanage. both for the lookup table n ignition timing table. then the accuracy will come as an issue.

both thing got their own pro&con. just choose one that match to ur need.
standalone for me worth when there is lots of mods being done to ur engine such as high cams, high-compression, bigger
injector, fully-balance engine n bla bla blaa...

to get a better view about this matter, get someone expert to explain to u.

if u ask me, dun use all.. remain oem ecu.. hehehe...

very well said hattech-v.

i believe at the end of the day it boils down to the total cost and the extraction of power from the chosen ecu/piggyback/standalone. no harm sometimes being a guinea-pig trying new things and getting different results. lack of varieties are due to market trend, what ppl heard/read/obsess that makes everything stereotype nowadays. the cost to get your ecu chipped in japan and come back would probably gonna cost u a bomb. to invite a japanese tuner to tune is another story.

Write your reply...